We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly but hassle free easy holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“friendly but hassle free easy holiday”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

just back from The Gambia - as a family we avoid being packaged but this was such an easy week away - Thomas Cook so no leg room on the flights but perfectly to time. All inclusive but staff still smiling and attentative - food varied and freshly cooked and delicious - and no hassle on the beach - beautiful tranquility but walking distance to the colour and vibrancy and ?over friendly noise of the Serekunda Strip and a fishing village.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorginaDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGManager, Manager at Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear GeorginaDevon

It is great to see that you had such an enjoyable stay at the Sheraton Gambia Hotel , Resort and Spa and enjoyed the food, prepared by our French Executive Chef.

We agree with you that we have a great location, where you can have peace and tranquility.

Hope to see you again upon your next vacation!

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    310
    176
    70
    54
See reviews for
118
483
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey. England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We went for New Year to the Sheraton despite the bad comments we found nothing but friendly and happy to help staff!
On arrival it can be a little intimidating as their eagerness to help can leave you feeling very confused especially if there are a lot of guests arriving at the same time.
However the whole experience of the hotel, staff and service was very relaxing and they did everything they could to please.
The bar staff were all very helpful and during the day barman Alieu was always there with a smile.
Breakfast is inside with a choice to sit outside, the staff especially Rihanna & Bakarey, were very attentive just give them chance to get to know you.
Lunch & Dinner are served outside and in the evening food can go cold very quickly. We were often looked after by Ebraham who would find you a table and bring your drinks for you. Some nights it can get windy so take a wrap even on days with 30 degree plus.
We had just one day where food was under par but only because it had run out and what was there was cold. It didn't take long before dishes were replenished - however this is the Sheraton and this should not have happened.
Considering this is the Sheraton some things were a little tatty and the rooms although we upgraded were a nice size the furnishings were tatty and in need of updating - however remember you are in the Gambia and when you consider the rest of the country you are living like a King in comparison - whether this should be used as an excuse for the Sheraton or not is debatable.
What you couldn't fault is the attitude and friendliness of the staff from the room maids to the cheeky lads who take care of the towels and sun beds. If you just take the time to talk to these people you will be rewarded with a far better holiday.
Take some trips out to see the Markets, the Monkey's and the Crocodiles - Gambia experience guides will take you just negotiate a price. The Roots trip is also worth doing.
we used the Spa and the massages were lovely a good choice and not bad prices. Kemy (I think her name was) and the young man who worked there were very good.

All in all I would go back - I would also upgrade again - I think all rooms have sea views. The more executive upgraded rooms are higher in number and further away from the 'noise'. Not that its a noisy place. As entertainment as in live music stops at 10pm which was fine for us as we were there for a relaxing time. If you want more noise then you can get a taxi very easily.

I would recommend this hotel if you want a quiet relaxing time.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you possibly can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Square1BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGManager, Manager at Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Square 1BS

it is great to see that you had such a relaxing time at the Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort and Spa and that you enjoyed all the services. We are glad that the Associates that you mention made the say even more memorable

All the rooms in the hotel are seafacing.

It will be an absolute pleasure to have you back in the hotel on your next holida!!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienen, Brabant, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband and I went here on honeymoon september-oktober 2011. After a not so great start (toilet kept on running, but was fixed very fast), we had a lovely time here.

The staff was very friendly. Special thanks go to Agnes, who looked after me when I had the 'Banjul belly'. The room was nice and big (we had a Baobab room, with oceanview). It was cleaned daily and towels were also replaced daily. The bed was quite wide and very comfortable. We also enjoyed the swimming pool. The first few days, the ocean was warm and calm, which we enjoyed, after that, when it got wilder, we preferred the swimming pool. The location is not directly in the centre, but you can take a taxi there, which was very cheap. I also recommend the spa of the hotel. It was reasonably priced, and the treatments were good. I enjoyed a facial, my husband had a massage. We also really liked the all inclusive buffet, which had a lot of options. We liked the local dishes most, but also the oven baked pizza was nice! The entertainment was ok. We rather liked the local dancers/bands, but we really did not like the karaoke guy!

Based on our experiences in 2011, we would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evelyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGManager, Manager at Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Evelyn I

it is great to see that you had such a fantastic stay at the hotel, and that you also enjoyed using the facilities.

It is good to know that Agnes went out of her way you look after you when you had Banjul belly. Our Associates are certainly our greatests assets.

Hopefully we will see you again when you plan your next holidays.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Just come back from 15 days in Sheraton Gambia, it was absolut rigth choice for us, nice combination of relaxation and trips. An excelent all inclusive buffet under supervision of French chief cook, even coffie at breakfast was good ! Super entertainment, kind serviceminded staff.
Angelika Ørnfelt Copenhagen Denmark

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Angelika O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGManager, Manager at Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear AngelikaO

We are glad that you had such an excellent time at the Shearton Gambia Hotel Resort and Spa, and that you especially enjoyed the buffet prepared by our French Executive Chef and his team.

We hope to see you again at the Hotel on your next vacation.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Sheraton the week leading up to Christmas This was our third visit to the Gambia, having previously stayed at the Combo hotel in Kololi.
In comparison, we were disappointed with The Sheraton. Upon arrival, we were shown to our room. The room itself was the most comfortable part of the stay. However, the lobby area was a building site. It was littered with plaster and rubble from the room next door. This was totally unacceptable and not a particulary pleasant introduction to our stay in the hotel.Five star? Most certainly not!
The procedure for getting towels and sunbeds was equally as depressing. It seemed that everything about this hotel was on the terms of the management of staff, including g having to wait for long periods to obtain simple towels and sunbeds.
It seemed that most guests were 'fully inclusive' and were offered a slightly better level of service. Those of us who were 'bed and breakfast' guests were often ignored or left for longer periods of time before being attended to.
Having ordered a Greek salad from the bar menu, I was alarmed to be given a plate which seemed to contain an entire shredded lettuce, a few pieces of cucumber and tomatoes a splattering of olives and pieces of brie cheese. The menu stated feta cheese and no explanation was given as to why I was presented with the wrong food which was inedible.
While certain staff tried hard to make an effort and be friendly, the majority had a very care free attitude. The furniture and look overall needs updating. The hotel looks tired and in need of some serious attention. It lacks atmosphere, friendliness and value for money. In short, my partner and I were disappointed. We would not recommend this hotel and have stayed at nicer places, for less, in the Gambia.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Johnniesland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGManager, Manager at Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dera Johnniesland

We are sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations on you recent stay at the hotel and that you were dissappointed.

The management team will most certainly look into the concerns raised in your review, so that the necessary corrective actions can be taken, to improve our services.

Your feedback, though critical, is appreciated.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was our second visit over Christmas New Year and we were not disappointed. Most of the same faces both staff and guests, it was like a reunion. Weather was slightly off from previous visit and a couple of evening quite chilly. We started off to quite a bad start with the room which we were allocated and the several alternatives were not up to scratch, however the hotel was very accommodating and even upgraded us, after the disappointment we were back to the resort we remember from our previous visit, helpful and friendly staff good selection of food and entertainment was varied., If you a night owl then you need to take a taxi down to the bars and casino if however you want a relaxing and refreshing holiday in a good location and with a spa you can't go wrong, Short power cuts were an issues but only usually lasted minutes and the resort has generators. However there were issues with the only two guest lifts through our stay and in the first week neither were working one evening but w were lucky to allowed to use the staff lift. Our and about in Gambia there was a noticeable change in the children no longer interested only in pens, papers and sweets now asking for money!!

The Gambian Santa with gifts for the children was a great hit, however New Years Eve Gala was great regarding food but lots of people didn't stay up to midnight so the overall it was slightly flat!

Over all we would have hesitation in a return stray

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade for beach front ground floor not an elevated property or Baobab if you have any m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris03Essex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGManager, Manager at Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Chris03Essex_England

We are glad to see that you enjoyed Christmas and New Year with us at the Sheraton Gambia Hotel, Spa and Resort, despite the intial bumpy start.

It will be a great pleasure to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Spent the New Year at this hotel and arrived home early this morning. We had a fantastic time. The hotel is clean and the staff are all really friendly. Food was always well presented and served buffet style with plenty of choice. There was also the option to go for Al A Carte which we did to celebrate my sisters birthday - I have never seen prawns the size that were served up and delicious too. We did several tours while we were there. Our tour guide was Mustapha and he was brilliant, he had an excellent knowledge of the area and knew where to take us for the best adventure. He tailor made one of the trips to our wishes which culminated in a visit to one of the local schools, it was very emotional, the children sang for us and made us realise just how very lucky we are with our schooling system here in England. The main drawback was the "bumsters" which hang around outside the private area of the hotel beach and also any other of the tourist places. They can be very persistant and are often hard to shake off. They don't mean any harm but can be a little annoying. The hotel grounds were very pretty with a lovely big pool (not heated) which we used every day, there was also a gym and sauna, steam room and treatment area. The treatments weren't included in the price but were very reasonable. Overall a fantastic time and it was certainly an experience. Not really suitable for families with very small children though.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar and I don't think it makes much difference which you stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukchrisunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGManager, Manager at Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Ukchrisunitedkingdom

We are glad that you had such a fantastic time at the Sheraton Gambia Hotel Spa and Resort over New Year and that you enjoyed the food, especially the large prawns! The hotel is also lucky to have such extensive gardens.

It was a pleasure that we could be part of your "Gambian Experience" and we hope that we see you again at the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serekunda
4.2 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,223 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
839 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
8.9 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
2.4 mi away
Lemon Creek Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Brufut Heights A.U Highway, Serekunda, Gambia
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, enjoy the tropical leisure, sand, sea and and the tranquillity of our spa. The unique, spectacular architecture, with its blocks of 186 guest rooms perched on two cliffs overlooking the Atlantic coastline, provides a serene environment. Tropical palm and baobab trees dotted along the immaculate landscape allow gentle Atlantic sea breezes to flow. Cozy guest rooms with private balconies offer unmasked sea views right from the comfort of your bed and the attractive all-inclusive concept surrounds your treat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort And Spa
Sheraton Gambia Hotel Serekunda
Sheraton Serekunda
Serekunda Sheraton
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa Serekunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing