We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bungalow Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dated.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from ten days here and my first trip to The Gambia. Found my single room to be very basic and in need of some major refurb. Having said that it was clean and bug free . Breakfast was already in my fridge with fresh bread every day, waited two days for more toilet rolls and they ran out of clean towels on one occasion, apparently the washers were broken! Staff were lovely but even more persistent than the bumsters, they all want help in one way or another and to be honest it got on my nerves. Will I go back, maybe. One more thing, only one socket in my room.

Room Tip: Only experienced the singe apartment but apparently some of the bigger ones are ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
15
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seinajoki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Hotel is pretty old and therefore looks a little tired. But it's very clean and they have all the basic things.

Location is great, it is on the beach: you can walk from the hotel gate right into the ocean. We didn't do that a lot, because they said that currents are strong.

You can make breakfast and meals in your room or eat in the restaurant (we ate breakfast in the room, and especially sugar gathered ants in the kitchen, a lot of them!!) Usually we took a taxi and went to a different restaurants for dinner in the evenign.

We had a group of three familys, also kids around ten years. We had the same big taxi (for about 10 people) that took us from the hotel in the morning and he was with us the hole day. We went to Paradise beach, Monkey park, National Park in Senegal (ferry trip was wild, at least!!!) and some sight seeing too.

My brother stayed a few day longer with his family. In their last day there they cought a snake, big one, python perhaps, only about 800 meters from our hotel. It took 5 men to hold that snake. So, it is Africa, though the hotel area looks so nice and beautiful!

It was warm and we had fun. We stayed at the hotel in february 2011.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HHUV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I've stayed here on and off since 1998. Great grounds. I love the fact that we can cook our own meals in the apartment. Very clean. old fashioned late 1950s decor. I agree you should bring your own teabags...Dont like the way the beds are made ...really annoying peculiar blanket and sheet folds. Bathroom very clean. The odd harmless tiny insect or mini salamander crept into the bathroom but there were absolutely no cockroaches or mozzies. Grounds are great and the staff are really lovely especially Mr Sillah at reception. A good quiet security conscious hotel for people who aren't keen on loads of excitement and noise. Atlantic Ocean sound is fab. Mainly Scandinavian visitors, not so many English and not so many families with children (which was great as there wasnt the sound of piercing irritating childrens screams and quarrels by the pool etc...) you do need the air conditioner though as it is hot in the rooms.....

Room Tip: go for rooms further away from reception for more privacy BB's doesnt charge a single supplemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chantal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

bb is a lovely hotel,on our first visit in 2008,we were a little shocked by how basic it was,in the uk it would probably have 1 * rating,but we warmed to the place and soon realisedd that in a 3rd world country this was luxuary,we had 2 little single beds on metal legs,however very comfy.
the bathroom is basic but clean and the drains dont smell or block.
the kitchen is very dated,just 2 cooker rings,no oven,utilities are basic,1 small frying pan,2 saucepans,a couple of utensils.
the rooms are cleaned daily and fresh bread left on your balcony table every morning,once a week the fridge is stocked with milk,jam,butter,tinned meat and orange juice.
we did have 2 cockroaches,but have stayed their 3 times since and no bugs,you can get the room cleaner to spray and the bugs stay away.
The restaurant food,for me is not great,i found the food bland,and being vegatarian there was no food for me to eat!!!
eveing entertainment was a good effort,all in all a plesant stay.

Room Tip: corner as sea balconys. pay a small fee and get room with air con,else can be stuffy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mamdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed 14 nights in Bungalow Beach. We had been a bit worried about the small number of reviews of BB (as it is known) however on arrival we suspect that this is more because the majority of guests appear to be from outside English speaking countries - mainly Scandinavian.

This was a wonderful relaxing holiday as we had wanted. The location is superb - right on the beach (although tastefully screened by palm trees). We had a seaview apartment on the first floor. The sea view, glimpsed through said palm trees was wonderful, and the proximity to the ocean may have accounted for the fact that we did not see one mosquito. The ocean waves rolled in all day and night - a bit noisy at times but we got used to it - if you live near a motorway it will be like home.

The hotel is functional and is probably showing its age. It is clean and newly painted, but some of the fittings in the apartment could be updated. There is a sitting, kitchen/dining room, bedroom and bathroom (shower only). The rooms are of a good size but the telephone didn't work, the airconditioning was disconnected, the fridge door didn't close properly (of main concern as we couldn't make ice from our bottled water), no television. The balcony is actually a walkway to all apartments on that level, so they're not private and everyone walking by has to either greet you or ignore you. While there is a light on the outside walls, there should also be a light over the door as without a torch you couldn't see where the lock was. We saw a lot of people had brought candles for evening meals and drinks on the terrace. We brought an exension lead with extra sockets to cope with all our additional electrics. The apartment we had used 2 pin plugs so you'll need an adaptor for UK/Irish plugs.

The staff in general were friendly and helpful - especially our 'cleaning boy' as he insisted on calling himself. He kept the apartment really clean and even washed the breakfast dishes which we hadn't expected.

The food in the hotel was ok, but not the best. The weekly breakfast 'hamper' consisted of 2 tins of coffee,14 eggs, a jar of jam, 2 tins of spam (ie chicken luncheon meat), two packets of spreadable cheese (triangles), butter, UHT milk. Each day two fresh baguettes were delivered. While there are a number of mini markets close by, the amount of fresh food was limited, and relatively pricy. It is possible to buy fresh fruit from the fruit ladies on the beach (again not cheap - 150 dalassis for a plate - approximately €4) or for the adventurous, a trip to the market but as this would involve a taxi ride, and all the attendant hassle we didn't bother. We ate in the hotel once or twice, but the menu is limited and the restaurants outside are far better (or those in the Senegambia strip - taxi ride approx €10 return). We'd recommend The Captain's table (a little bit more class); the Boss Lady (Gambian good), Veejay's (Indian), Ali Baba's (a bit of everything).

We had been warned about the bumsters so we were prepared - it was a bit much at times to have all the attention - hallooo, how are youuuu, whats your names, I want to be your friend.... on the beach, on the road outside. But we found a firm but polite, thank you we're fine, ignore the requests for email addressess, say we love the Gambia, thank you, no we don't want a taxi, no we don't want to go fishing, no we don't want any fruit, no we don't.... Most of the time, we were left alone, once or twice we had to say 'we would like to walk on our own, please leave us alone' - but even still people were charming and never aggressive (even if persistent). One tip is not to say 'maybe later' as they take this as a commitment and will be there, whenever later occurs, to say you promised...

There is a small craft shop in the grounds which was actually good value and had fixed prices which turned out to be on a par with prices we'd paid in the market after long and painful bargaining. Another nice feature is that the hotel invites stall holders from the market to sell their wares a few days a week - so they come to you.

All in all we'd recommend this hotel for families and couples and individuals who want to have a relaxing holiday. We met some people who had come out on their own and had enjoyed the experience. BB was relatively quiet (although most nights there was drumming on the beach). There's a good swimming pool (the sea is very dangerous and most days not suitable for swimming); there's wifi and an internet cafe - ask for what deals are available & don't just sign up for the hourly rate which is €3 approx. The gardens are lovely and there is a bar on the beach front, with sunbeds. It's easy to get around the rest of Gambia as there are tours, and the taxis will go wherever you want. For throbbing nightlife go to Senegambia strip - great fun to visit and then get back to the relative tranquility...

For those seeking a more generic European type hotel the Kombo beach beside BB is a nice place to stroll into for cocktails and football TV etc - but we'd prefer to stay in BB again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Taistil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

Returned to Sweden after a 3 week stay at BB Hotel. This was our 12th visit to this wonderful hotel.

We can really recommed BB. Very, very close to the beach, you can lay by the pool or in the beautiful garden. Eat at the restaurang or cook in your appartment.

If you need a brilliant and very nice tourist taxi driver for your trips, ask for Buba Sonko outside BB.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BEEups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales_Moi1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Lovely hotel, great staff but the most persistent bumsters I've known in the Gambia and I've been there 4 times! constantly at the gate day and night, afraid I wouldnt go again becayse of this.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
7 Thank Wales_Moi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Serekunda hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serekunda
2.0 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
6.2 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalow Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow Beach Hotel

Property: Bungalow Beach Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 2637, Serekunda, Gambia
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bungalow Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Jovago.com, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Bungalow Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalow Beach Hotel Gambia/Serekunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing