We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - No Beach - Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - No Beach - Perfect Location”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Gardens:
Best hotel asset. Trees, animals, fields,... perfect.

Room:
We stayed at Preium Garden - Good size, look tired.

Food:
Good quality.
Fabolous breakfast.
If you are in half of full board you have to pay drinks

Service:
People is friendly
People at reception need to improve

Beach:
Better if they eliminate beach from hotel name. The beach is almost non existant. Very eroded.

Location:
Second best asset.
At the streets next to the hotel you have everything you need.
Near Monkey Park. Near Serekunda Market,... near everywhere.

Others:
Very quiet hotel, good mood.
No kids club.
Live music every evening at the pool and during dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictorSala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    346
    81
    30
    14
See reviews for
93
496
29
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our third visit to the Kairaba and we had a very relaxing holiday.We found the staff to be friendly and helpful.Our room was of a good standard but getting in and out of the shower can be risky ! The pool area is a great place to spend the day as the beach is fast eroding and full of long lost friends

Room Tip: sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel will be absolutely fine for most of people. By international standards it would probably be a low 4*, but if you want to holiday in the Gambia it is probably one of the better ones (based on perception rather than fact)

Positives
- hotel and grounds are generally clean and tidy
- staff are generally friendly and helpful
- choice for locations for sunbathing - pool, beach or garden. Plenty of beds and mattresses are comfy. A small tip each day should secure you're beds for the duration of your stay.
- food overall is good. The half board buffet is varied each night. There is a reasonable choice for breakfast, but it is exactly the same each day.
- free WiFi in the reception and restaurant areas, although occasionally struggles to connect. Tip, if there's a problem, you can go into the hotel next door.
- free afternoon tea/coffee/cake
- we stayed in a superior deluxe room - not sure I would have wanted to be in a lower classification.
- very good air con in the room
- drinks aren't particularly expensive for a hotel - £2 for a pint of beer.

Areas for improvement:
- More variation between breakfast each day
- rooms are fine, but would benefit from being freshened up / modernised
- the pool table is only available during the day - we would prefer to play in evening

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaz_n_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

As this was our 1st visit to the Gambia, we didnt know what to expect at all. Booked through Thomas Cook and were given a standard room in the car park which felt like we were completely isolated and not part of the hotel at at all. However, we paid for an upgrade and were moved to room 221 which had a fantastic sea view. Not blaming hotel for this, but if booking through Thomas Cook, beware !!!! Room was spacious and extremely clean but slightly dated. Grounds were gorgeous and our gardener was wonderful. Always entertaining and smiling, a pleasure to talk to. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice every day and always fresh. Shame about the erosion on the beach, but not the fault of the hotel, just the force of the Atlantic ocean !!! A few minutes either side of the hotel and the beach stretches for miles, with not much to spoil it. Staff were all very friendly and polite. As we had booked bed and breakfast, we didn't eat at the hotel in the evening but visited the strip every evening where there were plenty of restaurants to choose from, all excellent value and good. Our favourites being, Jo-Jo's and Paradiso . We had a fantastic holiday and will definately return to this hotel and the Gambia again. Wish we had brought some sunshine back with us !!!

Room Tip: Never book a standard room. View from room 221 excellent and so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzyandgareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a standard room (behind reception) twin beds, enough wardrobe & drawer space, tv, tea & coffee making facilities & small fridge, the only fault I can pick is that the bathroom was quite small & needed sprucing up a little, but still did its job, the air con was efficient, small balcony, which didn't bother us because we never sat on it. The pool area was our favourite place, very peaceful & relaxing, lovely comfy beds & wall to wall sunshine 37 degrees. There's a good choice of snacks & very tasty indeed, washed down with ice cold julbrew, we didn't even have to move from our beds if we didn't want to, the waiters/bar/pool staff are all very friendly & helpful. Plenty of room on the beach but unfortunately its eroding away & it looks a little unsightly which is such a shame, beautifully kept gardens. Buffet breakfast with plenty to chose from, cooking station for eggs cooked to perfection, as much tea & coffee that you wanted, my only complaint was that the water wasn't boiling hot, but I'm a little picky. Three very good restaurants & a pub within the grounds, Gambia's one of our favourite places now & we'll definitely be going back year after year, can't wait, loved it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strassen, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I was at the Kairaba just for a short night day on a highly paced business trip. So, my information is partial and subject to these conditions.

- staff is definitely kind and helpful (not really efficient though, they gave my the key and room number of an occupied room)
- location is excellent, right on the beach and roughly mid way between the airport and Banjul
- area looks secured, but heavily guarded - which means theat there is a need for security

On the bad side:

- the hotel is real mass tourist thing (with all that comes along)
- romms are old and run down (in the 80s that may have looked good)
- quite expensive for what it is (150 USD per night negotiated prize)
- no wifi in the rooms

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pabo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Excellent service, very professional, friendly and helpful.
Lovely rooms of a good size, comfortable, nicely decorated, with everything working, and above all clean. We have stayed at hotels in UK/Europe with 5 stars that are much more outdated and tired than this, and this is Africa, not Europe, Dubai or New York.
Choice of places to relax at the hotel - calm tranquil pool-side, gorgeous green grassy garden with flowering shrubberies and variety of trees, white-sand beach. Drinks and snacks service to all these. Yes there has been some erosion of the beach, but there's enough space, it's not crowded, and you can still see the sea even when the tide is out!
We could wander directly out of our room across our terrace to our loungers right there.
We both used the "spa", having a very relaxing massage - twice.
We loved going out and enjoying the local restaurants. We loved the smily local people, and found that it can be rewarding to accept the invitation to patronise some random person's beach bar, to share their plans, hopes and ambitions, see the results of their hard work, and have a few laughs with them.
Our 7th time in The Gambia, 1st at the Kairaba, and we wish we'd switched years ago from the hotel we used to use. After 14 years we're still Gambia fans - less than 6 hours flight, no jet lag, 30C plus, low humidity, wall-to-wall blue sky and sunshine, and all in UK midwinter.

Room Tip: Only 2 floors: upstairs you can see the sea, downstairs your own terrace just extends directly into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serekunda
0.1 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Kololi
151 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
2.0 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kairaba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kairaba Beach Hotel

Property: Kairaba Beach Hotel
Address: 390 PMB, Serekunda, Gambia
Phone Number:
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Serekunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kairaba Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This premier 5-star hotel in The Gambia is not one to sit on its laurels but has continued to build on its reputation over the years. Located on the idyllic, sprawling golden sandy coastline of the magnificent Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kairaba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kairaba Beach
Kairaba Beach Serekunda
Kairaba Beach Hotel Gambia/Serekunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing