We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great family reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elms Waterfront Cottages
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lake Luzerne
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another great family reunion”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We just had our 4th annual family reunion at The Elms and once again enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. We loved the renovations that have been completed on the Lodge-- the knotty pine looks fresh and adds a lot. We had an engagement party for our daughter on Saturday with extra guests and Chandler, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: The Lodge is great- renovated and GREAT view from the upper deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfitzpa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    14
    3
    4
    11
See reviews for
50
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We own a local weekly newspaper and have been here several times, but this year it was just terrible, the cupboards and cooking utensils were disgusting, no extras at all unless you asked, but the straw that broke the camels back was the following.
The Elms Waterfront Cottages Indian carving sat directly next to our cottage. Now we have been going there for about the last 5 years . That being said, my grandson and our chocolate lab. Cocoa and I open the door to our cottage and the (Carver of the Indian) has a golden retriever who is not on a leash and proceeds to attack Cocoa. Our grandson screams and runs back into the cottage, I am petrified and also retreat with Cocoa. Now mind you we have no cell/internet service so there is no way for me to contact the Elms owner or my husband. So we are trapped in our cottage - the next 3 cottages also heard the commotion and knew of what had transpired.My husband comes home and this is brought to the attention of the Elms owner Chandler -owner says that it will be addressed and not to worry. Next day Carver of Indian returns and proceeds to leash his dog so he is (2) ft. from our door and again we a trapped until he leaves - so again the owner of the Elms is informed of the situation and promises it will not happen again. Now the 3 other cottages are in a uproar as this dog when not leashed is allowed to run and swim while we are all grabbing our dogs and running in the cottage. On our last day our new found friends next door see the carver and now with son in tow bring the dog, with a leash on and let him go to swim - and they can't capture the dog as he is running wild. my husband again goes and gets the owner - who promptly comes down to talk to said carver - only for my daughter and I to hear him tell him what a great job he's done on the Indian... . and then the Carver's son says as they depart to us all "good rid dens to you" On our way out on Sat. to leave we stop at the Elms office to drop off our keys and speak with Chandler (10:30 am) and of course the door is locked with no one to be seen. So if you have $1600 to spend for a week - rent a house or cottage on the lake and don't waste your money here. I know we won't ever return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Village, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We rented this place for the 4th of July weekend. When we arrived we noticed it wasn't very clean. The bedrooms sheets were dirty. Little did we know that this big place was full of such disgusting creepy crawly blood eating creatures. As soon as we spotted such thing, we literally ran out of there before anything else could happen especially to my 3 month old baby after my grandpa and cousin got bitten by one of those creatures while sitting in the couch. We didn't even get the chance to explore the place and amenities it said to have had. But with such disturbance who would want to stay. The only good thing was that the owner was very apologetic and he gave us back our money.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmscottages, Manager at The Elms Waterfront Cottages, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We have a contract with Orkin pest control,who regularly monitor our property. Following the complaint we had them review the area no evidence of bed bugs was found. However to be safe we purchased new protective bed covers from them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john9612
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I frankly don't understand the high rating of this place. I would consider it more of a "hunters" cabin. If you want seclusion, its not to be found here. Our cabin was behind a convenience store separated by an 8 ft. stockade fence. There were spider webs in the shower and kitchen. The bathroom was spartan. the shower head was "poking" through the wall at a very odd angle. The shower stall was flimsy plastic. I almost fell through it. I was the only one who would use it. The bathroom sink had exposed pipes. There was an odor of which I would attribute to the heat being turned on. I could go on. Cellphone was poor to nonexistent. You may like it, but for the price I could have gotten a pretty nice hotel room.

Positives? The view of the bay was beautiful. The wireless internet was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank john9612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmscottages, Manager at The Elms Waterfront Cottages, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are not a hotel rather housekeeping cottages people stay with us for the proximity to Lake George and Saratoga. They like the flexibility of being able to cook or grill and not have to eat out every night. Many people also enjoy being able to have campfires. We are sorry you were not happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manasquan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My son and I recently stayed at the Elms cottages for several days over a long holiday. We had the most relaxing and enjoyable experience. The host Chandler was very nice and helpful. Our cabin was very clean and had everything you could need. Our view of the lake was breathtaking, and colorful with the leaves changing. We enjoyed the boating and campfires, and hiking with our dogs who had the time of there lives! We would highly recommend the elms cottages for a fun family place to stay on the water in your own cottage over any hotel any day. We had so much fun we are coming back next year for another fun and relaxing vacation.
Diane in cottage 8

Room Tip: All cottages are great with water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

People ask us why we continue to return to the Elms for our summer vacation each year, fhere are many reasons, but we will list a few! For six years we have returned to the Elms for vacation, and every visit was wonderful. The cottages are always a treat, clean, nice kitchen area, and a fire pit for those cool nights.. I love the fact that we did not watch any TV, and spent all of our time outside doing things that we never have time for. Like(looking at the stars at night, listening to the sounds of the Loon. The staff are always very friendly, and anything we ever need, they try to please. The family feeling is wonderful. Children can play, and run and swim, and be safe in this setting. I would recommend the Elms to any family or couple that are looking for a relaxing,and interesting environment to enjoy there time off....... Thank You Chandler and staff for helping us create new memories !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mytruelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

What a wonderful and charming place to stay my family and i had a wonderful time and we will deficiently come back next summer .The cottages were great very clean and comfortable and they were a lot bigger then what we expected , the staff was very helpful .I would to thank the owner chandler for welcoming u and for helping us enjoy our time together.We will be back soon we are planing to go back in september for the air balloon festival .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mindy71884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Luzerne
4.9 mi away
Hideaway Waterfront Cottages
Hideaway Waterfront Cottages
#2 of 7 in Lake Luzerne
49 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
8.9 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#21 of 89 in Lake George
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#8 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,183 reviews
7.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake George (Queensbury)
1.8 mi away
Luzerne Court
Luzerne Court
#2 of 2 in Lake Luzerne
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Waterfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Waterfront Cottages

Property: The Elms Waterfront Cottages
Address: 1 Bay Rd, P.O. Box 95, Lake Luzerne, NY 12846-2600
Location: United States > New York > Lake Luzerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lake Luzerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Elms Waterfront Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Elms Waterfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Waterfront Cottages Hotel Lake Luzerne
The Elms Waterfront Cottages Lake Luzerne, NY - Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing