We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel conveniently located, but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of High Peaks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
High Peaks Resort
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel conveniently located, but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had a king room with balcony and lake view. The room was very clean, with a very comfy bed, and nice shower. Overall, I was very impressed by the quality of the furnishing.

On the minus side:
- Room service food was so-so... not very tasty...
- Indoor pool looks outdated... but I did appreciate resting in the hot tub after a day of hiking
- Overpriced... the room is very nice, but not worth the price point.
- Breakfast was not included

On the plus side:
- Convenient location right in the heart of Lake Placid
- Beautiful room and views
- Parking is included

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    387
    100
    31
    29
See reviews for
379
554
21
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here before, and stayed for a Fri-Sun weekend in October. Everything here is as nice as it always was. The rooms are very clean, the staff is helpful and the facilities are very well maintained. Plus the bed was really comfortable! No complaints here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2785bells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Michael, Minnesota
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during a great motorcycle ride through New England. The staff could not have been more pleasant, the rooms were beautiful, beds were comfortable, the ocation was perfect! We had a pool level room with a patio out to the pool...very nice place to relax and enjoy Lake Placid. Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked a 'lake view' room here for out of town friends coming for a wedding. I took them to the hotel. Lobby is nice, location great for getting to downtown (just walk downstairs). The room was fine too, tasteful art, big bed, high quality furniture. However, I was miffed to look at a concrete wall for our 'lake view'. The front desk person confirmed that this was 'lake view' but if you wanted to actually see the lake, you'd have to book a higher class (and higher floor) speak more expensive room. I asked how I was supposed to know that when making the booking I was given a non-answer. We dropped the issue because we had 1 hour to get ready for our fun weekend and my friends would only sleep in the room but the experience did not sit well with me.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 100Honkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband & I stayed in the main building from 9/10-13. The staff was courteous & helpful. We had a beautiful room on the top floor overlooking the lake. The bed was comfortable. However, cleanliness is not a top priority here. Our room was never vacuumed while we were there. The fabric blinds had dead gnat-like bugs on them. Every outside hallway window was covered with spiders. The front entrance & glass doors & windows were dirty. Empty soda cans & cups left on tables on the main floor stayed there for hours. We have stayed in 2-star motels that were cleaner.

The only restaurant that was open was the lower-level one which was only suitable for breakfast and/or lunch as their dinner menu only included pizza, burgers & the like. How does a hotel of this stature have no decent restaurant for dinner? The breakfasts were very good. However, caveat emptor. Their pancakes, waffles or French toast only have a price with breakfast meat ($9.95). There is no price without the meat like their eggs & omelets. I didn't have the meat & was charged the same price as with. After bringing it to the attention of the front desk, they quickly & courteously adjusted it.

We felt that the hotel wasn't worth the price we paid. We have stayed in 3 & 4-star hotels that are far superior. I doubt that we would stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

High Peaks is an overall nice hotel with that said. Check in is fast and easy. Upon entering the room which definitely looked and smelled clean based on the smell of Clorox . When I opened the shades little gnats starting flying all over the place. I opened the patio door in hopes to get them outside only to find them flying all over the place outside.So I just started swatting them to get rid of them! In speaking with some other guests they also to seem to have the same problem. Windows were loaded with dead insects couldn't sit out on the balcony of the room due to the annoyance of bugs! Definitely need new pillow bed was a little lumpy needless to say I didn't get much sleep I have stayed here before and never had this problem not sure why now. When getting on and off the elevator on our floor the outside window was loaded with SPIDERS!! not sure what is happening at High Peaks but definitely won't stay again. Back to the Mirror Lake Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamdog1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had our daughters wedding there in Sept. The resort was lovely with clean and comfortable rooms, excellent service. Beautiful views and free water equipment for your use.
The only complaint I have is to stay away from the Salon, it was overpriced and the staff did no better than we could have done ourselves at home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneCamol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Peaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Peaks Resort

Property: High Peaks Resort
Address: 2384 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Peaks Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the shores of Mirror Lake and conveniently located on Main Street, High Peaks Resort is a modern Adirondack retreat. Guests enjoy magnificent views & direct access to all the opportunities the High Peaks region has to offer, not to mention a rejuvenating full-service spa and unique dining options including the world-famous Dancing Bears Restaurant, Lake Placid's Celebration Destination and Outdoors at Dancing Bears, which boasts Lake Placid's most stunning outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Peaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Peaks Hotel Lake Placid
High Peaks Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing