We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sarges Hotel(Kololi)
$72
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$99
$93
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (902)
Filter reviews
902 results
Traveler rating
387
379
88
31
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
379
88
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomhappy hourgambia experiencecasa fernandogarden roomhalf boardpool bargardens are beautifulmonitor lizardssecurity staffbars and restaurantscraft marketa bit tirednew managementafrican queenarch toursexchange rate
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
430 - 435 of 902 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We chose The Gambia as we wanted some winter sunshine without travelling too far and chose the Kairaba Beach Hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor. In summary we got exactly what we expected and had a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable holiday. As others before us have mentioned The Kairaba is not 5 star by European standards, but going to a third world country I didn't expect that - so was not disappointed. We did try to upgrade on arrival, but as we arrived on Christmas Eve the place was fully booked, so we were unable to. However, although our standard room was quite small, a bit dated and with not much of a view - it was fine for the purpose and very clean. We got a lovely christmas hamper delivered by the hotel, which was a nice touch. The best bits about the hotel were the amasing and very friendly staff and fantastic breakfasts (we were only B&B) The strip has many good restaurants for dining out and our group (of 4) all voted Jo Jo's as our favourite (the butterfish was lovely) We also took a taxi to the Clay Oven in Fajara (cost 500d) one night and had a lovely Indian meal there - it feels like it's in the middle of nowhere but the setting is lovely and if you like Indian food is definately worth a visit. A tip for first time visitors to The Gambia, don't change your money before you go, the taxis from the airport all accept English money and you get a much better rate of exchange on the strip (a minutes walk from the hotel). Although we went purely to relax we did take a short taxi ride to Serrukunda market one day, which gave us a good insight into what The Gambia is really like. If like us you're aim is winter sunshine and relaxation, I recommend this place to you

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerylPinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was our first visit to the Gambia and the Kairaba lived up to expectations. We had booked a superior deluxe room well over a year ago but were given a deluxe room instead. Unfortunately we were unable to change until the next day because there were none available. This was our only quibble but it was rectified and we enjoyed our week. The beach is not great, suffering serious erosion problems, but we are not big beach people and enjoyed sunbathing and watching the peacocks, birds and monkeys from the comfort of a sunbed in the beautiful gardens. The staff are friendly and helpful and when we mentioned that we had no hot water, it was quickly sorted. The food was good and we especially enjoyed the buffet dinner by the pool area. Breakfasts were good offering a variety of food, ranging from full 'English' with eggs cooked according to your liking. Pancakes with various fillings, continental breakfasts, fresh fruit, cereals, toast (yes they do need a new toaster or even two). The hotel is ideally placed next to the Strip and having booked b and b basis, we were able to sample a few of the restaurants nearby. They are all within easy walking and good value, especially when accompanied with one or two Julbrew! Would we come back? Yes we would, we loved the friendliness of the people, learned to say 'No thanks' to the bumsters and found the Kairaba good value for money. Shame about the Thomas Cook flights. Gambia Experience please take note!

Room Tip: Superior deluxe rooms are large and bright with wrap around balcony
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just experience my first holiday in Gambia, and staying at the Kairaba made our week the best holiday, the most friendliest staff, the gardens and wild life is wonderful. We stayed in a deluxe room, room spotless, bathroom a little tied but nothing you could complain about, plenty of hot water, clean towels, we stayed Bed and Breakfast, bit busy breakfast time and they do really need a new toaster. Out on the strip at night is so wonderful and safe, met so many lovely Locals, and had some of the best food and not expensive, would I go back again YES

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was a return trip for us to the Kairaba, having had such a wonderful holiday there two years ago. It got off to a great start when we were told that we had been upgraded to the Deluxe room and we could not have been happier with our room, which had dual aspect balconies, both looking out onto the sea. The room was great and the grounds of the hotel were lush and green. Palm trees grow throughout and it gets regular visits of monkeys from the next door forest, not to forget the resident family of peacocks who wander the hotel gardens all day. Every aspect of the service and the ambiance of the place is great. The only slight quibble is that the hot water can be a bit sporadic at peak shower time (i.e. post beach and pre dinner) so it would not do any harm to update the plumbing a bit. That said we would not hesitate to go back to the Kairaba as it is such a great place to unwind and beat the British winter.

Room Tip: Would recommend an upstairs room in block 1 or 2 - quiet and with sea views.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RevPaulWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We booked our holiday via Thomas Cook. The room we had was spacious and clean. We had a TV with English channels on in the room and a fridge. The bathroom was spacious. The gardens at this hotel were lovely and on a number of days we had loungers placed here rather than by the pool or facing the beach. The pool looked lovely but i have to admit it was too cold for me. It is not heated which sort of makes sense i suppose and i am a wimp. The beach area was always busy and a preferred option sadly the location of the hotel is on the worst part of the beach as this area is suffering from erosion and as a consequence the hotel have put up big concrete slabs. If you walk in either direction away from the beach it does get better. We walked 2.5 hours one way to one end of the beach and then about 1.5 hours the other way on another day.

We took the bed and breakfast option - the breakfasts could not be faulted they were great. Outside of the hotel are a number of restaurants. The best meal we had was at the Jewel Of India.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are poor upgrade if possible.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JEM069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews