We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casacarla(Serekunda)(Great Value!)
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Sanchaba Yellow Apartments(Kololi)(Great Value!)
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$54
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Boboi Beach Lodge(Kololi)(Great Value!)
$28
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$46
$32
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveler rating
390
382
89
32
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
382
89
32
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomhappy hourgambia experiencecasa fernandogarden roomhalf boardpool bargardens are beautifulmonitor lizardssecurity staffbars and restaurantscraft marketa bit tirednew managementafrican queenarch toursexchange rate
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 910 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Loved the holiday and local people, definitely eat out, we had room near reception don't recommend this, better off in the gardens, great to see the animals walking round freely and looked after by the gardeners, would go back again, all the staff are great, don't forget the gardeners when tipping, they get forgotten and work hard in there wellies. don't worry about taking money out with you, loads of places just outside of hotel to change up, cash is best option, also supermarkets, & chemists and restaurants so all you need on the doorstep.

Room Tip: ground floor garden rooma
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolie951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Decided to stay here for our holiday instead of the hotel next door (The Senegambia).
Staff are friendly and polite, grounds are good, spacious garden. Breakfast is good, lots to choose from.
Guests leaving towels on sunbeds to bagsy them is annoying, Soon moved them off!
All in all a decent hotel. Defo not a 5 star though.
Reception is far from entrance, our room was next to busy Bar. Didn't even have a Balcony! Had nice view of a wall mind! Oh and a stair case!

Would I stay here again? No. I'd stay at The Senegambia, better grounds, reception, shops, rooms, vulture feeding. Spent most of our time at this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Tourholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Was recommended to this hotel last year and it did not disappoint, so much so, that we have booked again and fly out on the 4th April for a week. Beautiful gardens, fabulous staff, good varied food, we stayed in a first floor corner room which had lovely views over the garden and beach. The rooms are not 5 star standard as we know it, but clean, well equipped and spacious enough for us with a large wrap around balcony and lovely and quiet. Booked a similar room this time and can't wait to get the amazing African sun on my body!! The only draw back with this hotel is the beach which is rapidly disappearing, but the hotel has such beautiful large gardens with plenty of sunbeds, I didn't miss the beach at all even though I always considered myself to be a bit of a 'beach bum'. Gambia, here we come.

Room Tip: A first floor corner room away from the main restaurant.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

It would be churlish to give this hotel a poor review, as quite clearly many guests return year after year and love the place and staff. It's built in a local style, with only two stories, and accommodation blocks scattered through the extensive gardens.
Unfortunately, our bathroom looked as if it was the original from 20 odd years ago, when the hotel opened, and was in dire need of new tiling and plumbing. Not what you expect from a 5 star hotel. The bedroom was fine, but pillows lumpy and poor quality.
We couldn't help the feeling on arrival that we had strayed into a genteel old people's home, as the majority of guests during our stay were 60+, and the activities on offer reflected the gentle mood, eg croquet on the lawn, birdwatching tour of the garden, afternoon tea on the verandah. The location was excellent; in the heart of Kololi, with a good choice of bars and restaurants for evening meal. There is a sharp contrast between the manicured lawns of the hotel, where peacocks strut, and the rubble and dust outside the resort walls. But that's Africa!

Room Tip: The ground floor superior rooms give you more chance to relax in the sun on your own lounger, if you don't want to go to the pool
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Arrived back in the UK yesterday after a most enjoyable holiday. I can only really repeat what has been said on most previous reviews. The staff and the surroundings are first rate, and the beach erosion is only a minor inconvenience. We ate out most nights and never had a bad meal.We did'nt try the hotel buffets, but did enjoy the Shikra restaurant.(take a sweater) The wildlife in the grounds was always of great interest. No it is not a 5star hotel, but it is clean and the plus points more than make up for this. Perhaps the major plus from our point of view, after years of misery and hassle at GOA airport is the relaxed smiley help full staff at Banjul, it can be a bit chaotic but any body who has queued for hours at Dabolim knows what I'm talking about.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northantsshiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews