We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at home, with an African adventure taste”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Caprivi Region
Certificate of Excellence
Salvador, BA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Feel at home, with an African adventure taste”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This lodge was booked by our travel agent, and, different that as I usually do, I did not check anything previously (location, facilities, reviews...). After driving off the B8 on the right bank of the Okavango River, we entered a very well kept dirt road, and some km later a sign informed us to turn right in a tiny sandy way, almost a path, that led us to the front gate of the lodge after passing by some small communities. So, from the start, this place was an adventure. After entering the lodge we were greeted by a friendly Monika, one of the owners of the place, that checked us in and said she was taking us to our tent (!). I thought it was just an expression but once there we saw it was really a tent! But not an ordinary tent, it was very well furbished, with three beds, wooden floor, plenty of electric outlets (much more than we usually see in hotels), very weel lit and with a complete bathroom with hot shower! Was not for the canvas walls and ceiling we could imagine we were in a kind of hotel. And practically on top of the river bank! Then she explained us that, after dinner at night we should take care, for this particular hippo was sometimes coming up the bank for feeding around 8 pm. My 11 year-old daughter was amazed to sleep in a tent close to hippos, and my wife was pleased she could “camp” with so much comfort. Later on the afternoon we went to a boat ride they offer on the Okavango (sails out at 16h40) where we could see hippos up close, as well as gators, elephants, bocks, hogs and various birds. We called it a “wet safari” and on the end we were treated with a beautiful sunset while having a drink (choose their nice weisswein). Relaxing on the balcony over the Okavango after the ride is a nice way to start getting acquainted with the environment of the night that is coming, while having another bottle of wine. Dinner was served on a big common table, what is very nice to continue the chat you started with the other guests during the boat ride. It is like a big family dinner, and it makes you feel at home, so far away from your home. The night at the tent was a bonus. Around 3 a.m. we were waked up by a hippo chewing grass right behind our beds, some one or two meters behind the canvas wall – actually it hit one of the wooden frames that fixes the tent to the ground! When I thought this was the pinnacle of the night excitement, right before I caught back to sleep I heard a lion growl from the other side of the river (that I was told in the morning) that sent shivers up my spine! Bottom line, a fantastic experience, and Monika and her husband (forgot his name) are very kind and nice people. Don’t miss the place if you need a night rest while driving through the Caprivi!!! Just on observation: the pool was not working... but we did not missed it!

Room Tip: It seems there is a room/tent that floats on the Okavango... that must be a very interesting experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoseFernandes1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    53
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
85
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a disappointment! We have just spent our first night (of two) in this lodge and would call it a basic camp. The tent we were allocated was #2 (we are travelling with a small Kiboko group) and it felt seedy and run down. Steps to the patio (furnished with two rickety chairs) are broken. Tent floor is concrete covered with plastic sheet and a couple of dirty and worn out mats. Two single beds were OK but mosquito net had some holes and rips. There was a mouse trap behind the bed and the bottom of the bed frame was covered with cobwebs and dirt (noticed as we were trying to fit the mosquito net behind. The open bathroom (but with a roof) in a separate but connected small hut felt really dingy with a bunch of worn out mats on concrete floor. In the morning there were swarms of mosquitoes, but luckily the management provides a spray to control it. On the positive side, the bathroom has a flushing toilet and a warm shower. Maybe some other tents are better than ours but I was very unhappy and would NOT return or recommend this resort to friends.
The dinner table was beautifully set with a unique plates and cups (custom made for the lodge), and white napkins folded in the shape of elephant! Food was plain but tasty, both for dinner (served late at 8 pm) and breakfast (8-9 am).
Some more positives: We could hear the hippos all night and fantastic chorus of birds at sunrise, so it fells like being in a real wilderness.
The managers (German and English speaking) are friendly.
Of course, there is no fridge, A/C or TV, but electricity is on all night. Since it is tented camp one can hear people talking, snoring, coughing....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose_Inger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013

we stayed in July with 4 people (2 adults and 2 young people) in one tent and it was an amazing experience and real near to nature. The sunrise was marvellous, especially with a 2 degrees cold night and "warm" river with hippos on the other side.
The tent is simple, but this is what you need here.
The food and the service excellent.
The location next to the river and far away from any large touristic areas.
The view of the bank with hippos, elephants and buffalos.
The season was well. No mosquitos and no snakes, but we did sleep with warm clothes on, although the beds were warm enough.
The trips very good and Johan explained a lot. We did do the Mahango drive.
Johann guided us each evening to the tent in case of any hippos. Unfortunately we did not see during the night, but we think they were there as there was "stumbling noise" near.
we would love to go back and enjoy the location and nature.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andre m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caloundra
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Fancy a night in a comfy tent while the hippos eat next to you at night? This small but very comfy lodge has this and more. Great buffet and staff. Fantastic deck over the Okavango river watching elephants, hippos and various antelopes as well as other animals. The managers are very "hands on" and obviously enjoy having visitors. A lovely laid back, relaxing time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank smudgecleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our two nights. Managers Monica and Johann are absolute stars and set the tone for a relaxed, efficient, welcoming and knowledgeable service. Just like staying with old friends with whom you can relax and have a chat but they can remember where the beer is! Chalet tents are simple, all there and on the edge of nature - like croc at 20m and hippos at 50m. Forget your alarm clock - the hippos will do it for you (but they sometimes get the time wrong!). You could sit on the deck all day and see more wildlife than you could identify but if Johann is there you will have fantastic knowledge to help you. In fact on the game drive do tell him you are interested in more than the big five and he will show you far, far more than you would see on your own, particularly the birds.

Food was excellent. Vegetarians - advise in advance and you will be well looked after.

If ever I am lucky enough to go back to Namibia this would be one of the three "must stay" lodges.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I don't think that you'll find a better lodge with better location in the Caprivi. It was simply excellent and being opposite a game reserve is definitely a big bonus and adds an extra dimension to the quality of the stay. We really enjoyed the waterbased game viewing, and it is a birders paradise! From what we saw Ndhovo and Mahango safari lodge are the only ones opposite the game reserve. The accommodation is not luxurious but it is perfect in giving you the truly african feel...with the hippos grazing right next to the tent in the evenings. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed the communal eating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miki121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I booked this lodge by mistake but what a fantastic mistake it turned out to be. Johan and Monica were fantastic hosts as was the owner of the lodge Horst. The lodge is in a perfect position with a deck overlooking the river and a fantastic game park right next door. We enjoyed the booze cruise and the communal dinners were interesting. Hippo's wondering around our tent was an added bonus! Lazing on the deck waiting for the Elephants to wonder down for a drink was just perfect! Ndhovu was one of the nicest lodges we stayed in during the 4 weeks of our holiday. Thanks to Johan and Monica

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happitraveller212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caprivi Region
106.9 mi away
Namushasha River Lodge
Namushasha River Lodge
#1 of 4 in Caprivi Region
278 reviews
6.1 mi away
Divava Okavango Resort & Spa
Divava Okavango Resort & Spa
#3 of 29 in Caprivi Region
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mobola Lodge
Mobola Lodge
#3 of 9 in Divundu
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mukuku Rest Camp
Mukuku Rest Camp
#3 of 13 in Rundu
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Popa Falls Resort
Popa Falls Resort
#5 of 9 in Divundu
15 reviews
228.0 mi away
Chobe Water Villas
Chobe Water Villas
#8 of 29 in Caprivi Region
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndhovu Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Property: Ndhovu Safari Lodge
Address: Divundu, Caprivi, Namibia, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Caprivi Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Caprivi Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ndhovu Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ndhovu Safari Lodge Namibia/Caprivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing