We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of Hotel Tomboctou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tomboctou
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Tinerhir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was the best hotel on our 10 day trip to Morocco. It was the perfect mix of traditional decoration and functioning plumbing. The only occasion where the heater actually worked as it was supposed to, and taking a shower was actually an inviting perspective. Perfect for a one night stopover.

The cleanliness, food, service were all unobjectionable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tomboctou
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 197 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were here for 2 nights around newyears eve 2011. We didn't make a reservation, but manage to get a room for the 4 of us.
The rooms are ok, but the beds not so great, the bathroom had some defects, the lights were positioned funny.
In the garden, next to the pool, there was a big tent where you could enjoy breakfast or dinner. Breakfast was a bit simple.

On newyears eve there was a special dinner, with music. After 12, locals came in to form a party. For us that was fun, as our daughter connected with a local girl.

I would go there again, it's not the best hotel, but you are treated genuine.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Pollewop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely place to stay in Tinerhir. The hotel is an old kasbah, done up really nicely. Around the building are artefacts and other pieces of interest related to the building's past.
The patio area around the clean pool is a great place to have breakfast, although it was a little too cool to take a dip when we were there. Dinner is served in a charmingly decorated building off the patio and was good. The bedrooms are pleasingly decorated and comfortable.
And i must put a special word in for Roger who was wonderfully helpful when i realised - when a long way from the hotel - that i had left my coat, which was my favourite jacket, in my bedroon. He took it over to europe so that he could post it back to me, for which i remain incredibly grateful.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was one of the best hotels we stayed in during our 9-day tour of Morocco. It is really well run, clean, cool in summer, quiet and has a really nice pool and area to relax with a glass of beer or wine. We also visited their sister Hotel in Tinejdad - El Khorbat. We visited their museum and then had lunch. The restaurant there was amazing - excellent food and service. The museum was also really interesting and a hit with the kids. It was an excellent way to spend the afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pharmerVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were travelling on an organised private tour (i.e. just my husband and I) and wondered what we were letting ourselves in for when we stopped here. A totally unprepossessing front entrance way led onto a gorgeous patio with swimming pool (it was too cold for us to take a dip). Lovely room with good hot water - the best place we stayed in on the tour. The food was excellent and the dining area lovely - decorated in the style of a sumptuous tent. The service was excellent. it was cold and the wait staff brought extra heaters. The tagine was among the best we had in Morocco. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. I highly recommend this place.

Even if you feel like you're intruding a bit - take a walk to the top of the stairs and go to the terrace. We weren't sure that we were supposed to, but it was such a lovely view, that it was well worth it!

A word of advice (and this has nothing to do with the hotel!) - if you do decide to take a guide through the palmery, then be very specific on how long you want to spend, and agree the price up front. Our guide was arranged through the tour company (and not the hotel).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haydee-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Solid quality, very friendly staff, in the middle of the town. Superbe location for trips into the adjacent Thodra gorge and the Tinerhir palmeraies. And best of it all: This is an als Kasbah, so for once you can actually stay in one of them, as opposed to only take pictures of them.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We spent one night here on our road trip from Marrakesh to the Dunes of Merzouga. This town is famous for the Tondra Gorge and the amazing palmeries (oasis) just outside the city.
This beautifully restored kasbah is extremely comfortable and clean with spacious rooms and a nice courtyard with small swimming pool. It is an atmospheric place in the midst of a dusty, unattractive Moroccan city. My guidebook states it is one of the best small hotels in the country and I agree 100%.
For my stay in March I paid US$90 for a room for 2, a delicious 3 course meal and a nice simple breakfast. Free wifi and parking for my car were included.
For a short stay in Tinerhir I believe there is only one choice- the Hotel Tomboctou. You won't go wrong.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr Andy S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tinerhir
12.8 mi away
Riad Timadrouine
Riad Timadrouine
#1 of 13 in Tinerhir
191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Lamrani
Hotel Kasbah Lamrani
#4 of 13 in Tinerhir
74 reviews
23.8 mi away
Chez Pierre
Chez Pierre
#1 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saghro
Hotel Saghro
#9 of 13 in Tinerhir
69 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Amazir
Hotel Amazir
#3 of 13 in Tinerhir
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Kasbah Essalam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tomboctou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tomboctou

Address: 126 Av. Bir Anzarane, Tinerhir 45800, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Tinerhir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Tinerhir
Price Range: $48 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tomboctou 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tomboctou has 16 air-conditioned rooms, with bathroom, inside an old soil Kasbah located in the city center of Tinghir, very close to the palm grove of Todra. Each of these rooms is named after a stage in the ancient roads of the caravans across the Sahara and is decorated according to the style of the concerned locality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tomboctou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomboctou Hotel Tinerhir
Hotel Tomboctou Morocco/Tinerhir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing