We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place on a wonderful island!”
Review of Kafe Marron

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rodrigues Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kafe Marron
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We came to the Kafe Marron for three nights after spending some time on Mauritius and the contrast could not be more stark. Frederic and Dorothy were so hospitable and really made us feel like we could have/do anything we wanted. They arranged for us to rent a scooter for a very reasonable price and it was parked right outside the morning we wanted to use it. Despite the laid back nature of Rodrigues there was no shortage of things to do, with plenty of tour options to the outlying islands.

The food was incredible! In the morning it was a simple omelet with toast and juice, but the dinners were always quite extravagant, typically including four courses, usually with seafood, but there was a pretty wide variety. The location is also very nice. It is right across the road from the beach (watch out for sea urchins) and there are some really nice hikes in the area, I would recommend the Trou d’Argent. Overall, we wish we could have spent a little more time here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rider1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 97 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

Kafé Marron is a very nice place close to the best beaches on Rodrigues at the other end of the island from the airport. The house is pleasantly spacious and well thought out with quirky furnishings. Dorothy runs a casual place with an easy, friendly atmosphere. The food is excellent. Be prepared to meet cows, chickens roaming around the house and mingle in french at the dinner table.

No pool, but the beach and the Indian Ocean are 2 minutes away.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Memo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We have stayed at Kafe Marron 3 nights on our honeymoon and the whole experience was great. The guest house is perfctly located, near the best beaches in Rodrigues, and is very charming. Dorothy and Fredric are fantastic, they really help you plan your stay in Rodrigues (excursions, rent of the scooter, trasnfers etc.). The food is also excellent and the general atmosphere very pleasent. Highly suggested!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pilone11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at Kafe Marron and i could say this was definetely one of our best accomodations ever.
The house is new, very nicely furnished, the owner Dorothy and her family are very kind and attentive. We felt really at home there!
I have to mention also the food which Dorothy prepared for us - it was fantastic! Very tasty and also the table arrangement and the service were soooo good...!
Thank you again for these beautiful days.

We liked the accomodation and the island a lot and hope to come back again.
Anna, Marco and Alisia

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vishnyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

the experience in the chambre d'hote was very positive! Dorothy and Frederic made us feel like at home. Dorothy is a fantastic "landlady", her dinners are very very delicious and she is "CHEF N^ 1"!! they will be in out hearts!!!! Lorenza, Sara, Federica e Alessandra

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorenz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Qu'elles soient côté mer ou côté montagne c'est très bien.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cawo974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rodrigues Island hotels
0 mi away
Le Refuge
Le Refuge
#2 of 3 in La Ferme
5 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Villa Le Chapo
#3 of 8 in Port Mathurin
2 reviews
0 mi away
Le Benitier
Le Benitier
#5 of 7 in Port Mathurin
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cotton Bay Hotel
Cotton Bay Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
311 reviews
0 mi away
Le Tekoma
Le Tekoma
#1 of 6 in Rodrigues Island
256 reviews
0 mi away
Oasis Nature Lodge
Oasis Nature Lodge
#1 of 3 in La Ferme
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kafe Marron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kafe Marron

Address: Pointe Coton, Ile Rodrigues, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Rodrigues Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Rodrigues Island
Price Range: $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Kafe Marron Rodrigues Island, Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing