We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improvement requirement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cotton Bay Hotel
Pamplemousses
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Improvement requirement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We went there twice, first on our honeymoon and then for our 2nd wedding anniversary.

First time was fine but not the 2nd time. The room was ok apart from the fact that the AC/heater was not working. It was mega cold but there was no pool water heating system.

The food was delicious this time.However, due to some pipe problem next to the hotel, there was plenty of mosquitoes.

In terms of service, though the staffs were polite, they were not very helpful.

The service received at the SPA was great but quite expensive.

Our bad luck was that our plane was delayed for some 4 hours, we had to vacate the room as planned initially. So we had to stay outside, no special arrangement was made to help us.

Good experience but I don't think we will go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Koomooda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    103
    47
    22
    15
See reviews for
72
118
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Staff was friendly and hotel is beautiful. We went their on honeymoon and had the most beautiful room. The food was nice and we had lots of exposure to Rodrigues food. I love them all. No watersport offered except for scuba diving which I thought was a bit of a pity but Rodrigues is such a beautiful place that I suppose one should get on a scooter and explore this unspoilt island.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annaelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curepipe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Cotton Bay for 5 days to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we had booked a superior room. To our great suprise,they've upgraded us to a deluxe room which was simple but cozy and not to forget with a stunning sea view. We loved our room.

All the staffs were really friendly and courteous and even the director would come and ask us if everything is okay and if we wanna something. We were supposed to leave Rodrigues on the flight on the 10th at 21.30 but arriving at the airport, we've learned that our flight was cancelled 3 days back (I blame our agency Shamal Travel for this and don't ever book with them). The driver took us back to the hotel, they've offered us a room, dinner and even breakfast in the morning free of cost (They've billed the agency directly). Even stored our frozen lobsters and octopus in their fridge.

We totally recommend Cotton Bay. It was an amazing experience...and they've made our 3rd wedding anniversary a memorable one :)

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe room, the superior one is average..and choose one on the ground floor, your terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yushra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a nice, quiet and peaceful stay at Cotton Bay.
The staff are really polite, but the only problem is the long time they take to respond to customers' queries. But guess that's because the Island itself works at a slow pace.
Overall was a nice experience and really enjoyed the typical rodriguan dance

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed at Cotton Bay 14 years back & enjoyed a lot the property reason why I again booked this holiday with my family - a group of 25 pax!

Being myself a hotelier, I have worked in the hotel industry for the last decade, I emailed the Reservations department with the rooming list & all details but without any reply.
My Travel Agent reassured me that she spoke to them and the bookings were done.

Once there, the welcome was very poor, we were guided to a Bar area for the check in procedures and the reg-forms handed over without any pen nor a board to write on.
Of course, they did not have the number of rooms booked nor the sharing correct!

The reply from Front Office was to change the rooms among ourselves. My Mom had to carry her luggage from Reception to her room! A cot was requested in my brother's room that de did not get until we leave.

Service in the restaurant is very slow. Ordered Paninis and the waitress came 5 times to reconfirm the order and the paninis only served an hour & a half later. Same applies for drinks service in the evening.
Breakfast & dinner buffet lack variety and we were disappointed by the lack of local cuisine. Dessert is the same every night and we had to request ice-cream on one evening.

The cleanliness of the pool very doubtful: even saw a dog swimming in the pool and the staff did nothing about it.
Beach towels never available at Reception. You are told to take the towel in your room and they are never replaced and you have to call several times then to have additional towels in your room.

The staff is laid back. They do not care at all. You can sit at the Bar for ages and no one to serve you.
Only dedicated staff we met was Gilbert!

Despite the room size is okay, the rooms are quite old..some burnt bulbs (that of course are not replaced), old-fashioned curtains & furniture.

Would not come again nor recommend.

Room Tip: Entertainment is great in the evening! The view from the room is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zaz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rodrigues Island hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Mauritius
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had a great time at Cotton Bay Hotel, the rooms were clean the staff is very friendly. The breakfast and dinner buffet have a reasonable variety of cold and hot dishes. However, we were disappoint by the lack of local cuisine on the menu. The swimming pool is great however too deep to for an hotel. If you are travelling with children like us be very careful at the pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LM_Family111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Louis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

excellent hotel, excellent island,excellent staff
very very good food
very helpful staff
prepared any kids menu that was ordered at no extra cost
very nice islanders
very quiet country and lovely beaches

Room Tip: rooms near restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rodrigues Island
0.8 mi away
Le Tekoma
Le Tekoma
#1 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mourouk Ebony Hotel
Mourouk Ebony Hotel
#5 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Les Cocotiers
Hotel Les Cocotiers
#4 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
380.2 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4.5 of 5 stars 3,620 reviews
405.3 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 13 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 stars 3,520 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge St Francois
Auberge St Francois
#4 of 37 in Rodrigues Island
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Bay Hotel

Property: Cotton Bay Hotel
Address: Pointe Cotton, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Rodrigues Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rodrigues Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotton Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling white beaches... Sun drenched coves... Majestic mountains... And above all, tranquility. Welcome to the Haven of Peace. The staff of Cotton Bay Hotel looks forward to welcoming you to tropical paradise. Cotton Bay Hotel is situated on the Northeast coast of Rodrigues Island. Our hotel is located at Pointe Coton, one of the finest beaches on the island. Secluded and peaceful, Cotton Bay Hotel is the perfect holiday destination for those wishing to get away from it all. Want to do more than soak in the sun on our stunning tropical beach? Cotton Bay Hotel is also home to the Cotton Dive Center. Both amateur and experienced scuba diver alike may encounter the pristine coral reefs of Rodrigues with our diving professionals. Hiking, windsurfing, sea kayaking, and snorkeling are also at your disposal for those seeking a more active holiday. Whether you spent the day relaxing on the beach or hiking a mountain, your palate will delight to feast on the scrumptious cuisine of our restaurant where you may enjoy fresh seafood, steaks, Rodriguan cooking, and international cuisine. Then, relax in the evening enjoying an exotic cocktail and taking in live entertainment at our open-air lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cotton Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Bay Resort
Cotton Bay Hotel Rodrigues Island, Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing