We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool bobsled track” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Van Hoevenberg

Mount Van Hoevenberg
Lake Placid, NY
9056675566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 43 things to do in Lake Placid
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mount Van Hoevenberg is the starting point for 31 miles of beautiful cross-country trails that have seen both Olympic and World Cup competition.
Saranac Lake
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool bobsled track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I went to the first bobsled race of the season here with my son and had a great time. I would recommend wearing proper clothing and boots. Its a outside venue and some of the walkways are slippery. I watched several people slip on icy steps.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank chickenparmguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New York
Level Contributor
207 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great Bobsled and Luge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It's exciting to see bobsled, luge or skeleton competition here. Also, you may not know but there is a great trail up the back side of Mt. Van Hovenburg which is pretty easy but gives you an amazing view of the high peaks.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JimKeeneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulmur
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Worth visiting I have been back to Placid more than enough times to never get tired of seeing this area on my road trip

Helpful?
Thank Ichn2Travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackets Harbor, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bobsled track was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Spent the better part of the day here. We took the 8 dollar guided tour of the track and walked down inside the track. An experience we were not expecting and thoroughly enjoyed. The staff was excellent particularly Ernie the tour guide.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank scmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Light hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice hike from the truck road trailhead off Adirondack Loj Road. 2.2 miles each way. Easy until last half mile, but not difficult to the top. Great views from a granite rock of the High Peaks. Good young family hike, no steep spots, except for rock summit. be careful with little ones there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hemicuda426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Van Hoevenberg also viewed

 

Been to Mount Van Hoevenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing