We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bird lovers' paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed in the Senegambia Hotel for two weeks from the end of November 2013. A lot has been written about the hotel and its local area on Trip Advisor so we won't waste time repeating all this apart from saying that we had a lovely time in The Gambia, that the hotel was good although the rooms a little dated, were made up for by the wonderful grounds with their wealth of birds, monkeys and lizards. The local restaurants were good and cheap and we particularly liked the Scala.
But the best things about our holiday were our birdwatching excursions with the birdwatching centre based in the hotel near the main entrance. We went for 3 trips with Modou from the centre. The first was to Brufut nature reserve in the early morning where we met up with one of the park rangers. It was magical walking along a country lane when every few steps we were alerted to the sight or sound of beautiful birds with such exotic names such as green wood hoopoe, splendid sunbird and laughing dove. We were even shown a long-tailed nightjar asleep in some undergrowth.
Our second trip was to Kotu Bridge. This was in the late afternoon and very hot. Being near the sewage works it was rather fragrant but such habitat is great for wildlife. We saw white-faced whistling duck, black-headed heron, black winged stilt along with red-billed firefinch and many birds of woodland and open country as we crossed the farmland near the creek.
Our final trip was another early morning excursion to Lamin Lodge where we saw the sunrise over the creek. We took a traditional boat through the mangroves and saw a Goliath heron, the largest of the herons. We walked through farmland and saw a pearl-spotted owlet and several species of kingfisher, including the Malachite Kingfisher. We finished the excursion with a delicious breakfast of local bread, omelettes, little fresh doughnuts with honey, fruit and coffee on the open air top floor of Lamin Lodge; entertained by monkeys who wanted to, and did, share our food.
We couldn't recommend the bird centre trips more highly. Our guide Modou was incredibly knowledgeable and very patient in getting us to see birds that were very often largely hidden in dense foliage. The trips were very inexpensive and any bird lover, experienced or not, would be thrilled by the experience. We saw over 100 species in the two weeks we were in The Gambia and the knowledge we gained on the trips enhanced our bird spotting in the hotel grounds which are themselves like a nature reserve and where we saw over 30 species.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

For many years I have travelled to The Gambia but never written a review of any of the hotels I stay in, so here is the first. The welcoming staff are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble. Bearing in mind that the hotel is in a country in Africa and is a mid range three bird hotel, it's great. The rooms are large and have everything you need, but be aware there are none of the extras such as shower gel or hair dryer or such like.
Not that this is a problem in such an environment, I mention it just so that you will pack some.
There are supermarkets, money changing facilities and good restaurants all around. Don't eat in the obvious places, try the ones in the Gambian Experience free booklet, they are all good.
The laundry was quick and efficient and any little quibbles quickly dealt with.
The beach is very accessible and the wifi in the reception areas is ok, not fabulous, but reliable enough to send emails and such like.
Don't be shy about getting out and about, the Gambians are fabulously friendly and helpful and you will be very glad you left the hotel behind and met some locals.
Enjoy Senegambia, it's a great starting point for lots of fun.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ishbel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just got back from 12 day stay at the Senegambia Beach Hotel Jan 2014 Been before but 15 years ago, just the same great location, rooms are rather tired and could do with refurb and that would make this an even better place to stay. The Rep Lamin was very helpful with any information you needed and all staff are absolutely great, so friendly and always happy. The gardens are still magnificent with birds, lizards and now monkeys, and the vulture feeding everyday is wonderful to watch.The Strip has certainly flourished since last visit. Great restaurants, as we were B & B we couldn't fault the restaurants especially Little Havana ran by Gail who is English and has the cleanest toilets in The Gambia!!! Food was great and a lovely spot overlooking the Strip for just a drink in the day or restaurant in the evening for its great food and lovely waiter Alfons. We also loved Scala, great food again and nice setting in the gardens also Green Mamba, where you have your own little area in the gardens, we had the stir fry here which is really scrummy and the English lady Denise is so friendly who is in charge as was Souleyman the waiter The beach bar Cabana is a lovely restaurant for the evening too, our waiters Samba and Lincoln were good fun and the food great once again. We ate out at these places all the time and had no upset stomachs so would definitely recommend them if you are going B & B .Overall a fantastic holiday at the Senegambia and will be going back again!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main block but on my last visit we had a block in the gardens, which I think are ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

If you are thinking of a holiday to The Gambia then you cannot beat this location. It has a good choice of places to eat,so I would suggest you go on a bed and breakfast basis. The Senagambia hotel is a good base, but don't expect a four star rating. The hotel is fairly basic and in places it is looking tired. But it is clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Depending when you go there can be a shortage of sun beds. I used the quieter of the two pools, which was great. I would certainly say stay at this hotel it is what it is, don't expect luxury.

Room Tip: A garden room would be a good choice, upgrade if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed two weeks at Senegambia beach hotel in january/2014. Hotel is fantastic, i love the garden, monkeys, lizards, birds everything. Location could not be better, its right in the senegambia strip where most of the restaurants are. There is also craft market and few supermarkets where you can buy everything.

Hotel lobby was nice and cozy. Wifi worked well in the lobby area. Hotel restaurants and bars were nice, food was great, breakfast buffet was huge! There were everything you could ever eat in the morning. Dinner buffet was also nice, they change the theme every day. Hotel stuff is unbelievable friendly, so nice people. All the cleaners, cooks, waiters, everybody was so nice and friendly.

Room was very basic (room + toilet/shower), but it was very nice. I think it was recently painted. It was also very clean (didnt see any bugs which is a huge plus!). We had a air condition but we didnt need it, the fan was enough cause in the winter there is so cold in the evenings.

Pool area was great, loved it. Big pool with lots of sun beads, i was so happy to stay there all day long. There was a restaurant too where you could orders drinks, smoothies etc.

You can also change money (bank) in the lobby, we changed all the money there cause their exchange rate was so good.

Going back, thats for sure and definitely booking this same hotel. My vacation was just perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms in the garden are quieter (main building rooms are quite noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MLanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Food was disgusting and also there was a school trip there. They were disturbing and interrupting my holiday. Also I could not sleep all through the night cause tip was too hot and the air conditioning was broke. Not happy at all to be honest!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just got back from a great holiday in the Senegambia beach hotel. First time in Gambia but definitely won't be the last. The hotel was a perfect location at the end of the Strip which is where all the bars and restaurants are located. Food and drink prices are very reasonable in the strip but a bit more expensive in the hotel. Excellent choice of food available and didn't really have a favourite as they were all great value, and added bonus of some restaurants even showing the premiership soccer games live. Hotel grounds are a pleasure to walk round and the wild life is unbelievable. You must visit the monkey park, just a short stroll away, we went back four times during our two weeks. The hotel room was very adequate as were the hotel public areas. We went bed and breakfast which was perfect. Can't really fault any part of the holiday, weather, location, wild life, hotel and particularly the staff and locals were all excellent. We couldn't get any local currency in the UK but it wasn't a problem as the hotel exchange rate was very good, just take a few pound coins as you will need them for tips on the journey from the airport to the hotel. Absolutely loved the experience and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serekunda
0.1 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
155 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
4.2 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senegambia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senegambia Beach Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 2373, Serekunda, Gambia
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Price Range: $59 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Senegambia Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senegambia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Senegambia Beach
Senegambia Beach Kololi
Senegambia Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel Gambia/Serekunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing