We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely and atmospheric”
Review of Hotel Tomboctou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tomboctou
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Tinerhir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were delighted with our choice of this lovely historic hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was great, the pool was chilly but refreshing and the atmosphere was brilliant. A real calm oasis in a busy and unspoiled Moroccan town. One of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollyLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 204 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Off the badly maintained street - typical morocco - and into the sanctuary of Tomboctou was the tonic we needed after a long road trip. The rooms were spacious, the lighting was good - and you can't count on either in Morocco - and they had a hairdryer!! Lovely breakfasts, dinner on both nights we were there were good - loved eating in the sumptuous tent. Choice of wine was limited but on the second night the staff were kind enough to let us bring our own. The place to stay in Tinerhir.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just wow. We spent the night in Tinihir as part of our four day tour of Morocco's southern oases. As it was January and low season, we had the seventeen room hotel to ourselves. You enter through a traditional dark passageway and enter the lobby of the hotel. The building itself is a kasbah (traditional North African building with a tower in each corner) built in the 1940s and renovated in the 1990s. Our room was quiet, warm and very cozy. Across the courtyard and by the pool was the restaurant where we were served an excellent three course dinner and a very generous breakfast. I wish we had the chance to spend another night in the kasbah (and really like saying that!).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meercoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was the best hotel on our 10 day trip to Morocco. It was the perfect mix of traditional decoration and functioning plumbing. The only occasion where the heater actually worked as it was supposed to, and taking a shower was actually an inviting perspective. Perfect for a one night stopover.

The cleanliness, food, service were all unobjectionable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were here for 2 nights around newyears eve 2011. We didn't make a reservation, but manage to get a room for the 4 of us.
The rooms are ok, but the beds not so great, the bathroom had some defects, the lights were positioned funny.
In the garden, next to the pool, there was a big tent where you could enjoy breakfast or dinner. Breakfast was a bit simple.

On newyears eve there was a special dinner, with music. After 12, locals came in to form a party. For us that was fun, as our daughter connected with a local girl.

I would go there again, it's not the best hotel, but you are treated genuine.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Pollewop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely place to stay in Tinerhir. The hotel is an old kasbah, done up really nicely. Around the building are artefacts and other pieces of interest related to the building's past.
The patio area around the clean pool is a great place to have breakfast, although it was a little too cool to take a dip when we were there. Dinner is served in a charmingly decorated building off the patio and was good. The bedrooms are pleasingly decorated and comfortable.
And i must put a special word in for Roger who was wonderfully helpful when i realised - when a long way from the hotel - that i had left my coat, which was my favourite jacket, in my bedroon. He took it over to europe so that he could post it back to me, for which i remain incredibly grateful.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was one of the best hotels we stayed in during our 9-day tour of Morocco. It is really well run, clean, cool in summer, quiet and has a really nice pool and area to relax with a glass of beer or wine. We also visited their sister Hotel in Tinejdad - El Khorbat. We visited their museum and then had lunch. The restaurant there was amazing - excellent food and service. The museum was also really interesting and a hit with the kids. It was an excellent way to spend the afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pharmerVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tinerhir
12.8 mi away
Riad Timadrouine
Riad Timadrouine
#1 of 13 in Tinerhir
195 reviews
23.8 mi away
Chez Pierre
Chez Pierre
#1 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
989 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saghro
Hotel Saghro
#9 of 13 in Tinerhir
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Hotel La Gazelle du Dades
Hotel La Gazelle du Dades
#4 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Lamrani
Hotel Kasbah Lamrani
#4 of 13 in Tinerhir
76 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Amazir
Hotel Amazir
#3 of 13 in Tinerhir
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tomboctou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tomboctou

Address: 126 Av. Bir Anzarane, Tinerhir 45800, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Tinerhir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Tinerhir
Price Range: $42 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tomboctou 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tomboctou has 16 air-conditioned rooms, with bathroom, inside an old soil Kasbah located in the city center of Tinghir, very close to the palm grove of Todra. Each of these rooms is named after a stage in the ancient roads of the caravans across the Sahara and is decorated according to the style of the concerned locality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tomboctou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomboctou Hotel Tinerhir
Hotel Tomboctou Morocco/Tinerhir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing