We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ngepi Camp: Top accomodation on the Okavango River!”
Review of Ngepi Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caprivi Region
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngepi Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ngepi Camp: Top accomodation on the Okavango River!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed at the camp in January 2014 and what a nice surprise! Bird life is exceptional! We stayed on the river in a chalet (tree house) that can open up in front completely which was a first for us. Really a unbelievable experience. Will definitely visit again. We also visited the campsite and can strongly recommend camping there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrevanderMerwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    113
    38
    32
    5
See reviews for
74
140
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Soest, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

A must see campsite! Caters to overland trucks, site has power, water, braai and fireplace.

A special swimming pool floating in the river, crazy toilets in open air, and a general crazy funky funny feel to the place.

friendly staff, environmentally aware, goor prices.

I'd go there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mischa_zelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed for 2 days...... including Christmas Day!
We had a fantastic treehouse right by, almost over, the river which was just great. We got a lovely boat trip at sunset on Christmas Eve to see the hippos of which there were many. Then on Christmas morning the colours in the sky at sunrise were amazing, even if getting up to photograph it was a bind. Then the staff did Christmas lunch for us, where all the groups who had booked had separate tables laid out with their name, a bottle of sparkling wine and a small gift. It really made Christmas for my wife and I and the food was good too!! Thank you Ngepi.
I am tempted to give this an excellent rating, but they don't do Christmas Lunch every day and other than that the service and location was just good so I feel a 'very good' rating is fair.

Room Tip: I think we had Treehouse 8..... which is right by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in two tree houses - number 10 and 11 and loved the open space onto the river. Dawn was incredible as were the hippo sounds in the night. We did have some village children passing the tree house on the river and begging but that did not overly bother us.
We braaid for two of the three nights we were there but the tree houses are
not really geared up for self cater which we were told in advance.

We did a Sunset cruise and a Mokoro trip and saw a lot. Our guide's knowledge of the area and the birds was outstanding and the Mokoro trip was definitely a life experience. We saw several regional first time birds.

I agree with other reviews on the breakfast being a little disorganised and the cook was very grumpy which made you feel guilty about asking for breakfast. Our dinner the one night we ate at the restaurant was a very average game stew.

For atmosphere and experience this place is a must.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melda303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had the best time ever here. On arriving there are various signs that will keep you entertained until you actually arrive at the camp.
We stayed for 3 nights in tree house No. 15. What a view!!!! Woke up in the morning to look straight into a sunrise and I hadn't even lifted my head off the pillow. Felt like I had died and gone to heaven. Using the open air toilet and shower, which overlooks the Okavango River was special but make sure that its not at a time when there are sunset cruisers and mokoros going by, as you will get caught with your pants down :) Speaking from experience!!! Ha, haa.
If you are expecting to be waited on and everything to be perfect then you have come to the wrong place. Relax and enjoy. I loved the idea of helping ourselves to tea and coffee where we placed our order for breakfast. When the breakfast was ready your No. is called out and you go and fetch it yourself. Don't expect fast food but its worth waiting for.You can dine anywhere from overlooking the Okavango river on the deck to under the trees in beautiful gardens.
Camp sites looked really nice. Unique toilets at various places in the camps and at the main reception will have you in stitches with laughter.
Don't rely on ice while you are there!! There is plenty of wood to purchase at the camp but make sure that you have all your own supplies if you are camping as there is no shop on site. Curio shop yes but not for brad etc. Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
A visit to to Mahango Game Park is a must. Get a permit first at the office, costs ND$30 per person and ND$10 for the vehicle. Loads of animals from huge kudu, buffalo, roan antelope and too many birds to mention and loads more. We also went to the Bwabwata NP which is also a must. Take a packed lunch that you can eat in your car and enjoy a day out there.
There is cage at the camp that is submerged into the river which is used as a pool. Great place to cool off with a sun downer. There are crocodiles and hippos, so beware!! Being December it was rainy season but it didn't worry us as it only rained for a short time in the afternoon and then it stopped. There is also WiFi just outside the kitchen area
I look forward to going back there again one day. A great place to go to relax.

Room Tip: Tree house No 15 has a great view. Saw hippos everyday from our deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Quirky and friendly best describes this wonderful place. We had a 4x4 but did not need to engage it in the sand. With careful driving, you can probably get away with a sedan car with decent clearance.

Huge campsites, we thoroughly enjoyed the river view and the sound of Hippos all night long. Aside from the bath overlooking the river and the throne toilet, there were many things to explore and enjoy in this camp. There is a wonderful deck overlooking the river for cocktails. Another deck with cover for meals. The caged swimming pool in the river was a thrill. Campsites have grassy area, outdoor showers in a natural setting, power, free wifi and a great bar scene. They also do a nice job separating their overland groups in an area away from individual campers.
In my opinion, a definite must if you are going to be in the area

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hook is that this is a low impact accommodation option. This doesn't interest me in the slightest but it was a change from brick and glass hotels. The accommodation is reed huts on a concrete base. They are arranged along the river with some perched out over the water. There are no windows ie no glass with side walls to waist height. The only 'curtains' are reed rolls which lower over the low-sided bedrooms. There is a firepit with cooking area with seating area. There is solar heating and, via PV and batteries some low level lighting.

The evening meal buffet which you must book a couple of hours ahead was good value, very generous portions and tasty. It is served in the dining room but curiously breakfast is not.

Breakfast is organised in the most contrived manner possible whereby you order your cooked option at the bar who write it down and then pass it to the kitchen immediately behind who then throw it in the bin and cook something entirely random instead. Half the people gave up waiting and left with the result that, for a low impact operation the waste an awful lot of food.

There are some quirky 'loos with views' and other nonsense which gave the kids a laugh but I don't know why they bother.

They'll tell you there's no hot water in the morning but, as with any solar tank that's been heated the day before, if you run the cold water out of the pipes it's perfectly possible to have a nice warm shower in the morning.

Plenty of hippos groaning in the dark to give it that authentic safari atmosphere. During our stay they had three chaps running about with rifles after some hyenas were supposedly spotted on camp so make sure you close those reed blinds.

The camp is down a 2 or 3 km sand road which splits in places. Both on the way in and out I chose the softest option and planted the car. The only two times in 5 weeks and 2,000 km of sand, dirt and rock roads that I managed to get stuck. Easily fixed by having everybody else get out and push it back a few yards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caprivi Region
107.2 mi away
Namushasha River Lodge
Namushasha River Lodge
#1 of 4 in Caprivi Region
284 reviews
5.4 mi away
Divava Okavango Resort & Spa
Divava Okavango Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Caprivi Region
158 reviews
24.0 mi away
Mobola Lodge
Mobola Lodge
#3 of 9 in Divundu
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mukuku Rest Camp
Mukuku Rest Camp
#3 of 14 in Rundu
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Popa Falls Resort
Popa Falls Resort
#5 of 9 in Divundu
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chobe River Camp
Chobe River Camp
#4 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngepi Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngepi Camp

Property: Ngepi Camp
Address: Divundu | Kavango, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Caprivi Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Caprivi Region
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Okavango delta in Namibia!! Well here is the best value for money option there is. Great accommodation, camping and food. Lots of spectacular activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngepi Camp Hotel Caprivi Strip
Ngepi Camp Namibia/Caprivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing