We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - but ... ! (Have a good look.)”
Review of Cotton Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cotton Bay Hotel
Reviewed January 8, 2013

"OK - but ... !"
Hotel - beach - infrastructure - environment - weather - getting there and back
Our experience: from 21/12/2012 to 03/01/2013
There are just a few hotels on this lonely island and it appears to be among the better ones. But there is a HUGE difference between Mauritius and Rodrigues. Very friendly management and staff, but not everybody appears very competent. There are rooms where you can have a bathtub just next to your double bed (if you like that) instead of a sofa. Meals average, especially on public holidays. When you check in you may be told that the coffee and tea in your room are for free, when you pay your bill at the end of your stay things can prove different (quite a surprise). You can find free coffee and tea e.g. in the US and in Australia. Make sure that you register for yourself whatever drinks you have taken from your mini-bar as there is no official list which you sign each day. The disco music is far too loud!
The beach is really rice to look at - but dirty after an invasion of hundreds of locals on public holidays. Then swimming isn't a good idea any more. People don't care about the environment... Beware of all those sea urchins and wear shoes. Snorkeling is maybe not as promising as you might expect, there are lots of dead corals.
Getting around by public transport is fine because you can go nearly everywhere, but don't try to do so on public holidays. There is nothing like a timetable. And don't rely on the expertise of the reception staff. At least you should be very flexible.
If you are very sure about the time you want or must leave the island you should allow for an additional day or two towards the end because during the southern summer season there might just be a cyclone around and you can't leave ... And the staff aren't a great help.
Getting there and back can be a bit difficult: We booked Air Mauritius and had to travel by Air France to Mauritius and only then there was a real AM plane to take us to Rodrigues. Checking through your luggage works well from Germany, though the suitcases may arrive just 20 hours later. Checking through at Rodrigues Airport doesn't work at all (because 2 airlines are involved).
All in all perhaps the best stay on this island but there are worlds between Rodrigues and Mauritius.

Room Tip: No bathtub but a proper shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emil_88069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 285 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Cotton Bay is a nice Hotel, a bit old, but with very warm and friendly staff.
The rooms are a bit old, and there is a terrible water problem in the country, and the aircons in my room were scarcely working. But overall the stay was good, the food is ok, and you get good insight about places to visit from the Staff.
The pool is nice and the hotel is very well situated!

Next visit to the island I will maybe opt for another, more maintained hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Didier A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very beautiful and not far from the airport and the city centre. Don't miss the pedalo and water sports and go for a walk beyond the cliffs as the views are exceptional. Buy your own water as the prices are quadruple the shop prices. Try to go half board as the breakfast and dinner are exceptional with a theme every day. For lunch book at the local table d'hote which the hotel can do for you. Hire a car and do your own tours as it will be cheaper than doing it with the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MJ_SG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I have been to Cotton bay in January, i must say it is very good in terms of cleanliness, tasty sea food, entertainment etc, my travel agency skyfly travel & tours. he has organised several activities for me, such as ile aux coco etc you may contact the agency www.skyflytravel.net it is situated in Mauritius at pamplemousses, or contact them on 2438456

Room Tip: Contact Skyfly Travel for More info 2438456
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rahul264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We went there with friends for new year's eve and spent 4 nights. We were quite shocked by the lack of maintenance in the hotel in general. The hotel looked old and dated and needed some serious cleaning. Towels were thin and yellowish, the fabric of the cushions and curtains were faded, the furniture was scratched and stained and there was a terrible smell coming from the shower!
The food was reasonable but lacked variety and the buffet was not replenished.
Definitely not worth the price we paid...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chic73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The location is perfect - an arc of golden beach, turquoise sea and peace and quiet. This hotel does have its challenges though. When we were there, there were water restrictions due to drought and we only had running water at certain times. The hotel is old and although they are doing a magnificent job maintaining it, there are signs of age showing through. Finally the evening buffet is decidedly poor.

Still in spite of all this, this is a good hotel. As well as the sublime location, there is a nice pool area, good evening entertainment in the bar and lovely helpful staff. There are a number of good local coast walks to secluded coves, which are well worth doing. It's also worth getting a car or scooter to explore this fascinating island.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel but three nights was enough for us.

Room Tip: If you are arriving at night, get decent directions. It's hard to find in the dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

My boyfriend and I were for a week end only and were looking for calm and rest. The check in was a little bit long as we had to wait for about one hour without any explanation and hotel description, however our patience has paid as we have been granted a suite instead of a standard double room without any extra cost. The room was very neat and comfortable, we had a private beach, even if the sea is rocky at low tide, i can confirm that having a desert beach full of sunshine is extremely wonderful. All the stress of our hectic weeks were gone. We had rented a car but it is better and cheaper to rent a scooter. Next time may be. the food was nice but repetitive, the best thing to do is to stay in two or more different hotel, if you are staying for several days. Do not miss the market at Port-Mathurin on saturday morning ( very early ) and the tortoise and cave reserve ( the guide was wonderful ) . we have loved our stay as we have found what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mim2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rodrigues Island
0.8 mi away
Le Tekoma
Le Tekoma
#1 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
236 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mourouk Ebony Hotel
Mourouk Ebony Hotel
#5 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
208 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Les Cocotiers
Hotel Les Cocotiers
#4 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
400.8 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,514 reviews
405.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,857 reviews
387.7 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Bay Hotel

Address: Pointe Cotton, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Rodrigues Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rodrigues Island
Price Range: $248 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotton Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling white beaches... Sun drenched coves... Majestic mountains... And above all, tranquility. Welcome to the Haven of Peace. The staff of Cotton Bay Hotel looks forward to welcoming you to tropical paradise. Cotton Bay Hotel is situated on the Northeast coast of Rodrigues Island. Our hotel is located at Pointe Coton, one of the finest beaches on the island. Secluded and peaceful, Cotton Bay Hotel is the perfect holiday destination for those wishing to get away from it all. Want to do more than soak in the sun on our stunning tropical beach? Cotton Bay Hotel is also home to the Cotton Dive Center. Both amateur and experienced scuba diver alike may encounter the pristine coral reefs of Rodrigues with our diving professionals. Hiking, windsurfing, sea kayaking, and snorkeling are also at your disposal for those seeking a more active holiday. Whether you spent the day relaxing on the beach or hiking a mountain, your palate will delight to feast on the scrumptious cuisine of our restaurant where you may enjoy fresh seafood, steaks, Rodriguan cooking, and international cuisine. Then, relax in the evening enjoying an exotic cocktail and taking in live entertainment at our open-air lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Cotton Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Bay Resort
Cotton Bay Hotel Rodrigues Island, Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing