We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUNNING VIEWS- RELIABLE - COMFORTABLE - GREAT SEVICE”
Review of Jerusalem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jerusalem Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Lalibela B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This smallish hotel provides a wonderful haven in this fascinating mountain town of UNESCO rated churches. My room was huge, clean and came with a stunning view of The Lasta mountains. To plan my visit I needed to go no further than the front desk. Hop was to become my highly knowledgeable guide for the next few days - I even met his family in a mountain village.
The restaurant provided a reasonable (for Ethiopia) variety of well-prepared food and the young an energetice staff were always unfailingly helpful and willing to go the extra mile.
Whilst not a 5 star place I would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RENTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 114 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were surprised of how friendly the service was and how impressive the views were from our hotel room. Also the restaurant turned out to be really good. Facilities were not quite western standards, but everything worked well. Rooms were clean and the atmosphere was very relaxed. We also found a very good guide through the hotel (Fikru Woldegiorgis).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perttu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is not a luxury hotel by international standards. But by Northern Ethiopian standards it is a very nice hotel indeed - A league above the government run Ghion chain hotels.
The rooms are fairly old fashioned and basic but roomy, clean and have a great view. The bathroom is large with plenty of hot water. The hotel has its own compound and located in a pleasant part of town not far from the centre. The restaurant offers a good choice (both Ethiopian and international) food and all is cooked to order. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
A small, well run hotel, definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a small hotel with restaurant, located on a sunny hillside to one side of town. The rooms are very large with balconies and spectacular views. Our room on the top floor was clean and quiet. I could sit on the balcony and unobtrusively watch life unfold in the local residential compounds just downhill. We had plenty of hot water in the bathroom, although the design of the shower is such that the entire bathroom was flooded after each shower (I spent a long time squeegee-ing water into the central floor drain with my bare feet after each shower and used my own pack towel as a door mat outside the bathroom). The beds (a double and a twin) were comfortable. Our room came with breakfast, which is not a buffet but ordered from the menu and, hence, a bit slow in the AM. The restaurant is a separate, round stone building in the center of the hotel compound. It was not very busy at any time during our stay but the food was adequate and servings were generous. Staff was very friendly and spoke good English. Laundry service is available. The hotel is a reasonable walking distance from shopping areas and many of the church sites for someone in reasonable physical shape and somewhat acclimatized to the altitude. However, children harassed us for money and pens every time we set foot out of the hotel. Photographs already posted on this site accurately reflect what we saw during our stay.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms will have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivineMissMaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

I spent a night there; the receptionist was very kind and helpful. You can use Visa and Mastercard. The room is clean but you need mosquitoe net for a good sleep. The price is fair. The view of the surrounding from the room is awesome, especially the sunset.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Room was fairly bare, but clean with 2 single beds and a night table. When you had a shower the bathroom got wet. Rooms on the upper floor have a view. Staff were helpful and friendly. To have laundry done is very inexpensive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gayemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Meals, including a complementary breakfast, are served in Bethlehem Hall, a circular building separate from the sleeping quarters. In this most Christian city, just about everything is named for something in historic Palestine.

The staff is friendly and accommodating.

My room was the smallest I've occupied since Tokyo. It was also cold at night. I've yet to stay in an Ethiopian hotel -- even the Addis Hilton -- that has central heating.

Room Tip: As for a room overseeing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
19.1 mi away
Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
#5 of 10 in Lalibela
185 reviews
20 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#2 of 10 in Lalibela
309 reviews
19.1 mi away
Tukul Village
Tukul Village
#3 of 10 in Lalibela
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Lalibela Hotel
Lalibela Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lalibela
68 reviews
19.9 mi away
Top Twelve Hotel - Lalibela
0 mi away
No photo provided
Blu lal Hotel
#17 of 21 in Lalibela
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Hotel

Address: Lalibela 00251, Ethiopia (Formerly Jerusalem Guest House)
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lalibela
Price Range: $38 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing