We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop for lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seeheim Hotel Namibia
Ranked #5 of 12 Keetmanshoop B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The road sigh is not really inviting, but when you look for a stopover between Lüderitz and Fish River Canyon (for lunch), the Seeheim Hotel is a unique experience.
And the bar offers a lot of ... and atmosphere. Unfortunately the driver cannot enjoy a cool Hansa.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank pmun1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 88 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is like an old German castle with several stories and no lift. (There are porters to carry the luggage.) Our room was huge with interesting furniture which was made, I believe, on the premises. The room was comfortable enough and great for a night's stay. There is no option to eat elsewhere nearby. Supper was a buffet which included a few wild meat dishes. Quite good,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sicamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

the rooms in the main stone building where all of the people in the tour (except us) stayed looked good but for some reason, we were given a room outside of this main building - these are the lower numbered rooms. room was small; bathroom old and terrible and plumbing did not work. we asked for a different room and was put in room 18 which was a little larger but the bathroom had a terrible smell,, was very old; there were mosquitoes - and it was just intolerable.
dinner was expensive considering other prices in the area. Manager (a woman who might have been the owner) very detached and totally unhelpful.
All in all a terrible experience

Room Tip: avoid lower numbered rooms at any cost. don't know if service for the other rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lise a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our visit to this hotel was totally unforseen and unexpected coming as it did at the end of a long day's driving in the region when we needed to wait for our Train to come through and pick us all up at the nearby siding (which it did about an hour or so later).

However, with time on our hands and daylight fading quickly and all of us tired and a little weary, a bunch of us walked up to the nearby Seeheim Hotel to find a warm & hospitable fully stocked bar that served cold beer in a wonderfully eclectic bar-room that took you back in time.

The locals at the bar were interesting and happy to chat and our time passed quickly. Thank you Miranda for your welcoming smile & hospitality as it made our unexpected time here a real pleasure.

The hotel's architecture in itself is an interesting from the road and we'd recommend passers-by should stop in to appreciate it for themselves. For us though it was a fine place to enjoy "Sundowners" and will remain in our minds as a great travel experience for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
Thank Rowan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We arrived at Seeheim after being advised to visit this hotel if we were looking for something different! As you drive around a corner on the gravel road towards the magnificent Fish River below, you suddently catch site of the Seeheim Hotel in a cleft in the hillside. It almost looks like a medieval castle and very quaint. We were greated by the receptionist/barlady who offered to show us a room to see if we liked what we saw. Our room was on the top level with magnificent views out over the canyon and the rocky desert around the hotel. It was very well furnished for our needs and as we had been camping, we merely took our electric kettle up to the room to make coffee in the morning. (This in response to a previous negative review) This is a basic type of establishment for those who really appreciate simplicity and the fun of staying somewhere unique. We had a comfortable stay and although we enjoyed a toasted sandwich in the interesting bar on arrival and dinner in the diningroom that evening, we did feel that the dinner meal was rather overpriced and portions were fairly small. A lovely breakfast made up for it somewhat, in a gorgeous setting of a really old diningroom filled with bric a brac and treasures. I would definitely return to Seeheim Hotel for the unique experience. The hotel has been used as the location in a couple of feature films!

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs room leading onto the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PonkySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We arrived at Seeheim hotel just before lunch without making a reservation. The staff took us on a guided tour of the hotel and carpentry business, so that we could choose which room we would like to stay in. We were then treated to the most devine apple tart! Our evening meal was delicious, watching the sun set over the hills. We felt so at home. Thank you for a wonderfull stay and for the lovely farm breakfast. I would reccomed the hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in the oldest room as we did not want to climb, so if you feel up to the climb, the best r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Being resident in Namibia, my family, friends and I have been regular visitors to the Seeheim hotel on many occasions over the past decade or so. During that time there have been many improvements made to the hotel, as extensions have been built and opened. Our most recent night stay was in January, 2013. On this occasion we were accompanied by my brother and sister-in-law, visiting from Jo'burg having never been to Seeheim before. The temperature was well over 40 degrees when we arrived. We were "warmly" greeted by the staff, allocated two large, neat, clean, rooms and made immediate use of the pool and bar. Visitors must realise, however, that Seeheim hotel is a reminder of what rural hotels, and travelling, were like in the 50's and 60's. If you want your home comforts of DStv, WiFi, air conditioning (the hotel has power constraints), a la carte menus, throngs of waiters hovering over you and a dust-free, lush green environment, then rather stay at home! Oh, yes - and you must know how to amuse yourself without all the latest gadgets being available at your fingertips. This is a very rustic establishment for those who really appreciate the simple things in life and enjoy getting dust between their toes. A 5-Star casino or fancy hotel it is not - and makes no pretence to be. What you see is what you get. What a joy it is to have access to such simplicity. The owners may like to review their rates as they are appreciably higher than other resorts in the area, particularly those belonging to the Gondwana group. I know it would be unreasonable to expect Seeheim to compete with a chain like Gondwana but they need to ensure that they reasonably competitive in terms of value-add.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unasinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keetmanshoop
0 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,461 reviews
0 mi away
Schutzenhaus Guesthouse
Schutzenhaus Guesthouse
#7 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
36 reviews
0 mi away
AmBesten Guesthouse
AmBesten Guesthouse
#9 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
#1 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
159 reviews
0 mi away
Quiver Inn Guesthouse
Quiver Inn Guesthouse
#2 of 7 in Keetmanshoop
15 reviews
0 mi away
Torgos Safari Lodge
Torgos Safari Lodge
#4 of 7 in Keetmanshoop
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seeheim Hotel Namibia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seeheim Hotel Namibia

Address: Station Road, Keetmanshoop, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Central Plateau > Keetmanshoop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Keetmanshoop
Price Range: $78 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seeheim Hotel is 45 km west of Keetmanshoop on the road to Luderitz. An oasis in the desert; this rustic splendour, built from stone offers superb accommodation and is an experience not to be missed. The hotel is conveniently situated close to the Fish River Canyon, Naute Game Park, Naute Dam, Luderitz, Kolmanskop, Keetmanshoop & Quiver Tree Forest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seeheim Hotel Namibia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing