We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most amazing views ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Top Twelve Hotel - Lalibela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Top Twelve Hotel - Lalibela
Ranked #1 of 18 Lalibela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Most amazing views ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Nice little hotel with bright decorations and an intimate atmosphere. The rooms were simple but with a local feel, and I don't think I've ever had a balcony with such spectacular views! The wifi worked quite well and we could sit in the afternoon sun on the balcony and check our emails while enjoying the landscape below us. Great way to relax after walking around the famous churches all morning! Really friendly staff and very nice meals, loved the super fresh eggs for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise_CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    55
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
69
37
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have had a wonderful stay in top 12 with my family. The room was so spacious and effortlessly accommodated us, two kids, my wife and myself. The friendly manager will always be remembered. It was neat, quiet, and with lovely view behind the rooms.

Belachew

Room Tip: Just know that there is no swimming pool and fitness centre. The up and down walking that follows th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belachew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I spent several nights at this excellent little hotel in April. Its charming rooms - complete with bed covers designed and sewn by the Manager's wife and rustic leather and timber furniture - look straight down a majestic valley. One day there was heavy rainfall. I stood on my balcony wrapped in a blanket watching the rain fall hundreds of metres into the valley below: I am not sure how a deity might view the world, but I felt part of something pretty special that afternoon.
The bathroom is bright and clean, great shower and plenty of hot water. Location of the hotel is in a quiet part of the town - about a 20-minute walk from the UNESCO World Heritage site - and about five minutes to Ben Ababa restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallomega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in two hotels in lalibela. this was by far the better. lovely owner/host. Great breakfast, fresh herb tea, bedspreads sewn by his wife, and fabulous views. it's clean, safe, quiet and just lovely. also very close to Ben ababa - great restaurant. It's not fancy but it doesn't need to be. the location and owner make it. Stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptarmigan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at Top Twelve Hotel for three nights for our trip to Laibella. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated with comfortable, clean beds and good linens. There is hot water in the rooms all the time, and the hotel faces a beautiful valley. All rooms have a big balcony with comfortable seats to enjoy the view. Breakfast is included in the rate and is very generous, but simple. For lunch and dinner the hotel restaurant is overpriced and doesn’t serve any Ethiopian food. A choice of Ethiopian for breakfast or dinner would be nice, as sometimes it is nice to eat in and not have to go out for every meal. The owner provided us with an excellent guide, Tadesse Sefiw who guided us for the full day of churches and then for a half day trip to the Yemirhane Kristos church about an hour and half’s drive from the town. The hotel, and all hotels on this side of town, is about a 20 minute walk up and down a lot of hills to the tourist information center where you buy tickets and the churches. Its 50 USD for all of the churches and the museum and it’s good for four days. Walking around the town you will be followed by children and adults asking for money, pens, candy etc. This is usually harmless, but we were disappointed that a staff member of the hotel asked us for some of our clothing items as you get asked for things all day when you are out. Another great plus is that the Top Twelve hotel is 7 minutes walking to the Ben Abeba restaurant which serves Ethiopian, Scottish and International food and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is better to be prepared and pay your hotel bill in cash as the credit card machine isn’t usually working; there are 2 ATM’s in the center which we were able to use.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lobby and dining area are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at Top Twelve for 3 nights in January. We were recommended it by a friend who told us it was brand new, a great location and was great value. All of this was true!
We loved our room, there was a huge bed and we had a view that took our breath away each time we stepped on to the balcony.
The owner, Eshetu, was really friendly and nothing was too much to ask. He also organised us a great guide (Zewoud) who was amazingly knowledgable and a great personality.
Breakfast is simple and the restaurant was not up and running fully so we ate other meals out. The toast and honey is a great snack to have in your room!

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to any one and hope to get back there some time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahe-Guru-Mrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Beautiful new hotel in Lalibela situated on the top of the hill with amazing view of the valley. We stayed there for two nights and everything was perfect, staff was very very helpful. The shower worked, hot water all day. Breakfast could be better, but it was like in all other hotels we stayed.
We didn't try the food, but other guests said it was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maksa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
0.1 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 11 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 9 in Lalibela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
#4 of 18 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cliff Edge Hotel - Lalibela
0.9 mi away
Lalibela Hotel
Lalibela Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lalibela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbe Hotel
Harbe Hotel
#5 of 18 in Lalibela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Twelve Hotel - Lalibela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Twelve Hotel - Lalibela

Property: Top Twelve Hotel - Lalibela
Address: Adebabay Street, Lalibela +251, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Lalibela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOP12 is a new hotel in Lalibela, with, as the name says it, 12 rooms, bathrooms en-suite and balconies, from where you have a breathtaking view all over the valley and the mountains, especially impressive for sunset. Rooms and bathrooms meet absolutely Western standards but still have the traditional Ethiopian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Top Twelve Hotel - Lalibela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing