We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holidays in Rodrigues”
Review of Cotton Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cotton Bay Hotel
Ajaccio
2 reviews
“Holidays in Rodrigues”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Beautiful rooms on the lagoon !!!!
Our room was clear, large and quiet
The restaurant is correct and the meals are varied.
The large swimming pool very useful at the end of the day after long hours in the nearest sea
The diving club is well organized.

Our trip was very nice!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PhilouP2A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamp_01, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your recent stay in Mauritius..

The whole team and I are very touched by your comments and look forward to make you experience once again the Rodriguan hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    123
    59
    27
    17
See reviews for
88
139
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Louis, Port Louis, Mauritius
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very bad stay at this hotel,..i stayed with my family for 4 days, and was very disappointed....water supply is a great problem at this hotel and twice while taking shower, was stuck with no water supply and had to wait nearly 30 mins to get water....Also the restaurant did not provide variety of local food, thought of eating fish and lobsters etc , but this was not the case, ...otherwise customer care and room cleaning was satisfactory.....And above all, was extremely disappointed with facilities for kids at the hotel, kids club was only 4-walled room, in poor condition, no toys, games, playground not well maintained, my kid did not at all enjoyed her stay...and the family room that we occupied is in a remote place, no lights outside, can fall down while walking to the restaurant for diner...satellite tv went blank every 30 mins....the hotel is at pointe cotton, very far away from town...and near hotel road was being re-surfaced, quite polluted area, and took a very long time to move out of the hotel for visits around the island...did not enjoyed our stay at this hotel...do not recommend this hotel at all...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Ziyaad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rodrigues Island hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mauritius
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

It was a very good experience at Cotton Bay in May 2013 , the staffs are very welcoming & courteous and are also very helpful.
Moreover you are very at east and feel comfortable, there is a wide range of menus available for both breakfast and diner..The only negative aspect is the TV reception signal, a very bad one.:(
I would highly recommend anyone who think of having a holiday at Cotton Bay Hotel.
Thanks you Cotton Bay for making our Honeymoon a wonderful one. :)

Room Tip: Suite is the best choice for couples who want some privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank svikill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamp_01, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for Choosing Cotton bay for your holidays in Rodrigues...

It was a real pleasure having you at Cotton Bay on the special occasion of your honeymoon. I am so happy to see that you have enjoyed the facilities and the service offered and I shall pass on with much pride your kind words to the team members.

We look forward to welcome you again in our Resort hotel.,

Warmest regards,
Gaelle Roussety
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quatre Bornes, Plaines Wilhems, Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hi viewers

I went at Cotton Bay in April with my whole family, including 2 elderly. We were very happy at the welcome and really pleasant attitude of the staff. Everything went fine from day one. Look, it's obviously not as lavish as some Mauritian hotel but it's quite good. The rooms we took are nice and cosy, with non-stop water flow from the taps. The cleaning staff did a great job. We had buffet every night, and in our final night we had typical Rodrigues food, which we adored.
On the 4th day, my mother had a fall and had to be plastered. The hotel staff provided us with a pair of crutches and delivered dinner impeccably to the room. Kid were also happy. I'll definitely recommend this hotel.

The only problem with this hotel is that it is far from Port Mathurin and if you stay there, leasing a van might be the only solution to be able to roam freely around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Prakash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pierre, Mauritius
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went for vacation with our 6 yrs old child and stayed for 5 days.
Pros:
- Nice hotels and good environment
- Ideal if you want a calm and relax vacation
- The pool very nice especially for children
-

Cons:
- Lacks of hygiene
- No free drinks for dinner even water is charged
- Some staffs need traning to improve interaction with client
- Lots of lizards & spiders in rooms

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quatre Bornes, Plaines Wilhems, Mauritius
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went for our honeymoon in August for a 10 days' stay. The hotel was in renovation at that time. We really appreciate the way the workers were doing their job as they never disturb the guests with loud noise and so on. On the other hand we were unpleasantly surprised by the muddy water coming out of taps. Fortunately it was on our last day, but too bad for the other guests.

We must clearly say thanks to the staffs of the Spa who were very professional, smiling and very good. On the other side some staffs, mainly in the restaurant, need some training in how to serves the hotel guests. Sometimes we felt that we were going to disturb them - no smiling, no nothing. They were like they wanted only one thing - go home.

Positive aspects we found during our long stay in Coton Bay is the food, especially the seafoods.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flic en Flac
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

If u're going to Rodrigues, for god sake , pls don't book this hotel. 3 main reasons :- 1) It's family room is far isolated in a dark place somewhere on a small hill where there's no proper lights on the path between the room to the restaurant . So guess how difficult it is at night to go to the restaurant with a 2 year baby in your hands. 2) No HOT water for a hotel in 2013!!!!!! We arrived at the hotel on Sunday night at 7.30 P.M. After dinner, we went for a shower, To our surprise, No hot water to take our bath.
3) We were then transferred to another small room - again surprise:- Obsolete furniture, Old sanitary equipment where u're afraid to go to the toilet!!! When u open the water tap. u can/t close!! U again have to phone for the reception. At night no maintenance. I've got to repair the tab myself to prevent wastage!
4) No proper reception of t.v images in the room . Problem to watch a film.
5) On the last day of leaving our flight was at 7 p.m; , u want to take a shower before leaving for the airport, again No hot water available . How can u bath a baby 2 years old with cold water during this winter period. ????
6) Arrogant attitude by the manager Mr Noel & his receptionist Mr Alain Momus. When u complain to them about the cold water, they refused to let u have another bathroom just to take our bath before leaving for the airport, We had to beg & cry in front of the customers at the reception to hane a new bathroom with hot water!

This is the type of service u'll get at this pitiful hotel. Need to close down for complete renovation. Review all its equipment ( solar heaters, sanitary , furniture, tabs, etc.) Need to retrain its management & reception staff .What a big difference between a hotel in Mauritius & one in Rodrigues. Only one positive thing: The staff at the restaurant, the bagagist & the cleaners. They are humble & very kind in contrast to the staff at the reception & the management team. I'm prepared to witness my nightmare in a local newspaper next week to inform all mauritians about the nightmare we experienced these last 4 days!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't opt for this family roo. Nightmare
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rodrigues Island
0.8 mi away
Le Tekoma
Le Tekoma
#1 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
221 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mourouk Ebony Hotel
Mourouk Ebony Hotel
#5 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
197 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Les Cocotiers
Hotel Les Cocotiers
#3 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Le Ravenal
Le Ravenal
#4 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
48 reviews
385.3 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge St Francois
Auberge St Francois
#4 of 41 in Rodrigues Island
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Bay Hotel

Property: Cotton Bay Hotel
Address: Pointe Cotton, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Rodrigues Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rodrigues Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotton Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling white beaches... Sun drenched coves... Majestic mountains... And above all, tranquility. Welcome to the Haven of Peace. The staff of Cotton Bay Hotel looks forward to welcoming you to tropical paradise. Cotton Bay Hotel is situated on the Northeast coast of Rodrigues Island. Our hotel is located at Pointe Coton, one of the finest beaches on the island. Secluded and peaceful, Cotton Bay Hotel is the perfect holiday destination for those wishing to get away from it all. Want to do more than soak in the sun on our stunning tropical beach? Cotton Bay Hotel is also home to the Cotton Dive Center. Both amateur and experienced scuba diver alike may encounter the pristine coral reefs of Rodrigues with our diving professionals. Hiking, windsurfing, sea kayaking, and snorkeling are also at your disposal for those seeking a more active holiday. Whether you spent the day relaxing on the beach or hiking a mountain, your palate will delight to feast on the scrumptious cuisine of our restaurant where you may enjoy fresh seafood, steaks, Rodriguan cooking, and international cuisine. Then, relax in the evening enjoying an exotic cocktail and taking in live entertainment at our open-air lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cotton Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Bay Resort
Cotton Bay Hotel Rodrigues Island, Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing