We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Memorable views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saghro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Saghro
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Tinerhir
Hamilton, Montana
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Memorable views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our tour group stayed at the Saghro after two nights of camping in the desert and it did not disappoint. As I entered the room it looked pretty standard for a Moroccan tourist hotel, but that was before I opened the drapes! Wow! I had a huge balcony that stretched around one side of the hotel with 360 views of the mountains and the charming town of Tinerhir. The balcony also provided unbeatable views of the sunrise, as well as a place to just relax and enjoy the Moroccan scenery. At night, the lights of the town below were equally impressive. Try to be in Tinerhir on a Monday because that's when they have the souk. The sight of people arriving from the countryside with their goods on the backs of donkeys and the wide range of goods available was unforgettable. Much different from the shops in the medinas. The hotel staff was extremely helpful, especially when one of our group became very ill and needed immediate medical services (not easy to find in a small town with no large hospital. The food, as it was in so many Moroccan hotels, was predictable and fairly bland, but I would still highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel with the large balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BitterrootTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    23
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
19
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of our tour of Morocco with Explore. We stayed for two nights in late November 2012. The setting for the hotel is excellent with great views from the terrace around the swimming pool over the town and valley below..... we also used this hotel as the base for walking in the Todghra gorge, which is just round the corner.
Room was fine and typical of what we had found in Morocco. The beds are quite hard, but we prefer them that way. The lighting in the rooms subdued, and heating is required at this time of year, provided by the A/C unit.
The restaurant was a disappointment. We arrived for our evening meal (which was not included in our package) and were asked which group we were with, and then told what we would be having. As this meal was not included in our package we found this somewhat surprising. We were offered a three course meal, soup, chicken tangine and dessert...... but by this stage we were tangined out.... and so asked for the menu. This simple request seemed to fall down a language gap..... the offered meal was repeated, and the request for the menu also repeated. This time the waiter wrote down the offered meal and told me this was the menu! We then asked if they could do an Omelette.... "oh yes, no problem"..... By this time, attempts to discover what further delights their kitchen could produce had exhausted us.... so we had Omelettes. We were not able to have any fillings in the Omelettes, so they were plain and served with well over cooked carrots and courgettes. We did have a dessert, my wife a passable creme caramel, and I an orange salad (cut up orange on a plate)....... The next night we ate out at Restaurant Inass, just up the road towards the gorge, and had the best meal we had on the whole trip

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank salsa42Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here whilst on tour with encounters....and boy was it interesting!

The hotel is standard and that's ok....we didn't expect luxury. But the beds were rock hard! I barely slept and my body was a bit sore the next day. Others complained as well. The aircon worked, barely, but it tried!

At this hotel you get served dinner, it's not buffet style. The food was ok, the dessert was horrible. Breakfast the next morning was even more dismal with old bread and croissants! I ate nothing!

We went to the city for a walk, which is not far away. There's a hotel there with a cute terrace and we stopped for some drinks. Twelve of us ordered various items...and the price cam to 120 dh. Much better than the overpriced hotel!

I was glad to get outta there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our tour with Encounters Travel. The AC in our room wasn't working, the hotel tried to fix it immediately and when they were unsuccessful they gave us a new room with working AC. Full marks for sorting the problem efficiently with no fuss.

The pool area could do with an update, the loungers were past their best.

Decent but compact rooms and the reception and restaurant were pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BobJones60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We came to Tineghir from tents on the Sahara, so this hotel seemed relatively luxurious. The hotel is built at the top of the highest hill in the city. Many rooms, mine included, offer a terrace with terrific views of the city center below and the oasis created by water flowing down from the High Atlas Mountains. My room was medium sized with functioning power, light, television and plumbing. The hotel was clean and the dining room good for breakfast.

Room Tip: Top floors have a terrace with fine views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RAR1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel had a good location up a small hill about 5 min from the main street. The rooms were quite basic but very clean with great balconies giving great views. The pool area was also great but March is a bit chilly to be swimming.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danniell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

This hotel reminded me of the good old days Rusia was still the USSR. All that can be broken, was broken, such as toilet, bath, curtains, television, doors etcetera. And the furniture and decoration was exactly like in the fifties. No problem, but don't call yourself a four star hotel, when you can't meet that standard. And worse, instead of everywhere else in Morocco, the food was just bad. Never take the days menu in this hotel!
And all is so sad, because it is so unnecessary. The hotel has everything to be a great place: a good location, a good building, great surroundings and great views. It only seems to miss a good management, that can inspire it's staff to make it a great place for their guests.

The only good things about Saghro are the beds. These are firm, clean and good. And as promised, they gave us two connected rooms, one with a kingsize bed and one with a double bed. We only had to pay twice the price they confirmed us by e-mail. So be sure to check and double check before you book here. Anyhow, there have to be better places near Tinghir to stay for a view nights.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tinerhir hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tinerhir
13.3 mi away
Riad Timadrouine
Riad Timadrouine
#1 of 13 in Tinerhir
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tomboctou
Hotel Tomboctou
#2 of 13 in Tinerhir
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Amazir
Hotel Amazir
#3 of 13 in Tinerhir
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Lamrani
Hotel Kasbah Lamrani
#4 of 13 in Tinerhir
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
23.8 mi away
Chez Pierre
Chez Pierre
#1 of 7 in Boumalne Dades
5.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
3.1 mi away
Maison d'Hote Panorama Todra Tinehir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saghro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saghro

Property: Hotel Saghro
Address: BP46, Tinerhir 45800, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Tinerhir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Tinerhir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saghro 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property holds the name of one of the famous mountains in the region. Located in the touristic zone of Tinghir, Kenzi Hotel Saghro is only 15 kms far from the Todgha Canyons, and with a beautiful wiew over the Todgha Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Saghro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saghro Hotel Tinerhir
Hotel Saghro Morocco/Tinerhir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing