We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$317
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$60
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sarges Hotel(Kololi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,369)
Filter reviews
1,369 results
Traveler rating
419
671
195
60
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
671
195
60
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvulture feedingquiet poolair conafrican queengreen mambarefurbished roomarch toursswim up barthomas cooksenegambia beachrooms are basictennis courtsmonitor lizardssmall fridgetravel kettlepizza restaurantexchange rate
Filter
Updating list...
642 - 647 of 1,369 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Senegambia Beach Hotel in January, the temperature was over 30 every day. The hotel has amazing grounds and the friendliest staff I have ever met. Everyone through gardeners, cleaners to reception and bar staff were also chatty and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. We (4 adults) had bed and breakfast whilst there and I have never seen so much food for breakfast. The choice was extensive and all very nice. The rooms have air con and the towels were changed every day. Sheets every three days. There are safes in all the rooms as well for a small charge. We were in Block F which was away from the entertainment area and very peaceful. The hotel has a quiet pool and a beach pool with a swim up bar. This pool was more lively although you had to get there earlier to get a lounger. There was always something going on, pool games, bird feeding, bird watching, sports. You couldn't get bored that is for sure. The hotel is in a great location and you can walk to the Senegambia Strip in minutes to all the great restaurants, but be aware that you do get hassled on the way. Gambians are trying to make extra money by selling a wide range of things or playing music. There are tourist police about to try and keep this under control though. Senegambia Beach Hotel is also in a good location for all the trips that are available. I would recommend the Roots River Cruise and Makasutu. We also went on the Senegal and Fathala trip but the travel time takes up most of the day.
Great hotel to beat the January Blues, you couldn't ask for more :-)

Room Tip: I found F block close to everything but quiet at the same time.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KellyT79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have just returned from Sengegambia Beach Hotel, our first trip to the Gambia and were so impressed with the hotel and location. It was a special holiday for my husbands 60th birthday and we went with my daughter and her partner, so picked somewhere quite lively to cater for everyone and we were certainly not disappointed. The hotel is very clean and the staff very helpful and friendly without being intrusive. The breakfast was plentiful and with a good variety to chose from, including a Gambia selection for the more adventurous. We ate out every night and tried a different place each time and can honesty say we didn't have a bad meal but we did have some great evenings laughing and chatting with the staff. We are already talking about going back next year.

Room Tip: WE were in Block F which is a perfect location, close enough to amenities but not so close as to be noisy.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maggi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed January 2013, the hotel is in a great place with its own beach and close to all restaurants shops and the market. The hotel was clean and rooms cleaned every day, our room was very basic but fine. Staff were very friendly and helpful except a couple of very miserable reception staff, the others made up for them :)
The pools were lovely and cleaned every morning, the pool staff were very nice. We had our 2 year old with us and the hotel was ideal for children not a lot of steps and a children's pool. The entertainment was good and different every night. All the food was nice with a good variety.
The resort is not very big but plenty of places to eat and drink. If you want to go on trips they are easy to arrange straight outside the hotel and lots to choose from. We went with Bushwackers and they were really good with our daughter we would use them again. We will return to Gambia and would stay in this hotel again as it was ideal. The only thing I could say that wasn't great was the time you had to wait for a drink during the day one day it took 30 minutes to get my daughter an orange juice as they kept forgetting us and this happened all the time but as long as your laid back u will be ok. There is no time difference between the gambia and the uk which was good.
There are monkeys everywhere in the hotel grounds which is great and my daughter loved them. There are lots of birds and lizards too, look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bobbie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Whether reception, restaurant, poolside - anywhere on the property - the staff couldn't do enough for you and everyone exceptionally friendly. . If you want 5star luxury you'd be disappointed with the rooms, which could do with updating and minor repairs but they were cleaned everyday with fresh towels supplied. They were functional and comfortable - afterall we only slept and showered in them. Ours had pleasent views over the gardens. Food was generally good but the chefs excelled themselves at the Xmas Eve, Xmas Day and New Years Eve gala dinners. So much choice and so much of it - all beautifully cooked and presented. Entertainment throughout was very good, again with extra efforts successfuly employed for the Xmas/New Year festivities. In a great location for having a wander in the evenings with plenty of restaurants/bars to choose from. Choice of beach, regular pool or the quiet pool gave lots of options dependent on mood for sunbathing and relaxing. Entertained daily by the monkeys, birds and mustn't forget to mention Frieda the "quiet pool" resident cat who wandered around checking on her poolside guests. This was one of our best ever holidays. On a final note just as we were leaving for the airport a member of staff rushed out to advise that they had noted an error on our final account and gave back to us thousands of dalasi (ok it was about £35) - how good was that?

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Michael213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We travelled to the Senegambia Beach Hotel in November through The Gambia Experience. The whole holiday was excellent with the hotel comparing very well to a similar resort we visited last year in Granada. The much shorter flight time and same time zone were a real bonus and I would recommend the Gambia to anyone.

The climate in November was ideal (about 30 degrees) for a beach holiday. The grounds of the Senegambia are lovely - beautifully planted and full of wildlife. A huge variety of birds live in the grounds, as do monkeys and the odd monitor lizard, and you don't have to move from your sunbed to watch them if you don't want to. We, being older than some, preferred the pool nearest the hotel, which was very peaceful. There was no problem getting a sunbed here and we were often the only ones in the pool.

The rooms, as everyone says, are quite basic but the beds are very comfortable and the air-con is very efficient and quiet. Cleanliness is excellent and the maids very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was fine although I would have personally appreciated a greater variety of fruit. The egg man made delicious omlettes.
We had lunch by the pool on most days and it was very good and reasonably priced. In the evenings we tried a variety of places within easy walking distance and particularly enjoyed Love2. Not an inspiring name, but the food was really, really good and compared very well to high priced meals in our local restaurants at home. The service here was also excellent.
The evening entertainment in the hotel was of a reasonably good standard - mainly local Gambian musicians, drummers or dancers. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evenings but there was a themed buffet every day (with 3 courses for about £11) which seemed very popular.

We loved the "Lazy Day" river trip and would highly recommend the "Early Bird" bird watching trip. For the bird watching you do need to be physically quite able as it involves balancing your way into a dugout canoe, which was highly precarious! Having a full English breakfast served at the Mandina Lodges in the forest was magical.

All in all a very good trip. Yes. you do get hassled and they need to address this more, but the Gambians are a very friendly and enthusiastic people who are trying hard to make a living in a very poor country. Try to get out and meet people beyond the tourist strip if you can.We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AnneandDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews