We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta go... Just the right size”

Lake Placid Olympic Museum
Ranked #4 of 51 things to do in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Make the Lake Placid Olympic Museum your first stop on a tour of America's Olympic hometown and be inspired by the stories of the Winter Games. Located in the same building as the 1980 "Miracle on Ice" hockey game, the excitement of the Olympics lives on daily through displays and exhibits that visitors of all ages enjoy.
Upstate NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gotta go... Just the right size”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Small so it is perfect for a quick trip...hockey, bobsled, skating glory. Even the plaid jacket Kurt Russell wore in Miracle on Ice...kids will love it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 8of8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    201
    133
    22
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Mills, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the admission price!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

A fun trip to a museum on a rainy day....excellent displays and interesting facts about both 1932 and 1980 Olympics!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sports Arena & Olympic Museum”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I took a tour of the Sports Complex and Olympic Museum this past weekend. We had a great experience. The tour was lead by Shaun Donovan who's knowledge about the events and history was amazing. We would recommend this tour to anyone visiting the Lake Placid area.

Mark & Arlene Callahan

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank masonbranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Learn about the Winter Olympics”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Lake Placid Winter Olympic Museum is a must for those interested in the legacy of the 2 Lake Placid Winter Games (1932, 1980), and to enhance your general knowledge of the Olympic movement. With the Winter Games set for February 2014, this would be a timely visit for you.

Not only is it full of info and artifacts, but when the weather is not so great, it is a real attraction. It's located in the same building where the 1980 Miracle on Ice occurred.

The museum got lots of visitors last weekend when Lake Placid was hit with chilly temperatures and rain (there actually was abundant snow in mountain peaks). The village is green, but that was a wet green.

In the museum, you'll see some original equipment that was worn by the 1980 US hockey team that defeated the Soviets and went on to win the gold medal.

There is a fun exhibit that illustrates the development of speed skates over the years. Lots of other "corners", too, that contain much information.

You could take your time and be in and out within an hour. And the entry fee is minimal. It's so inexpensive, in fact, that you'll probably feel guilty and make a donation to the cause :)

When in Lake Placid, stop by. It's open 7 days a week,10 AM - 5 PM, year-round, other than 2-3 holidays.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandyLPLakePlacid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Small but very interesting”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We visited the Museum for the second time and we had an amazing time. Our kids are 5 and 9 yo and they loved it. This time we spent more time watching all the videos and reading about all the exhibits.
Overall it was a very interesting experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank True_North_SaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Placid Olympic Museum also viewed

 

Been to Lake Placid Olympic Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing