We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun show for the family”

Olympic Ski Jump Complex
Ranked #2 of 51 things to do in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Visitors to this year-round training and competition site can watch daring ski-divers, or take an elevator to a platform to see how high Olympic skiers jump.
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun show for the family”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I would highly recommend going on a day they have a jump event. This show is exciting for everyone of all ages. After the show, take the chair lift up and get some amazing views of the high peaks from the top of the jump tower. You can stare down at the ramp the athletes ski down and truly be amazed at their feat. Combine this in with the olympic passport and it's a really great deal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    290
    72
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ski Jump”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Amazing view. Took chair lift and elevator. It was a beautiful day in Lake Placid. You cannot beat this view. Not much going on at the Ski Jump, but we had our Olympic Passports and wanted to see as many Olympic sites as possible.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It was a great tour.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very informative history of ski jumping. Historic pictures diplict jumping from the 32 olympics. Great panaramic views of the mountains and the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ButterbaughTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“fun to see some history”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

There are some pics from the 30's that are interesting, and it makes you appreciate the angle that the skiers are going down.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryFairport_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonie, New York
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutley rude workers”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

One of the key parts to our trip was to be a tubing run located at this complex. We pulled up, ready to experience the 700' tubing run they are very proud of on their website. We parked our truck and paid our admission. The girl in the booth was very pleasant. We climbed up a small hill with our tubes and were helped down the hill by two workers. Our first run was pretty fun, maybe a little slow, but the course was freshly groomed. So we walk back up the hill, which was a bit of a walk, but manageable. We bring our tubes back up to the top of the hill and the workers again help us slide down the hill. My tube made it all the way to the bottom. The guy helping my wife down the hill managed to push her in such a manner that she ended up going off the course. As my wife was 15 feet from the top of the hill with her backside in a tube on an icy slope, the only thing the guys working there did was laugh. They did nothing to help her out of the tube, or to put her back on the course. I find that disrepectful and we will not go back to this 'attraction'. On our way back to our car, I stopped at the booth to complain about the disrespect shown to my wife by the workers and the girl in the booth shrugged it off and just flippantly said 'sorry'. Big waste of $18.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympic Ski Jump Complex also viewed

 

Been to Olympic Ski Jump Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing