We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pastries”
Review of Bluesberry Bakery

Bluesberry Bakery
Ranked #2 of 3 Bakeries in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Wilmington, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Pastries”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I've sampled croissants from Montreal to NYC and Rainer's are the best Chocolate Croissants you'll find. I also recommend the Chocolate Torte Cake and my go to "everyday" pastry is the cinnamon roll. Next to the historic Palace Theatre.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RPC-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    44
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
rm27839
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great pastries”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had breakfast here. Really great, fresh pastries. Coffee was so-so, but not bad.
Would defaintely recommend coming back. One thing about the place is its pretty much takeaway. That's not an issue though because there are some chairs by the lake nearby for public use.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rm27839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Friendly owner but cakes just ok”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I had high hopes for this little place as its pretty much the only bakery in town, plus it has great reviews. The cake cabinets were well stocked and the cakes and pastries looked tempting, good start given the lack of food options in Lake Placid. We opted for Apple Strudel and one of the fab looking Boston pie cakes. Unfortunately neither of these cakes actually delivered, both were just ok. They looked a lot better then they tasted. The best part about the Boston pie cake was the cream filling, the cake itself was a little dry and tasted as though it was made from a box mix. The chocolate topping wasn't great either. My husbands strudel was very heavy and the filling was a little tasteless and stodgy. I am a great cake lover and could live on cake alone, not in this town it would seem.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank likestotravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious Treat”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a little bakery with delicous treats baked by a very friendly baker. I have been to this bakery several times in the last few years and always find the assortment of baked goods delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Main Street Bakery”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I wanted to find some pastries to have in the room to go along with my morning coffee and wandered into this bakery. Everything looked so good and it took me several minutes to narrow down my choices...a Lemon Poppy seed muffin and a Chocolate Chip, cinnamon Scone. When I got back to the room I couldn't wait to dive into the Muffin....It was totally tasteless and not so fresh...kind of like eating sawdust. The scone was not chocolate chip but raisin and no cinnamon.....There are better places in Lake Placid...hopefully!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank wmargules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluesberry Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Bluesberry Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing