We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Solid, good, a little calm in winter - ok, the entire region is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tomboctou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tomboctou
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Tinerhir
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Solid, good, a little calm in winter - ok, the entire region is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Solid quality, very friendly staff, in the middle of the town. Superbe location for trips into the adjacent Thodra gorge and the Tinerhir palmeraies. And best of it all: This is an als Kasbah, so for once you can actually stay in one of them, as opposed to only take pictures of them.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    73
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
34
64
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, Ontario CANADA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We spent one night here on our road trip from Marrakesh to the Dunes of Merzouga. This town is famous for the Tondra Gorge and the amazing palmeries (oasis) just outside the city.
This beautifully restored kasbah is extremely comfortable and clean with spacious rooms and a nice courtyard with small swimming pool. It is an atmospheric place in the midst of a dusty, unattractive Moroccan city. My guidebook states it is one of the best small hotels in the country and I agree 100%.
For my stay in March I paid US$90 for a room for 2, a delicious 3 course meal and a nice simple breakfast. Free wifi and parking for my car were included.
For a short stay in Tinerhir I believe there is only one choice- the Hotel Tomboctou. You won't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed in Tomboctou with our 3 children for 3 nights. The rooms were large but we spend more time outside on the patio. The kids loved the pool. Nice staff, very helpful. We dined outside, nice tajines! The todra gorge is close by and definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskia070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We booked in advance and everything was OK. Nice rooms. We had a double and a triple on the groundfloor. A small swimmingpool, which had cold water. We booked half board and could choose from two dinners. A 5 minute walk to the centre of the town. An own carpark for the night nearby. I guess one of the better in town. I think the best is to stay in town and go in the morning to the george 20 min futher.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJB010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Our family stayed during a trek south. An unexpected highlight was a wedding procession in the street as we arrived. Restored kasbah with some interesting artifacts. Quite dark inside - wi fi if you find the right spot in the courtyard. Charming service in the tent lined restaurant. Comfortable for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guidedbythelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Swiss owned, this place is more of a Riad than a kasbah. Spacious ensuite rooms, Limited cuisine at this low-season time. Excellent welcome and good service. The owner dined with us which was very interesting. The local attraction of the Todra Gorge is not to be missed. Good walking area. The town itself is a bit scruffy but par for the area. Local people very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike55518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed here travelling between Marrakech and Fes and ended up staying another night because it was so good.

The entrance is completely unpresupposing - just a small door in a street, but a dark corridor leads to one of the last Kasbahs to be built in the area, and turned into a hotel. If this was in a city, it would be called 'boutique' these days, but let's just call it quirky and comfortable.

Rooms were good and extensive, there's a pool and in the evenings you dine in a Berber-style tent. Food and service were very good.

Location is excellent - you can visit the Todra Gorge and the palmery very easily, and with the extra day we ventured further north of the Gorge to Tamtattouchte - with staggering views.

There's a secure garaging area in a back street about 300 metres away.

An unexpected highlight of our stay. Certainly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NarrowDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tinerhir
12.8 mi away
Riad Timadrouine
Riad Timadrouine
#1 of 13 in Tinerhir
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Amazir
Hotel Amazir
#3 of 13 in Tinerhir
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
23.7 mi away
Chez Pierre
Chez Pierre
#1 of 7 in Boumalne Dades
5.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Lamrani
Hotel Kasbah Lamrani
#4 of 13 in Tinerhir
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saghro
Hotel Saghro
#8 of 13 in Tinerhir
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
3.6 mi away
Maison d'Hote Panorama Todra Tinehir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tomboctou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tomboctou

Property: Hotel Tomboctou
Address: Av. Bir Anzarane 126, Tinerhir 45800, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Tinerhir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Tinerhir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tomboctou 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tomboctou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomboctou Hotel Tinerhir
Hotel Tomboctou Morocco/Tinerhir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing