We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice brewpub, average food, great service”

Lake Placid Pub & Brewery
Ranked #7 of 98 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Soups, Brew Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Lake Placid Pub & Brewery serves great beers and delicious food in a comfortable atmosphere. Since 1996, the LPP&B has been Lake Placid's pub of choice, with the freshest microbrewed ales and lagers, including the famous Ubu Ale, and traditional pub fare sure to please everyone.
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
162 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice brewpub, average food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We ate here because we heard it was nice and the third floor had a kids room. We were pleased with the environment. The playroom was adorable and was perfect if you have a toddler and want to eat:). We had the buffalo shrimp(excellent), flatbread pizza(good), chicken nachos(awful and dry although the nacho chips were unique), and the fish and chips( good). Overall, it was a nice stop. Would we go again?? If not with the kids no but for a family nice choice. The management definitely puts a lot of effort into providing a nice and clean atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    581
    191
    52
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good veggie choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our first trip to Lake Placid in many years. Got in late afternoon and looked for an easy place to eat, especially on a Sunday evening. Right next door to the Hampton Inn, where we stayed, was this restaurant. Just a quick walk from the hotel. Pubs are notorious for being meat-based, but we certainly had no trouble finding a meal that suited us. I wanted something light so had the pear salad, with tart dried cherries, candied walnuts, and very fresh greens, all very nicely presented. The maple balsamic vinaigrette came on the side, which was good as it was sweet, and a little went a long way. I also had their large warm pretzel which came with two dips, whole-grain mustard and melted nacho cheese. I didn't care for the cheese as it tasted too processed, but the mustard was very good. My husband had the black bean burger with fries, and was very pleased as it was fresh and house made, on a ciabatta roll. We split a very nice German beer, the Colonel's Korlsch (something like that). I am not a beer drinker, but this was nice and smooth, not bitter at all. The food came out fast and hot, and afterwards we got some good advice on a local hike we planned for the next day, from out waitperson. She was knowledgeable and helpful in that regard. All in all, a pleasant meal for a couple of tired travelers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelerreluctant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubuman, Owner at Lake Placid Pub & Brewery, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write in. We try very hard to offer both traditional Pub dishes along with quality vegetarian items so I am glad you enjoyed our options. Chris Ericson, Owner, LPP&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and great ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Loved this pub...husband loved the great brew...Ubu?? Dark brew. Only complaint...why pay 0.50 for mayo...no charge for ketchup. Highly recommend. Enjoy!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pawkean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubuman, Owner at Lake Placid Pub & Brewery, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write and thanks for your business. Glad you enjoyed the Pub. As an FYI, our policy is that any ingredient, side, or condiment that comes with a dish is unlimited and free, but if something is added on, like the mayo, there is a nominal charge to cover the cost. I will make sure to reiterate this policy to our staff at our next meeting and I apologize if you were charged in error. Thanks again and hope to see you soon. Chris Ericson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

visited during Oktoberfest and the outside tent and entertainment was great - we ate on the 3rd floor however, which totally lacks atmosphere. food was ok - not great - after the early dinner we had a drink at the bar on the 2nd floor which was very friendly as always

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tivvver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Better than most in town but somewhat bland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Based on the good reviews, we were looking forward to dinner at the brewery for a friend's birthday the Sunday before Columbus day. It fulfilled our expectations in some ways: not a tourist trap, great prices, and good menu selection. However, it fell short in other areas. The pumpkin beer, which was prominently advertised on the website, was not available and the bartender seemed to have never heard of it before. Both my friends found their food dry and somewhat bland (one ordered the salmon burger, the other the turkey burger). I had the hummus platter which was overflowing with raw veggies and delicious. We had to wait 30 minutes for a table and were seated on the recently opened top floor, which felt like a chain family restaurant rather than the authentic brewery one floor below. Bottom line: it was fine, and better than most in town, but nothing exciting. It is comfortable but forgettable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadianDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Placid Pub & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Lake Placid Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing