We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“A very good holiday”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have just returned from a 21 day holiday and had a wonderful time, the hotel is very clean and right on the beach. The food at the hotel was very good the breakfast had plenty of choice and cooked freshly for you. The evening buffet had a different theme every night and was also very good.We never had any problems with the sunbeds, I gave my towels to the pool attendent (and there was 5 of us) each night and they were on the sunbeds in the morning, a small tip and a thank you goes a long way. The hotel is right on the senegamgia strip and there are many very good restaurants:- Al Rawshe Lebanese and Jade Kylin Chinese restaurant for a meal or the buffet on very Friday for the Lebanese and Sunday for the Chinese.
Scala Restaurant Danish family ruisine, The Green Mamba garden Restaurant,
Jojo's Bistro & Grill House, Chilis International Cuisine and many more are all well worth a visit.
The Thomas Cook rep was very good and all the staff were very good and helpful.

Room Tip: My wife and I stayed in room 201 and had a good view of the pool and the monkeys in the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dewhurst121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    597
    173
    54
    20
See reviews for
214
611
80
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed for 3rd time here and still think its best hotel in Gambia, our room this time was in d block quite a walk from reception but no problem for us the bed was huge and comfy and if it wasnt for the glorious sunshine I wud have had a hard job leaving it! Only 2 plug sockets in whole room tho and 1 was for fridge try taking double plug from home 2 make life easier, ate out every evening found chillis bar ( right outside hotel) excellent with a live musician/ singer every nite plus there free wifi was a lot better than hotels! Didnt do any trips this time as done them all b4 but did do the Gambian beach boogie which was a tandem sky dive and at this point was the most AMAZING experience of my life :)) cost £200 plus £50 if u want it recorded and put on DVD def worth it!! My only other bit of advice is to take plenty of magazines & newspapers as no where sells them the locals beg them from people then resell them but if u give then your papers when u arrive they will let you have nxt day for free. Amazing place can't wait 4 nxt jan x

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorr44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I used to visit the Senegambia hotel once a month (lucky me!) in the 1980's as I was working as Air Crew and we used to stay there. In those days there was only one flight a week to Banjul!

We visited again in January and whilst it was the same- in a good way- the hotel has moved with the times and is a super place to stay for a relaxing week.
The grounds are so lovely- the exotic birds and (greedy!) monkeys are very special.

The rooms are basic by European standards but are spotlessly clean with clean linen and towels every day as well as a TV (BBC World News) and a very effective fridge!

The main pool/pool bar/restaurant is fantastic- right on the beach. The pool attendants will reserve you a bed and mattress in the location of your choice, every day, for a small tip. The pool is spotless and the swim up bar perfect for a cooling Julbrew! The bar staff are great, friendly and entertaining, they remember your order and have it waiting for you! Yummy cocktails as well. The food is varied and fresh- the pizzas are really good.

The hotel is right on the strip with a great selection of restaurants, African, Chinese, Indian, Italian etc... Special mention to Mandelas- great staff, beer and food. Prices are cheap, but please remember to tip generously! The bumsters did not bother us unduly (middle aged couple) you just need to decline their services firmly but politely.

We LOVE The Gambia and its delightful smiley people- can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We were in D (Drongo!) block and although some distance from reception- very quiet and quite near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucksgirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The check in was fast and efficient, porters ready to show us to our room. Didn't like the fact that the patio door on the balcony was the only door as you had to keep your curtains closed all the time as next door could see everything in the room, so was a bit dark, but it was clean, spacious and towels changed every day. Travel plugs needed were European and you need to take a hair dryer. You do get fridge and air conditioning.

The breakfast was lovely, lots of choice, coffee well strong so I had hot chocolate every day ..yum

The grounds are clean and well looked after, we didn't join in the activities but there was things to do. The pools were nice but at the pool near the beach we did get annoyed that one day a group of 4 sun beds right in front of the pool had towels on them BUT we were there the whole day and no one even came and sat on them once!

We had lunch twice but I wasn't impressed. However I did have stomach cramps with the malaria tablets so didn't want a lot to eat anyway so maybe I just couldn't find anything small. Even the sandwich had a slice of bread in the middle so was too big for me... It's would be a plus for some people!

Entertainment in the evening was ok, however because we ate out on the strip we didn't get back in time every day to see it.

Beach is not the best, a lot better beaches in England (although not the weather) but it didn't ruin the holiday, we just didn't go in the sea. You can walk further along but it can be quite sharp and you really need flip flops. We only walked along once because of the hassle from the juice sellers & other sellers on the beach. You can't have a quiet romantic walk along the beach.



Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just returned after 2 weeks, my 17th time there. This time I went on my own. I love this place for friendliness, location and value for money. Rooms are still looking a bit tired and dated, but they are clean. The beach has eroded more since last visit, which is sad and the sand bags used to try and stem the erosion are unsightly but still lots of sunbeds to use. Only negative experience this time was the safe, needed to call them 6 times as safe wouldn't open, although they came to repair it straight away it was very frustrating. Stayed B&B as lots of very good restaurants - and cheaper than hotel. Didn't feel uncomfortable on my own in restaurants, but that could be as been many times before with husband so knew what to expect. Having said that there are a few locals who see an opportunity when they spot a lone female, but a firm no, I don't need an escort works.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaidstoneLoraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkoing
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is a rather big one, situated by the beach. The beautiful
parklike environment is clean and full of exotic birds and a group of monkeys. Very exiting!
The rooms are tidy. The beds are very hard, though.
It has two different pool areas that where there are enough beds for the guests. In the morning time there will be monkeys by the pool area, trying to get some peanuts from the sun loving people. The beach area has a lot of beds as well, but there are high waves almost every day, so not good bathing for children. There is a lot of bumsters at the beach, but staying at the hotel´s beach is safe. Food is good and there is a lot of variety of it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We went in sept 2011 (ta only gives 2012 option) with Arke Fly. Flight was long due to stops in between, but once arrived all was forgotten. We'd never been outside of Europe before, different worlds for sure. The one thing we realised most was the fact that while our lives seem so fortunate, we could learn a thing or two from the Gambians about happiness. Genuine smiles wherever you go.
The Senegambia hotel was nice, staff were great and entertaining, we had so much fun at the pool bar. We were there during low season, only the pool bar and the pizzeria were open and the smaller pool was being renovated. Not that we minded. Our favourite places to eat where Love2 further down the strip (next to the casino) and the Vineyard (just off the strip on the left, 1st floor opposite the petrol station). Great food, lovely people.
Day trips were arranged through locals, we went for a safari in Senegal (best memories, crossing the border already was an adventure in itself), a boat trip through the mangrove and to the crocodiles and Serekunda market. All great ways to enjoy Gambia. Go there, it will put a smile on your face!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JvDuuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serekunda
0.1 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
839 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senegambia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senegambia Beach Hotel

Property: Senegambia Beach Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 2373, Serekunda, Gambia
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senegambia Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senegambia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Senegambia Beach
Senegambia Beach Kololi
Senegambia Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel Gambia/Serekunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing