We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Memories Holiday”
Review of Sarges Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sarges Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Sarges Hotel and upgraded to there "suite" which was still basic but it was clean and safe.Sarges is not the best to look at when you arrive and the pool is very smile along with the dining area but it was good for what we wanted it for.
The Gambia is a amazing place to visit, the hotel was less than a five minute walk to the wonderful sandy beach and is located right on the strip where there are bars and restaurants and the food along there is lovely.
Do the excursion of visiting the Saraconda market along with paradise beach and the schools all I can say is that it was breath taking the way these people live is unbelievable and they smile all the time and the wood carves are fantastic.
Take lots of pens,pencils, any clothes, sweets,chocolate, the kids think you are giving them the world when you give them a pen that works. We came home with empty cases we gave everything away all our clothes.
Highly recommend if you fancy a different but very basic holiday. Loved it will def be returning in a few years.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica197936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 152 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed at Sarges Hotel in April on a friends recommendation and didn't regret it at all. The staff are really helpful and friendly especially the mangeress, I think she was called Caroline. This trip was a girly holiday for myself and my daughter and Caroline gave us loads of advice and suggested places to eat and which day trips to do. It was really reassuring to have such a lovely English lady to turn to. (I'm a bit of a wimp and tend to let my husband sort everything out) All the staff were great, at breakfast always plenty of food and if it did run out you only had to ask and more was brought straight away. The pancakes were gorgeous but there was also toast cereal fruit and other stuff. The room was basic but spotless and was cleaned daily. Lovely quiet little pool in lush gardens with a bar (what more do you want). Location second to none. On the strip, 5 mins walk to Voodo beach (You can cut through another hotel to beach, that one has a 'Butlins' feel, makes you appreciate Sarges friendly family atmosphere) The whole holiday was a great adventure and Sarge's is just so relaxed and safe feeling. Booked to go again in January with husband.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

sarges hotel gambia is one of the best place to for holiday not far from the city centre and few minutes walk to the beach, along the way to the city you have a chance to buy your european foods and all sorts of the things you will like . african art and crafts.

Room Tip: higher floors have a very good sight seeing to the beach area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alhajisaccoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have to say that this is basic accomodation and the food is not for me, but it is clean and safe and Terry the manager is extremely helpful and trust worthy.
The beach is just a few metres away and the local restaurants are less then 5 minutes away.
It was a cheap and diffrent holiday, i enjoyed it but we will probably not return.
There are some issues with exploitation of the locals by Western tourist but me and and my partner were not aproached or solicited in any way and we saw no signs of it in the premises.
When you go out side to the bars or restaurants you see old women and their toy boys or fat old men with pretty young local girls and it is sad to see.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

friendly staff. ideal location. Ive stayed at sarges twice and would stay again happily. The rooms in A block where I stayed were c lean and quiet and quite cool. Despite it being 37 degrees I didnt need air-con.
Bar staff are fun and friendly and security front and back are trained and diligent. ive read some bad revues of Sarges but on the 2 times Ive been (over a month in total) Ive had no problems and have enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here a couple of times over the years, but most recently in November 2012. The area is really lively and interesting, so the peaceful tranquillity of this lovely little hotel is an absolute find.

Most of the guests that I spoke to were returning customers, which I always find reassuring. The place has apparently been under new management in the past few months. I don't really remember what it was like the first time I stayed, but its very clean and the staff were excellent.

It's recently been added to the Thomas cook brochure, so hopefully that won't mean the prices start going up.

It's a five minute walk to the beach, 2 minutes to a Monkey park - the monkey's come in the hotel from time to time, which is quite amusing.

Seriously thinking about going back for a week before the season is over!

Room Tip: I couldn't run to one of the up market rooms, but I took a look inside one. If I wasn't on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal-Globe-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel was clean but is a knocking shop full of old men & young prostitutes - a steady stream of them. One group of men even brought their 14 year old son along for the action! There were a few females too with their local 'boyfirends' but generally it was old men with young prostutes, procured for approximately £1. A lovely place to sit & relax - not.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serekunda
0.2 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
749 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
1.9 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarges Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarges Hotel

Address: P. O. Box 2679 | P. O. Box 2679, Serekunda, Gambia (Formerly Tafbel Maisonettes)
Phone Number:
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Price Range: $48 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarges Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sarges Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarges Hotel Tafbel Kololi
Sarges Hotel Gambia/Serekunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing