We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun to Watch & you can Ride TOO”

Bobsled and Luge Complex
Ranked #3 of 51 things to do in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take an exhilarating ride on a bobsled at this former event site for the 1980 Winter Olympic Games.
Caroga Lake NY
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun to Watch & you can Ride TOO”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I've been several times to watch training. Very Exciting. the lines and wait for rides was too long for us to wait. we'll be back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ADKMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    177
    54
    22
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique, but pricey”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Referring to the bobsled specifically - this is a unique experience, and my daughter loved it. It is, however, too much money for a literally 30 second run (after an hour wait). Also, I guess you have to be prepared to accept the risk, but it seemed rather dangerous to me. On a roller coaster, you're at least connected to some track. Here, the only thing between you and flying off the track is reliance on a driver, whose skills are not all that clear.

We did this in combination with visiting other Lake Placid olympic sites. Overall, that was a lot of fun, and this is part of the experience. But you have to be prepared for the wait, the brevity of the experience, the risk of the experience, and the cost. My daughter says it was worth it for the unique memory.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 123ontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great in the Summer Too!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our first summer trip to Lake Placid and the Bobsled Complex.
The bobsled is only the half run but it is a good run with speeds approaching 50 MPH. You get bounced around a bit and end up at least 90 degrees through some of the turns so you can get the feel of the bobsled run without donning all the winter clothes. You only need to wear a helmet that will be provided.
If you have the time you should also stop at the Biathalon range and shoot the 22's. Kids get to shoot an air rifle. Watch carefully how well your spouse shoots. Mine went 9 out of 10 and occasionally reminds me how well she did with a rifle when I start to get a little too full of myself.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The tour guide actually works on the track during the winter season, very informative and a must see if you have ever watched the winter olympics.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cali1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“thrill”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you ever wanted to ride in a real bob sled, this is your chance. For ~$50 per person you get to ride part of the way on a real bobsled run. Your sled will be run by 2 people, one person who steers and the other who breaks. Depending on peoples size, they will take 2 or 3 riders per sled, so for a total of 4 to 5. The sled will go faster if you have more or heavier people. The ride for our group took about 48 seconds, so you are paying $1/second but everyone was thrilled to do it. The fee is largely a donation to the bobsled team, in addition to maintaining the facility.

Even if you do not ride, the facility is nice to work around in. A wooded hillside with views to the surrounding mountains. There are often other events there as well. It is worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 100Honkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobsled and Luge Complex also viewed

 

Been to Bobsled and Luge Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing