We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming riad but dinner scam”
Review of Riad Timadrouine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Timadrouine
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tinerhir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Riad Timadrouine is a bit in the middle of nowhere (between Ouarzazate and Todra), but it compensates for that by being a charming place, with lots of quiet and well-appointed rooms.
Service was pretty attentive and Hassan was very helpful overall. The breakfast was typical moroccan and good.

However the dinner is in a category of itself. It's a "four-course" meal that consisted of 1) a tiny chickpea dip with sliced tomatoes, 2) a sampling of random little things on a plate (mustard, shredded carrots etc), 3) a small piece of overcooked meat with no seasoning and no sauce save for some overcooked fennel and one quarter of a boiled potato, 4) caramelized bananas (the best thing in the meal). All this for 18 euros (a price that wasn't communicated to us until the final bill was drawn)! And that price doesn't include wine since there were none available that night! It felt like a scam.

Room Tip: Dinner costs 18 euros and is pretty dreadful bordering on inedible. Wine was not available when we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grumpasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe L, Propriétaire at Riad Timadrouine, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Madam,

We apologize for the delay of our answer, we were willing to welcome american clients at the riad to have more opinions about the dinner.

American guests enjoyed their stay and the dinner. and I also contact the others guests (french guests) who were there at the same time with you and they appreciated their dinner. i am sorry that you didn't get a nice souvenir of our riad because of the dinner.

We are definetly not scammers as you write and we are sorry that your dinner was not convenient for you. This is not our philosophy and we are always improving our services, accomodation,..and we always try to offer the best to our guests.

However we will be glad to know the place in Marrakech where you can have a dinner at 18€/person including alcohol. It will be useful for our clients and us.

We pay attention to your comment and it will be a chance for us to welcome you again, so that you could really enjoy our place and get a good souvenir.

Thanks and best regards

Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 197 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

This small riad is well maintained and what the best is in this riad is the personal and friendly service of Hassan. Nothing is too much asked. He is running this riad on his own, with the help of one lady. His biggest concern is that maybe you would miss something. He brings the breakfast, the drinks up to the roofterrace and asks everytime whether there is still something you would like to have. And always with a friendly smile. The orange juice is freshly made. Hassan prepares also meals if you want too. We had the big suite and that is really a nice room. Although the riad is on the main road from Tinehir to Ouarzazate you can hardly hear the sound of traffic. The view is beautiful (view on the Saghro mountains). Soft drinks are offered by the riad (even the freshly made orange juice). Our car was cleaned one morning by Hassan also. This is really a good stop between Merzouga Sahara and Ouarzazate. The Todra and Dadès gorges are worth the trip. You can do them both from the Riad by normal car, but you need to do them one by one, coming back to the main road. If you like to do them from the smaller roads, you need a 4Wdrive car. Both gorges are different and you can continue your way after the Todra gorges too and you arrive in the Atlas mountains. But whithout 4W you have to come back. When we left, we got a small attention from Hassan: cool water for our trip! That is the way he serves his guests! Thanks Hassan!

Room Tip: They have 5 different rooms, all different in surface and price.The smallest room is really small if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForeverTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is by far the best Riad we stayed in on our way to the desert of Merzhouga.

If only we could have stayed longer than one night! It would have been great to enjoy his very clean hamam and spa. The rooms were spacious, well kept and very clean. The dinner room was also the same with all interesting decor, clearly the owner's taste. The food was fresh, fantastic and different from the tagines and pastillas we ate previously. Breakfast served on his outdoor terrace was also fantastic.

I would recommend this place to anyone coming to Morocco on their way to the desert. It may also be a great spot to spend two days if you want to hike the todra gorge in a full day and such. I wished we had stayed their a second time on our way back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jloko2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed here on our honeymoon road trip in which we traveled all over Morocco, Spain's Andalusia, and the Portugese Algarve and Alentejo. It was an amazingly epic 3000+ plus mile journey and this Riad was one of our favorite places to stay. The room was very comfortable, the house is super cool and decorated impeccably. We had our breakfasts on the rooftop terrace overlooking the dessert, and had an amazing hammam all to ourselves.

The riad is situated nicely between the two famous gorges in a small town of just a few hundred villagers. It was a most welcome relief from the daily hustle of Fes, and showed us an intimate slice of the real Moroccan desert life.

What really makes this place shine, however, is Hassan. Of all the Moroccans we met he was the nicest and most genuine. and this man does it all. He is great cook, guide, bargainer, amateur french language instructor, server, and overall good guy.

We would have stayed longer if we had had time and we will be back someday. Thanks Hassan!

Room Tip: They are all nice but one doesn't have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Constant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

every little thing he does was magic ;-) this we could say about the service of Hasan! He was superb ! Excellent service and food and he did it all alone ! Incredible. We always remember.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe L, Propriétaire at Riad Timadrouine, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Dear Eddy,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in Riad Timadrouine. Hassan is very nice and he is also happy that you spent great time with him. I hope I could meet you next time

See you soon

Regards

Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Strategically placed mid-way between the respective gorges of Dades and Todres this was a special place to stay. As a lone traveller on a 800 miles self-drive circuit around the high Atlas and southern oases I really appreciated the warm welcome, service and cuisine offered by Hassan. Even though I was the only guest at the time Hassan prepared the sauna, jacuzzi and hammam for me, all part of the room price.

This was my favourite accommodation of my 8 night stay. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lightscribe_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Thanks to trip advisor we stayed overnight here with dinner. It's a perfect stop when visiting the area. The Riad is small but perfect. Extremely clean and comfortable. I slept great! As in all the places we stayed on our trip from Fes to Merzouga to Ait Ben Haddou to Marrakech, I wish we had more time and at least two nights in each place. This would be a great riad to come back to after a long day touring or hiking in the area. Dinner was wonderful in front of the fireplace and they served wine!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blairteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tinerhir
15 mi away
Chez Pierre
Chez Pierre
#1 of 7 in Boumalne Dades
1,025 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Tomboctou
Hotel Tomboctou
#2 of 13 in Tinerhir
208 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Amazir
Hotel Amazir
#3 of 13 in Tinerhir
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Amskou
Amskou
#3 of 7 in Boumalne Dades
91 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hotel Xaluca Dades
Hotel Xaluca Dades
#2 of 7 in Boumalne Dades
983 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Lamrani
Hotel Kasbah Lamrani
#4 of 13 in Tinerhir
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Timadrouine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Timadrouine

Address: Douar Timadrouine Ouaklim | RN 10 - Km22, Tinerhir, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Tinerhir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tinerhir
Price Range: $57 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Timadrouine 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Riad Timadrouine, a unique riad in the region of Tinghir where you can enjoy the peace and the tranquility as well as the beauty of the surroundings.Ideally located at the foot of the Altas Mountains, between the Dades and the Todghra Gorges, this earthen Riad offers 3 luxurious rooms and 2 suites opening onto a patio with its garden, its fountain and birds. A restaurant, reserved for guests, welcomes you in an intimate and cozy place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Timadrouine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Timadrouine Morocco/Tinerhir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing