We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Beautiful Lakeside Setting."”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Luzerne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside Cottage Rentals
providence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Beautiful Lakeside Setting."”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

It’s the end of another great summer and I just got a chance to write this review. My family and I stayed at Lakeside Cottages this summer. It’s the first time we’ve been to the Lake George area and we had an amazing trip. From the moment we checked in the owners answered all our questions. They gave us tip sheets on restaurants, shopping and even helped us plan our days. We went White Water Rafting, Horseback Ridding, Great Escapes, Mini Golf and a lot more all within minutes of Lakeside. We stayed in cottage #7 with our kids and my parents stayed in a smaller cottage next door #6. Both of them were great with hardwood floors and wood ceilings, very clean. Lake Vanare was beautiful and the sandy beach was only a few feet from our cottages. My kids fished and used all the boats at no extra charge. At night we all sat by the fire and became friends with some of the other guests. This was a great family vacation and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: #7 is great for a family and #6 is great for the Grandparents perfect size no steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I recently stayed at Lakeside Cottages for the first time and have to tell you how much I truly enjoyed it. For the past 5 years we have stayed at another resort on Lake Vanare with our cousins in 4 cottages. Because of a mix up with reservations this year we had to stay at Lakeside. Well, all I can say is AMAZING! My children had a blast and I had a full week of relaxation. The resort is spotless and everything looks new. The owners couldn’t do enough for us. Their beach and view are without doubt the best on the lake. My kids were in tears when we left. Next year we will be back with all our family. Thank you so very much Lakeside for providing such a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We were going to be in the Lake George/Glens Falls area for a week to attend my friend's dad's birthday and his nephew's graduation party.. We decided that we wanted lodging with a lake view and lots of quiet. After determining that just about everything on Lake George was going to be too noisy and congested with traffic, we selected Lakeside Cottage Rentals in nearby Lake Luzerne based on Trip Advisor reviews.

The cottages were perfect! We had Cabin #7, which was down at the end. You walk into the main area, which has a picture window view of Lake Vanare, a futon, TV and a kitchen with a two-burner electric stove, full-size refrigerator, and sink. Dishes and silverware are provided. The bedroom had 2 queen beds and a dresser with six drawers. There was also another "closet" area where you could hang lots of clothes and stack towels. The lake was literally about 20 steps from each deck to the shore. There is a sandy beach with lounge chairs, and adirondacks.

The other cabins in the area were MUCH smaller, and looked more like changing cabanas than cabins.

In the morning, we'd come out to our deck (each cabin has one) and listen to the birds and decide whether we were going to go for a walk (there's a paved road around the lake), take a swim, or take one of the rowboats/canoes/paddleboats out. If we got hungry, we could grill right out in the common grilling area that had about 6 barbeque grills. Or we could drive/walk up the street about 1/4 mile to the Longhorn, which was a very reasonably-priced family-friendly tavern/restaurant. There are several other restaurants within a mile or so. There were also several tubing, rafting, and horseback riding companies within a 1-2 mile radius. And on some evenings, the Lakeside owners would light a bonfire and people would roast marshmallows and make s'mores. The people in the other cabins were all friendly and easy to get along with.

We were one exit down from Lake George, so it was easy to drive down and do the "touristy thang." We watched fireworks from the beach, had ice cream from Martha's, played minature golf, dressed up like 1920's bank robbers and had our images immortalized in photos. And then we headed back to the peace and tranquility of our cabin. There are several water parks, and a Great Adventure Amusement Park.

If you do decide to stay at Lakeside (and I definitely think you should), here are some pointers:
1) You have to bring your own bath and beach towels, so pack accordingly. You should also bring a small bathroom rug.
2) If you don't like walking in seaweed, consider bringing beach/water shoes. The water is clear and clean, but there is some seaweed at the bottom.
3) The cabins are in the woods, so there are some insects (mosquitos, spiders, etc). Leave your perfume and perfumed lotions at home and learn to embrace the scent of "Eau d'Off." It made a big difference. You may also want to bring some Raid and a couple of Off laterns or coils - especially if you want to sit out on the deck for extended periods of time.
4) The area is well-lit until about 11:30pm, so if you're going to be out later than that make sure you have a flashlight so you can get back to your cabin safely. We came back one night at about 1am and it was pitch black and scary!
5) Bring a couple extra spatulas for cooking and a corkscrew if you're a wine drinker. Also, the nearby stores sell beer on Sunday, but not wine.
6) Consider getting into the rowboat/canoe/paddleboats from shore. The floating dock over by the life preserver vests is pretty unstable - especially if you're trying to get into a boat.

HAve a great time!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorinfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

stayed the weekend over memorial day half the price of lake george great location only 10 min outside Lake George village new owners from years past every cabin has been renovated new beds , resort is very clean for a Lake George resort have been going to lake george for years and always found the cabins old and dirty but this place is very clean boats always available canoes, paddle boats,row boats,kayaks , quiet lake not the size of lake george but very relaxing fishing great especially for small kids. fire down at lake nightly and owners supplied the wood never had that before owners always wanted to charge for wood . small pub restaurant in walking distance for burgers and things live music and small grocery store up the road or drive into town real close will be returning next year for sure

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cropduster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Great location, right near town and many attractions. Cottages look brandnew and are very comfortable. Very good prices to rent also.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmandrako1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We have been vacationing in the Lake George area for 20 years. Finally a place on the water, with a beach, fishing, rowboats, paddleboats and more. What a pleasure to be able to stay in a new, spotless cabin. All attractions and outlets were less than 10 minutes away. We went white water rafting, to Great Escapes and miniature golfing, all within a few miles. And of course you can't forget the great outlets and resturants. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank OttoLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2008

"Absolutely magnificent!" My family and I stayed at several resorts in the Lake George area over the past few years. This was the first time we stayed on Lake Vanere, 10 minutes from Lake George. Were sold!!! This place was great. Everything was newly renovated, spotless. All the cottages are lakefront. Plenty to do, fishing, swiming, boating and other activities. We will be back next year. Try it.
Sally from Long island.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally1NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Luzerne
4.5 mi away
The Elms Waterfront Cottages
The Elms Waterfront Cottages
#1 of 7 in Lake Luzerne
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hideaway Waterfront Cottages
Hideaway Waterfront Cottages
#2 of 7 in Lake Luzerne
49 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lamplight Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
238 reviews
3.2 mi away
Luzerne Court
Luzerne Court
#2 of 2 in Lake Luzerne
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Cottage Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Cottage Rentals

Property: Lakeside Cottage Rentals
Address: 1315 Lake Ave, Lake Luzerne, NY 12846-3308
Location: United States > New York > Lake Luzerne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lake Luzerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake George Vacation Rental: Rent a great vacation cottage in the Lake George area. It's the perfect gathering place for large families, family reunions, or friends vacationing together. Located less then 10 minutes from the village of Lake George and only minutes to the area attractions. Our cottages are all newly renovated and are all lakefront. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakeside Cottage Rentals Hotel Lake Luzerne
Lakeside Cottage Rentals Lake Luzerne, NY - Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing