We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
47
11
4
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
11
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome song local village each meal southern africa photo stops game drives a wonderful place to stay stayed longer water based the river baboons adventure chobe lodge namibia boat guide
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 66 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2017

This is a wonderful place to stay, made particularly special by the warm and friendly staff who cannot do enough for you. The special messages at each meal and the beautiful farewell song at our last meal will stay in our memories forever.
Being on the water is an amazing way to get up close and personal with hippos and elephants, never mind the birds, lions and other animals. Absolutely incredible watching up to a hundred elephant playing and swimming in the river. It was hard to believe what we were seeing!
The cultural experience to the village where the friendly village greeted us so warmly was one of the highlights of our time in Southern Africa.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, other at Chobe Savanna Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2018

Dear Rich L,

Thank you so much for your review and kind words.

We are so glad you had such a memorable experience at the lodge and the staff made it that much more special.
Our location certainly does lend itself to amazing wildlife experiences and elephants to last a lifetime!

We hope to welcome you back to the lodge in the future and wish you all the best.

From the entire Chobe Savanna Lodge team, warm regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

I cant say enough about this amazing place! Staff so friendly and helpful not to mention tuneful! The singing welcome as one walked up from the river was magical! The food was delicious and beautifully presented, and we especially loved the wee messages written in the butter each meal time. The chalets are well equipped with the air conditioning welcome respite from the heat. The game drives on the river a relaxing way to view many elephants, hippo, baboons and even a leopard in Chobe National park.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aileensmith2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, other at Chobe Savanna Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2018

Dear Aileensmith2016,

Thank you so much for your review and your kind words!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Chobe Savanna Lodge and enjoyed your welcome song and our little hidden messages! All these small things are part of how our staff show how much they appreciate you visiting us and we are glad this made a lasting impression on you. We are glad you enjoyed the activities and the accommodation as well as the beautiful location of the lodge.

All the best from the entire Chobe Savanna Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017

Stayed for 1 night in early November - a lot of effort to get there but worthwhile?

Leaving Zim was an experience with hundreds of lorries queuing to both leave and enter Zambia through the border (Victoria Falls is the meeting point of three countries (Zim, Zambia and Namibia). Having travelled to the border post in one vehicle and completed the exit formalities, we then had to physically walk through a disinfectant foot dip to stop the spread of diseases.

It was then into a different vehicle to travel through no-man’s land until we reached the Botswana Border at Kasane. Queuing and form filing there before we then got in to a boat for our journey eastwards along the Chobe River (even though the lodge was westwards).

We pull up at a jetty in the middle of nowhere and are told to follow the sand path uphill! In the blazing sun we finally reach the Namibia Border post – more queuing and form filling. It’s then back down the hill and back in to the boats to retrace our steps along the river (past the Botswana Border) until we reached our game lodge.

There were multiple photo stops enroute for animal encounters which was encouraging.

We arrive at our overnight lodge in Namibia: Chobe Savannah Lodge and are greeted by all of the staff singing to us, which was rather moving.

The lodge only has 13 chalets and we were in number 11 which was the interconnecting family chalet. There were only 6 guests including us in residence so it made for a very personal stay. The chalet was lovely and rustic and came with mosi net, fan and leaking air con (not much sleep was had).

There is small pool in the grounds which we did go in but it was rather murky, I think it was probably used by the elephants and buffalo as well as the guests!

All meals are taken with the management team and were very good.

The lodge is located on a bend of the Chobe River and therefore only water based activities happen.

After lunch at 3pm we went on our first water based game safari. These are carried out in small, easily manoeuvrable boats and are ideal for close encounters with the abundant wildlife along the river.

We were very lucky and witnessed at very close quarters a large herd of elephants crossing the Chobe River – it was very funny seeing the end of their trunks sticking out of the water looking very much like periscopes.

As sunset approached we made our way back to the lodge where chairs had been set up around a camp fire, along with a small bar for us to sit and enjoy a G&T whilst watching the sun set.
That evening it was an intimate meal with the management before retiring to our beds ready for an early start in the morning.

A very early start this morning with a 0530 wake up call, ready for a 0600 morning game drive. I say game drive but as it was on a boat I’m not sure what you would call it.
Once again there was an abundance of animals, with plenty of elephants, buffalo, crocs etc.

We return to the lodge for breakfast before checking out to depart for our next lodge.

Although it was lovely at Chobe Savannah Lodge the border fomalities for a 1 night stay were too time consuming, so I wouldn't recommend it unless you intend to stay longer than 1 night in Namibia.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sally4holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytie M, Marketing Executive at Chobe Savanna Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

Thank you so much for submitting this wonderful review to TripAdvisor Sally. We are
truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The border procedure can be a bit at times but once all completed they give way to a beautiful wildlife paradise. We are glad the animals came out to grace you with their beautiful presence in great numbers.
About the condition of the swimming pool we are working closely with the maintenance team to revive it.

We would be honored to welcome you both to our home again for a bit longer for yet another safari adventure .

Greetings from the Chobe Game Lodge Team



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2016

We stayed here for two days on our trip around Namibia. Our experience here started when we arrived by boat at the Lodge's landing stage and were greeted by the staff singing a song of welcome in their wonderful melodious African voices. It's a beautiful place to be and the service is excellent.
Game drives along the river in one of the Lodge's boats was a relaxing and interesting way to view the abundant wildlife in the area.
The chalets are luxuriously appointed with stocked fridge, air con and everything else which you might reasonably expect. Our chalet faced the Chobe river - about 20 metres away and we were able to see wildlife on the opposite river bank from veranda.
All in all, a wonderful place to stay

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aardvark_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytie M, Marketing Executive at Chobe Savanna Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Thank you for bringing even bigger smiles to our faces with this lovely review. The way the Chobe National Park and Chobe River wrap themselves around the lodge is mind blowing as it brings the wildlife closer to you with an incredible tranquil view from the comfort of your chalet. Our choir adds that special touch and all had stars in their eyes when we showed them your beautiful appraisals.

We will be awaiting your return for a longer stay.
Warmest wishes from all of us at Chobe Savanna Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016

Our adventure began with the boat ride up the river to Chobe Savannah Lodge to a lovely welcome on arrival. Our hut was gorgeous with every mod con including air conditioning and the view was beautiful over the savannah to the river. John and Lally were great hosts and the staff could not have done any more for us, especially 'Holiday' in the dining room as she always had a smile. The main lodge was out of this world with views to die for across the river. Lally was our guide on the river safaris and we particularly liked drinking our red wine at sundown while watching the lions and elephants drinking from the river. We saw hippos, water buffalo, giraffes, zebras, baboons, crocodiles, impala and many, many birds. Lally took us to the local village and we were entertained by the women with their babies - such a lovely sight. Make sure you get Lally to dance with the women as he was very good. We gave them some things from Australia such as pencils, pens and other useful items for the children and they were very excited. We are now going to send a parcel of our unwanted good quality clothes to the village via John who will give them to the families. We are so lucky to have had the opportunity to see the local people both in the village and in the resort. We would love to go back again some day.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytie M, Marketing Executive at Chobe Savanna Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Greetings from Chobe and many thanks for the review Pam. The photos are awesome. Glad to hear that our team were very welcoming and we are very proud of our hard working and passionate team here especially John, Lally and Holiday who are rock stars. Our entire staff were over the moon when we shared your wonderful appraisals with them.
What a safari experience you had, we are glad the animals gave you a royal treatment and came out to play in great number. The cultural village visits are life changing as you get to interact with locals and share their culture. Your kind gestures are engraved in their hearts and John sure will arrange the oncoming ones will be taken to the families, we can't thank you enough.

We look forward to saying 'Welcome Back'
Chobe Savanna Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews