We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our favorite place to eat in Lake Placid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Placid Pub & Brewery

Lake Placid Pub & Brewery
Ranked #7 of 96 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Soups, Brew Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Lake Placid Pub & Brewery serves great beers and delicious food in a comfortable atmosphere. Since 1996, the LPP&B has been Lake Placid's pub of choice, with the freshest microbrewed ales and lagers, including the famous Ubu Ale, and traditional pub fare sure to please everyone.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to eat in Lake Placid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My hubby and I never miss a chance to eat there when we are in Placid. So much so that we are having our rehearsal dinner for our wedding there. There is a bar on the first floor that is cozy and rustic. The main dining area is on the second floor. And then have recently renovated and added another level for more diners and private banquet room (even a small room for kids to play). The menu is better than typical pub fare. Burgers, hearty soups, bbq, salads... my favorite is the grilled chicken maple melt. But the best reason to come is the brew. UBU is awesome but if you like a milk stout you must try Nippletop. The Moose Island Ale is great in the summertime. There is a small deck for outdoor seating that overlooks Mirror Lake. It's a small place so you might have to wait during busy hours but it's worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Peds_Nurse_Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    525
    167
    47
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Shepherd's Pie ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The beer was really good too. I had the UBU and it was also very good. We had the cheese platter and the maple cheddar was a real joy. We got the 1/2 platter and ended up taking some home it was so much. The service was very good and loved the setting in the old church.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GVTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must in lake placid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Yummy beer, and fried pickles!! All food was delicious. Three floors of seating, plus a patio.
Prices reasonable. Oh and my husband says the "Ecto wrap" was killer

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charwoodpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
“Great Restaurant and Pub...Very Family Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We visited the Lake Placid Pub and Brewery on a very busy Saturday night with 2 other families...lot of little kids. The service was far beyond expectations. Even though we had to wait ~45 minutes for a large table - which any parent can tell you can be tough with several kids under 5 years old - it wasn't an issue since they put in a great little playroom for younger children. We all really appreciated they went above and beyond to cater to families, and it in no way takes away from the pub itself for those without kids. Food was great, beer was great...we'll be back next year!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scmdod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The mark is a bit generous for the experience we had here, but it wasn't as bad a 'poor'.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had had a beer at Great Adirondack Steak and Seafood and would have preferred to stay there, but the menu (as would be expected from the restaurant's name) is very limited for vegetarians, so came to Lake Placid for the menu.
The vegetarian French onion-style soup (to quote the menu) is what drew me to this place and would possibly (as a European) not be recognised as advertised, but it was good.
Also had a half order of the new york platter and the cheeses were very good, especially the goat's cheese. Unfortunately the local-baked Ubu baguette had mold/mould on the bottom (luckily noticed before biting into it) which was replaced with some toasted baguette.
When the check came there was no reduction for the first offering of bread. When I pointed this out to the server she immediately gave a $7 reduction (from an $8 price this was most generous, especially as the bread had been replaced), but I had to ask for the reduction and as a shy and retiring Brit this is not an easy thing to do - why not just take the money off in the first place and give the customer a warm, fuzzy feeling?
The beer was disappointing too. Pity, wanted to like this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sdsw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Placid Pub & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Lake Placid Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing