We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good beer and good food. Great combo!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Placid Pub & Brewery

Lake Placid Pub & Brewery
Ranked #7 of 95 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Soups, Gluten Free Options, Brew Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Lake Placid Pub & Brewery serves great beers and delicious food in a comfortable atmosphere. Since 1996, the LPP&B has been Lake Placid's pub of choice, with the freshest microbrewed ales and lagers, including the famous Ubu Ale, and traditional pub fare sure to please everyone.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good beer and good food. Great combo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We tried the 6 beer/4ounce sampler. A great way to try everything on tap. Along with that, we had chili and a flatbread pizza. Both were excellent, and the prices were quite reasonable. We were in Lake Placid for four days, and this was our favorite meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    519
    164
    44
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
197 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A bit confusing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Parking was a nightmare, service so-so and the atmosphere confusing. We went in wanting to try the sampler. The first floor was crowded and suggested we go up a floor to the restaurant, that floor didn't have bar space only dining and sent us up another level. When reaching the third level and their bar they told us they only had some of the samples, downstairs would have them all. I felt like I was begging them to allow me to taste their flavors...really! Don't rest on your laurels when there are so many options out there

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SonjaV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Went up Lake Placid for the Memorial Day weekend... Checked out this little microbrewery as the weather was terrible. Bartender was friendly and steered us in the right direction for what's beers to have. Great value at only $5 a beer, plus free popcorn on the bar to nibble on.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to eat in Lake Placid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My hubby and I never miss a chance to eat there when we are in Placid. So much so that we are having our rehearsal dinner for our wedding there. There is a bar on the first floor that is cozy and rustic. The main dining area is on the second floor. And then have recently renovated and added another level for more diners and private banquet room (even a small room for kids to play). The menu is better than typical pub fare. Burgers, hearty soups, bbq, salads... my favorite is the grilled chicken maple melt. But the best reason to come is the brew. UBU is awesome but if you like a milk stout you must try Nippletop. The Moose Island Ale is great in the summertime. There is a small deck for outdoor seating that overlooks Mirror Lake. It's a small place so you might have to wait during busy hours but it's worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Peds_Nurse_Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Shepherd's Pie ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The beer was really good too. I had the UBU and it was also very good. We had the cheese platter and the maple cheddar was a real joy. We got the 1/2 platter and ended up taking some home it was so much. The service was very good and loved the setting in the old church.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GVTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Placid Pub & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Lake Placid Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing