We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice setting; Good rooms; Eat local dishes rather than Western.”
Review of Roha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Roha Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Lalibela
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice setting; Good rooms; Eat local dishes rather than Western.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Roha is an earlier name for Lalibella, and this hotel is one of the earlier hotels in Lalibella. Checking in was easy and our room was fine with a comfortable bed, plenty of room, and plumbing that was efficient even if not looking too modern. It is very conveniently located for the famous monolithic Churches but far enough away from the central area to be quiet and relaxing. The staff were very helpful friendly and polite, and the wifi was relatively fast and problem free. The architecture of the building is very good and the restaurant and bar areas have a good feel to them.
Other reviewers mentioned the food, and didn't rate it at all with a menu offering a limited choice. The fixed price menu was offered first, but there was another menu which had greater choice, particularly of Ethiopian food. I wish I had chosen from this menu as the food that was served to another couple looked much better than the food we chose from the set menu. After this at the next two stops I chose to eat local dishes and it was a much better experience.
We only stayed one night and had an early start to get to the airport for the flight to Gondar. Unlike others when we went down for breakfast at 6.00 there was staff and food available, though the food choices were very limited.
Overall it was a satisfactory overnight stay without having any 'wow; factor. It is right in Lalibella unlike Mountain View and this alone makes it worth staying at again.

Room Tip: Ask for the A la Carte menu and try the local dishes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expatnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    45
    31
    9
    3
See reviews for
7
23
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The suggestion book had only one comment "improve breakfast" but I would expand this to improve all meals. Ate at the restaurant on the first night and had a choice of spaghetti and tomato sauce or cheeseburger. Then for breakfast went down at 6 am and there was nothing ready, then next day 6.15 and still not ready. Serve buffet of eggs, cold toast, orange cordial and crepes.

Not many places nearby to go out of hotel.

Good points: rooms very quiet and comfortable. Wifi available in the rooms and hot water available all day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tumbuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lalibela hotels

Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Bad! so bad! I almost gagged from the smell of my pasta, could not even taste it.
Other than that the rooms were comfy and cozy, clean, and warm. Location was Okay, and we could walk from the hotel to the rock hewn churches. Just don't eat the food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocWazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is located in the lower part of Lalibela so doesnt have the superb views of hotels like the Mountain View. It is about fifteen minutes walk from the Rock Churches along a road with a variety of interesting shops (including a great art shop) and a crowd of friendly young people asking for pens, money and educational sponsorship.

I liked the modern architecture of the communal areas with the big spaces with high ceilings, fusing with a more intimate bar area. I liked the concrete beams and geometric layout. I found the staff all very friendly and helpful although things work out at their own pace and it doesnt do to be too rushed.

The rooms were adequate, clean, reasonably comfortable. The electricity worked during our stay but the hot water was intermittent, so you need to sieze the opportunity when it flows well. Having said that, providing water at all at 2600m in an arid area in the dry season is a miracle.

This is fine place to use as a base whilst viewing this fascinating part of Ethiopia. However, when I go back I will stay at the Mountain View Hotel which we visited for a drink and has the most spectacular views you can imagine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asclepios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This is my second week in Ethiopia. I spent a whole week in Debre Zeit in a small cheap hotel and the difference with this medium high price hotel like Roha are not remarkable. The room is clean and it's location is close to the churches but there are plenty of hotels in this area. The main problem is that the desk and main staff in the restaurant are rude and pretty useless. Our room had a water problem from the beginning that was not attended. You ask for help, they ignore you. By the way no one would be around after 9 : 30 pm. The dude in the desk left without giving us any solution or answer about our concerns. Overall stay somewhere else there are plenty of hotels around.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GozandoAndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This is not a five star hotel, but you are in the heart of Ethiopia! I had no problem with hot water, and the room was comfortable and adequate. The food was mostly good, sometimes could only be classed as ok, but always acceptable. Staff were always pleasant and helpful. The location is good. Of all the hotels visited in Ethiopia this one had by far the best shop, if you see something you like here, buy it, you quite possibly won't find it anywhere else. Check out the sunset from the hotel roof, fabulous!





Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank womaninseat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel must've been awesome back in the days of the jet set. The architecture and decoration are great. However, it hasn't been maintained well and is now a shadow of its former glory. Sometimes you have only hot water and sometimes only cold water, but not both at the same time; and the water pressure is really low, so expect to shower in a drizzle. The food is good once you insist to look at their available Ethiopian dishes, not the bland Hungarian food that they offer to you right away as you sit at your table. Their wifi is spotty at best. There's a nice spot to look at the sunset and the stars, it's a modern addition to their west wing, which consists of a flimsy flight of stairs that bring you to the roof. Be prepared to be harassed by hustlers as soon as you walk out of the gate, too bad because this town seemed very inviting for taking walks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPDMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lalibela
0.0 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 11 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain View Hotel
Mountain View Hotel
#4 of 11 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Goha Hotel
Goha Hotel
#1 of 14 in Gonder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Lal Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Lalibela
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taye Belay Hotel
Taye Belay Hotel
#6 of 14 in Gonder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roha Hotel

Property: Roha Hotel
Address: Lalibela, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Lalibela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roha Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Jovago.com and Travelocity so you can book your Roha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roha Hotel Lalibela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing