We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day trip from Nairobi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiambethu Farm

Kiambethu Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.50*
and up
Kiambethu Tea Farm: Day Tour From Nairobi
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Limuru
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and enjoy a lunch time tour of the farm with Fiona... Arrive at 11am and over a cup of tea or coffee the history of the farm and process of making tea is informally explained, followed by an opportunity to see tea in the field. Then take a walk in the indigenous forest with our resident Kenyan guide who will identify the plants and explain how they are traditionally used. Look out for the Colobus monkeys close up and wander in the gardens which are home to a wide variety of birds and flowers. Return to the house to enjoy a pre-lunch drink on the verandah with sweeping views across the tea fields to the Ngong Hills. Enjoy your three course buffet lunch from our set menu prepared with vegetables from the garden and desserts are topped with cream from our herd of Channel Island cows. Advance booking is essential, cost is Kshs.3,300 per person all inclusive, children under 12 are half price.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great day trip from Nairobi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

After being stuck in traffic jam in Nairobi for quite a while it was really nice to be on the farm; amazing garden, fresh air and a nice walk. The guided walk around the tea farm and forest. Although we didn't get so much info as we were walking in the back (was carrying a small baby) and by the time we managed to catch up with the group the guide had already moved on. The food that was prepared by Fiona and her team was amazing; everything fresh from the farm that make vegetarians and meat eaters happy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenyaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    20
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Breath of fresh air”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The day started overcast and rainy, but soon cleared up. Our hostess, Fiona was gracious and welcoming. We were received with a cup of tea and biscuits and invited to enjoy the garden overlooking the tea plantations. After an informative explanation of tea from plant to cup we were given a guided tour of the tea plantation and forest. Lunch on the lawn was excellent.
This is a little insight to the colonial history of Kenya and the hard work that has gone into making it a success. The scenery is just stunning. I would recommend this to everyone visiting Kenya to get a different view of "wild Afirca".

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saudibunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Are you looking for something really different to do in Nairobi? Spend the day at Kiambehu.....start off with a super warm welcome from Fiona with a lovely cup of Kenyan Chai and Home Made Cookies....followed by a very informative talk on growing and processing of tea in Kenya...then a beautiful walk in an indeginious forest learning about native medicinal plants....all accompanied by beautiful views of rolling hill with the vibrat green of tea bushes......ice cold drinks after that and a little time to take in some fresh Limuru air and brilliant Equatorial Sunshine in the flower filled garden.....a scrumptious lunch and then an afternoon of leisure in the lawn

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhagesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our fourth time - and not our last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

As we plan our trip to Africa every few years, the very first thing we book is lunch with Fiona at Kiambethu Tea Farm. This is truly one of the highlights of our time in Nairobi and we wouldn't miss it for the world. Fiona, a very lovely lady, puts on a lunch spread that has no rival in my books - the fresh vegetables, the delicious beef dish, the potatoes, and the home-made ice cream and hand-churned butter just doesn't get any better! We have been to East Africa four times now, and have had the honour of having lunch at the farm four times as well.
We ended up spending all afternoon there this year chatting with Fiona, it was a perfect leisurely afternoon, and one we will fondly remember until the next time we visit.
I highly recommend it - the drive out to the country is very nice too, and for those that haven't been in a few year - the roads are 100% better than they used to be 4 years ago!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndaS0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
658 reviews
297 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Moderately interesting visit - peaceful and at a slow pace”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

a pleasant way to spend an afternoon. This family run farm had been in the family of Fiona (the current proprietor) for over 100 years and now spans 5 generations (to her grandchildren). Less an educational visit about the process of making tea than just a visit to a giant plantation, the "tour" begins at 11am with an hour long introduction to the history of the family farm and info about tea growing. Then a tour around the grounds which is not focused on tea itself but rather a slow walk through the forest where a guide will show you the natural trees and plants used to medicinal purposes. Then to lunch with a delicious spread of vegetables from the garden and delicious beef from Fiona's butcher. Topped off with freshly made ice cream from her cows. Located about 1hr north of the city, this is not a tour that I would recommend for those with a short amount of time in Nairobi but is moderately interesting of a visit if hoping to escape the hectic city.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiambethu Farm also viewed

 

Been to Kiambethu Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing