We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sipping your beer during sunset; doesn't get any better...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Caprivi Region
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have travelled all around Africa and this is one of the few lodges i always enjoy. Very small, very friendly atmosphere, great location, great service. When you stay here, you feel like its your own place. Riverfront deck and sundowners during a river cruise are just fantastic. Food is also great. And beleive it or not, that small garden is a haven for birders; many many species...

Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Burak D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ndhovu, Owner at Ndhovu Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

We like to let our guests feel that they are part of the Nhovu family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 176 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

The lodge is located just alonog the river kavango, at the end of the kavango region. The caprivi park is just on the other bank of the river, so at sunste we saw elephants coming to the river to drink and wash themselves.
we were at the campsite, a litlle expensive but really large, fully equipped, isolated from the other tents, with electricity, hot water, and a nice view on the river.
Wifi available in the common hall, where there is a nice terrace looking over the river and the hyppos.
You can see and hear hyppos and crocodiles.
The owners are friendly and helpful.
Suggested.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night in mid-March. Easy to find. The track off the main road suddenly disappeared at the river bank. So we left our 4WD with the car watcher and were ferried across the rising river on a pontoon for around 500m. Apparently this is normal procedure till June. We were met by Manager Horst, briefed over a welcome drink, and shown to our tent. Yes, it was a tent. This was well equipped with mosquito net and a variety of sprays, coffee maker, and there was a short open air passageway to the en-suite bathroom. The tent was on the riverbank and had a deck, so it was very relaxing and comfortable.
The swimming pool was small but did the job of refreshing us. The lounge, restaurant and bar were in a long thatched building. There was a small selection of guide books and other reading material. The bar was run on a honesty basis- take your drinks and enter them in the book. Complimentary coffee and tea appeared to be available most of the time here. Beer was reasonable prices, but wine more expensive. Meals were taken in the restaurant eating en-famille with 'mein host'. There were 8 of us and conversation was lively.There was no choice of food, but it was welcome, good and plentiful. Service was excellent and the staff helpful. There was a very informal and relaxing atmosphere about the place.
There was a large deck with sun-loungers overlooking the river. Superb for a lazy afternoon and sun-downers.We were offered a trip on the river and a safari drive. There was no pressure to partake. Prices were good. We declined both because we wanted some 'time'out'.
Breakfast was filling and choice adequate. There was a small curio shop which is worth a look.
After breakfast it was off to the pontoon and back to the car, which had been cleaned by the car watcher.The camp is a few kms to the Mahango game reserve and you pass Popa Falls on the way from Divundi. Not a lot to see at Popa Falls!.
We would certainly return if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: All tented rooms appeared to be similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bracknellwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I've visited Ndhovu Lodge a couple of times and never had a bad experience. Good food and a stunning setting. Very good birding and not far from Mahango and Buffalo game reserves.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Far_and_Beyond_Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

It seemend that the nice and professional ZA guy Cameron is in charge nearly everything improved. The staff ist motivated and acting quickly even when it comes to unexpected special needs and wishes of guests. No prblem to enjoy your breakfast on the river terrace, just ask them. Food is excellent but the beverages are quite expensive, so do plan for some extra spendings. In low season as now it is worth to contact the manager directly in order to check if there would be special conditions to apply. The site is still in a clean and well maintained condition; the beds and the animal noises all around the tented bungalows (very recommendable) will too fast lead you into great African dreams...

Room Tip: Definetly one of the 7 or so semi-tented bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aeminq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

What a beautiful place to relax for a few days at the river. Just enjoy the surroundings, the good food and the pleasant, helpful staff. Absolutely one of the highlights on a three week trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeesR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Great location on the river -- beautiful. The food was so-so -- village tour was great, boat cruise was nice. Agree with previous comment about manager -- didn't enjoy interactions with the South African youngster -- luckily there was a second manager present, a very nice Austrian man, who balanced things out.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimeekelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caprivi Region
106.8 mi away
Namushasha River Lodge
Namushasha River Lodge
#1 of 4 in Caprivi Region
296 reviews
6.2 mi away
Divava Okavango Resort & Spa
Divava Okavango Resort & Spa
#2 of 30 in Caprivi Region
170 reviews
6.2 mi away
Shametu River Lodge
Shametu River Lodge
#1 of 10 in Divundu
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chobe River Camp
Chobe River Camp
#5 of 11 in Katima Mulilo
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Popa Falls Resort
Popa Falls Resort
#6 of 10 in Divundu
19 reviews
227.9 mi away
Chobe Water Villas
Chobe Water Villas
#7 of 30 in Caprivi Region
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndhovu Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Address: Divundu, Caprivi, Namibia, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Caprivi Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Caprivi Region
Price Range: $196 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ndhovu Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ndhovu Safari Lodge Namibia/Caprivi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing