We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not good...”
Review of Pointe Venus Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rodrigues Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pointe Venus Hotel
Mauritius
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not bad but not good...”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Comfortable family room with a nice view, food only correct, limited and expensive choice of drinks, the swimming-pool was out of order, lack of towels, not on the beach, kids club never open.

Room Tip: Ask sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cecile T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    7
    10
    10
See reviews for
20
12
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

its only the food. they don't have much a choice.very limited.not imaginative

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvados
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2010

our stay at pointe venus hotel has been a pleasure fit exactly the purpose of our visit to Rodrigues relax charm calm service of good standards spacious room.
although we would have prefer more local dishes on the buffet the food is correct but could be more creative and better presented . courteous staffs.Rodrigues definitly a unique destination .the hotel is not a beach resort but we were offer the facilities at the cocotiers sister hotel the synergy beetween the two hotels an added value.
pointe venus is also doing some renovation /extention facilities swimming pool /psa/restaurants/animation we are looking to our next visit with others friends and family. keep it up MERCI

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hastingsCalvados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

We went to Pointe Venus as an all inclusive trip with Saga Holidays for 5 days. We were welcomed by the manager and instantly made to feel at home and told if there was anything we required we only had to ask. Not a 4 * hotel but a good 3*. Our rooms were clean and towels replaced regularly, and a regular supply of beach towels. The restaurant and bar staff could not have been more helpful. I require a special gluten free diet for medical reasons and if I could not eat anything the chef would cook me something special, but there was usually plenty of choice and it was not really a problem. We cannot understand why the other reviews were so critical. The evening music was by local artists and often in a traditionat theme, it was not excessively loud and you could have a conversation in the bar without having to shout and it did not last beyong 10.30pm. We have just met a lady who cancelled her holidy there after reading the previous reviews, and when we talked to her she was sorry she had done so.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank turkeyvulture57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Ocean
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

I am a regular visitor to Rodrigues but never got a chance to go to Pointe Venus. Since there is so much advertisement about it being a 4 star hotel we decided to try it!!An absolute error.We booked for a couple and a baby and expected the baby cot to be in the room since obviously after travelling you would want to settle the baby but there was none. We asked the lady that brought us to our room and saw none arriving, we had to ask someone else again!!As for dinner it was a nightmare, all the 2 baby chairs were broken and we had to keep our baby on our lap and eat in turn, speaking of holidays, it became a nightmare. And it continued during the night, this hotel has loud music till 11.30 pm. Oh Yes no kidding how on earth are we supposed to sleep with a baby and they put it off after several phone calls from us. And it happened all over again the next night. Fed up we checked out and moved to another hotel.Nothing to regret swince the view from our balcony was marred by two giant electric pylons. Nothing exotic about this view, it's stressing more than exotic. As for the swimming pool, it was all dirty, murky with the paint coming off. Considering that this hotel has no beachfront and that the swimming pool is an absolute sham there is not much to do except those 3 poor channels (don't be fooled by the website that says satellite channels...),


One advice :DO NOT GO THERE!!!

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank DiscoveryRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rodrigues Island hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

I have now stayed at Pointe Venus on three seperate occasions (2005, 2008, and during May and June this year). I have stayed at many hotels around the main island of Mauritius. I cannot understand why the service standards at Pointe Venus are so appalling. The location is (so long as you are looking for town rather than beach) excellent, taking advantage of a historic location, an elevated position and a fine view of the lagoon, the reef beyond and a good part of the town below. Indeed sitting on the balcony of the room was a very enjoyable (although did have to ask the constantly strimming gardener to take his noisy machine elsewhere on a couple of occasions) part of the trip taking in the scenery during the day or the quiet relaxation of the night.

It is the way the services of the hotel are presented that seems to let it down badly.

The restaurant is in a fine location, with an overhanging roof to provide shade and shelter, but otherwise open to prove cool air on the hottest of days. The roof has been colonised by small birds and very large bees! The birds take advantage of the crumbs and scraps left on tables (and you might not even have finished your meal!) as their main source of food. No attempt is made by staff to shoo them away and no attempt is made to clear tables once meals are finished. So the scraps remain and the birds take over tables and parts of the restaurant.

Indeed the attitude of the staff is very worrying. It is as though they have been brought in to backfill for the proper staff. They demonstrate no particular standard nor suggest that they have been trained. Some days tables have condiments and other days they do not so you have to ask for them. Some days there are napkins on the tables and other days not. Coffee and tea at breakfast is a hot water flask next to some jars of instant coffee and boxes of tea bags. They will make real coffee for you but each time you have to ask, and yet in a 4* they should know their job is to offer coffee or tea to their guests. The menu was very limited and quite apalling - it could be undercooked and cold. Returned food took another 20 minutes to be re-heated. Two of us experienced severe gastro-enteritis while there and spent three days confined to bed to recover.

In other Mauritian hotels the restaurant staff are very attentive, ask what you want, tell you what is available, and do their best to assist. At Pointe Venus the restaurant staff do very little. They do their best to assist but appear to have been given no direction at all on how to welcome guests, how to seat them, when to offer them a menu, how to ensure their table is laid for their menu choice, how to present the food. Most times we got the distinct impression that we had surprised them by turning up at all! We found our own table. Some time later a photocopied menu would be handed to us. Our choices were then conveyed to the staff as they had little interest in finding out what we wanted (and that would not be difficult given that there were generally only 2 or 3 choices per course anyway). Most of the time the staff seemed to lean on the waiters station gossiping with each other or when bothered by guests requests disappear into the kitchen area for very long periods.

The beds were hard wooden boxes with mattresses that had lost their stuffing, their 'spring' had gone, and that was uncomfortable and caused bad backs.

The worst part was the smell in the rooms. It seems as though the foul drainage connects direct to a sewer and the dirt around the pipe connections is not attended to. Some basic cleaning with disinfectant would prove effective as an interim measure.

Overall hygiene appears not to be high on the agenda. The coiled up dead worm on the bottom of the swimming pool I saw on my first day was still there when I left several days later. The pool also has a black tide mark around the wall evidencing that, although the leaves and wind-blown debris might be scooped off every so often, the pool itself is not cleaned in any meaningful way.

All of the above may seem as though I am intent on doing a 'hatchet job' on Pointe Venus. Far from it. I like its location and feel that once it gets back to some basic standards of hygiene, service, and catering it could be the 4* hotel it seeks to be. A friend in Mauritius suggested that the problem is that this hotel is run by a tour company (Mauritours) and that they have no experience of or skills in managing hotels. That needs to change for, in the meantime, they are letting down the whole of Rodrigues, a beautiful paradise of an island with wonderful friendly people. They both deserve a lot more from the Pointe Venus Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VikingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

On our trip second to rodrigues we stayed at Pointe Venus Hotel. Since my husband was on a business trip we chose Pointe Venus because of its proximity to Port Mathurin. The hotel is well decorated but not well kept. The swimming pool is dirty and the towels are disgusting.The staff though extremely friendly need a good training. They do not check the mini bar and we often had to wait a long time before getting the food we've ordered. The first time I've ordered a club sandwich the food was cold. I hated the food and did not like the spa at all. Next time we go to rodrigues we ll stay at the cotton bay hotel.

Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank principessa6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rodrigues Island hotels
4.5 mi away
Le Tekoma
Le Tekoma
#1 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
221 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mourouk Ebony Hotel
Mourouk Ebony Hotel
#5 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cocotiers
Hotel Les Cocotiers
#3 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Ravenal
Le Ravenal
#4 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
48 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cotton Bay Hotel
Cotton Bay Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
277 reviews
1.0 mi away
Domaine de la Paix
Domaine de la Paix
#1 of 41 in Rodrigues Island
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Venus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Venus Hotel

Property: Pointe Venus Hotel
Address: Mont Venus, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Rodrigues Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rodrigues Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Pointe Venus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Hotel Pointe Venus
Pointe Venus Hotel Rodrigues Island, Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing