We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow service but decent food”

Lake Placid Pub & Brewery
Ranked #7 of 98 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Soups, Brew Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Lake Placid Pub & Brewery serves great beers and delicious food in a comfortable atmosphere. Since 1996, the LPP&B has been Lake Placid's pub of choice, with the freshest microbrewed ales and lagers, including the famous Ubu Ale, and traditional pub fare sure to please everyone.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Slow service but decent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We went on a Sunday evening and the restaurant was quite busy but we were able to bide our time at the bar. Unfortunately, I was not a big fan of any of the beers that the brewery made. The food was quite tasty, but service was very slow and we had to wait for about 20 min for our check even though the restaurant had cleared out by that time. With as many choices as there are in Lake Placid, I'm not sure I would go back again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    581
    191
    52
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brockport, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

This place is extremely crowded - and now we know why. Very very good food (I recommend the fish tacos with fresh mango salsa) and very reasonably priced. Highly recommended!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not that great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

I may be spoiled living in Vermont with so many great brewers. This place only had 4 beers and no IPA just a dark IPA and it was only so so. If you are really into beer you will be disappointed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vaurobghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubuman, Owner at Lake Placid Pub & Brewery, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello - sorry to hear that you did not think the Pub was great. Sounds like you were on the third floor where, until later this year, we are only able to offer four of our 6 in-house beers. It is about to change and we plan to have 10 taps on all three floors. We always have our IPA on tap, as well as Ubu Ale, and then rotate four other seasonal brews. Regarding being disappointed with the beer quality, we have twice been selected as The Best Brewery in New York State and four times chosen as Best Brewery in the Hudson Valley, as well as being named the #1 Brewery and #1 Bar in the Adirondack Park, so many other people do not agree. I hope you will give us another shot when on our side of the lake. Thanks. Chris Ericson. Owner & Brewmaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The beer is great...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We come here a lot and I find the food has gone rapidly downhill over the last few years. How disappointing. The whole enterprise is becoming more gimmicky. Their beer is wonderful, the variety great. However, the food is not worth considering. You can sure get by with a burger (but mind the 'fries' are some reconstituted potato mush - why can't they serve real fries?). The burger buns used to be buns and now they are some kind of a mush. The flatbread pizza was a total insult. It comes on a thin, hard as a cracker base with a thin layer of sauce and mozzarella. Not particularly tasty and for $12 a total ripoff. So, I say, drink their delicious beer and wait till someone realizes that its worth spending the effort on making the food great. Not that hard with pub food. This is a wonderful place and I really hope they get it together. For our own sake.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 100Honkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubuman, Owner at Lake Placid Pub & Brewery, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello - I am glad you enjoy our beers, but I am frankly stunned that you think our food has gone downhill and become gimmicky. We have made a very strong effort to increase the quality of every item in every recipe, as well as the general quality of our menu selections. Gone are the frozen mozz sticks and other pre-made items. Now, for example, we now use a custom-cut hanger steak for our steak sandwiches, tacos, and salads, we use a three-year aged Irish Tickler Cheddar on our cheese plate, we use dry-rubbed pork belly for an appetizer and on our flatbreads, we use imported Cippolini onions and olives on our olive plate, etc.

Specifically to your items mentioned, we use a top-quality french fry, and they receive multiple, daily compliments. We recently changed away from the generic burger bun to a top-quality, fresh bun - it also has received rave reviews. We also are very proud of our flatbreads - they are crispy, and lightly sauced, and topped with homemade mozz, exactly how we have asked our chef to prepare them. And again using top-quality ingredients every step of the way.

I apologize that you feel the way you do about the Pub's food, and again thank you for the compliments on the beers, but I feel I must defend the menu quality and concepts which we work very hard to improve, offering a better dining experience each season.
Chris Ericson. Owner and Brewmaster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food is "ok"...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Atmosphere is great (building was a church at one point), food is "ok"... service is alright, but they are way too packed for the experience to be positive. They either need to expand, or raise their prices and improve their food choices. It's a cool little spot, but it is very, very busy. So unless you want to be head to head, elbow to elbow with your dining "neighbor", I would suggest to avoid this spot.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Placid Pub & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Lake Placid Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing