We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good opening hike”

Mount Van Hoevenberg
Ranked #17 of 51 things to do in Lake Placid
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mount Van Hoevenberg is the starting point for 31 miles of beautiful cross-country trails that have seen both Olympic and World Cup competition.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good opening hike”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hiked the back side since Mt. Jo parking was full. Nice hike, good views from the top.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

though the snow cover was limited during president,s week, we still found a number of well-covered trails. lots to discover, beautiful views, presence of patrollers was reassuring.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank cantraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Ind.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome venue for awesome bobsled races!”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I came to Mt. Van Hoevenberg to watch a bobsled race for the first time. The track is amazing, and it is run quite well. I enjoyed my time there thoroughly, and you will, too!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pat_sarge_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“world bobsled championships”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We got lucky and got to see a little bit of the world championships for bobsledding,skeleton..etc. We were right there next to the track and got to meet the atheles. Firework display great for the kids right after the event

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HBP3269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“World Bobsled and Skelaton”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Loved the speed and the competition from competitors around the world

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Van Hoevenberg also viewed

 

Been to Mount Van Hoevenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing