We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Panoramic View Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$61
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbe Hotel(Lalibela)
$49
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Lalibela Guesthouse(Lalibela)(Great Value!)
$27
$17
Booking.com
View Deal
Jerusalem Hotel(Lalibela)(Great Value!)
$29
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel(Lalibela)(Great Value!)
$37
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Nile Guest House(Lalibela)(Great Value!)
$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Honey Land Hotel Lalibela(Lalibela)(Great Value!)
$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Selam Guest House(Lalibela)(Great Value!)
$37
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveler rating
114
147
49
14
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
147
49
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother hotelsfire pitdon't expect luxurynice hotelroof terracetour guidetop floorrestaurant staffhot watergift shophotel is situatedbeds were comfortablehoney winetraditional foodben abeba restaurantgreat guidelalibela churches
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 329 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

By the time we got to this hotel we'd had enough of temperamental plumbing, tiny bathrooms and murky lighting which made it impossible to read in bed. The Panoramic is none of those things and we basked in the luxury of proper shower cubicles, spotless modern bathrooms and guaranteed hot water. The rooms are spacious, modern and very clean and some have their own balconies which look over an amazing view. The restaurant has an indoor section and an outdoor terrace where you want watch the sun go down whilst sipping a cool drink. Service is enthusiastic rather than efficient but it makes up for that with the charm and willingness of the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

During our initial email contact with Panoramic View Hotel, the hotel outlined pricing for the rooms. 160USD for a triple room and 150USD for a twin room. My wife and I booked a triple room (1 King and 1 Twin bed), over 4 months in advance of our trip, at the 160USD rate. In addition, the hotel stated via email that a shuttle to and from the airport would be provided. The hotel contacted us 2 months prior to our arrival to confirm our triple room.

Upon arrival, we were checked in and led directly to a twin room with no notice that our reservation had changed. We questioned the hotel and they said no triple rooms were available. When asked about the price for the room, they stated it was the same as the twin room, which was incorrect based on the pricing they originally provided us. We argued the matter and decided to let it go as it wasn’t worth it over 20USD. However, it was evident that they gave the triple rooms to a large tour group as we also heard another party complain about their triple room not being available.

When we attempted to schedule our shuttle to the airport, the front desk clerk (who incidentally showed little sense of concern about our inquiry) told us that the cost would be 70 Birr per person if shared with others at a far earlier time than we needed to be at the airport, or 400 Birr per person if we go alone at a time of our choosing. We again, argued over the matter as our original email stated that a shuttle would be provided to and from the airport. They eventually agreed to covering the shuttle, but only after demanding proof.

Also note that the hotel’s website states the ability to pay by credit card. As other reviewers have stated, this was not the case.

Lastly, the amenities were pretty basic, especially considering the outrageous price of 160USD. Our twin beds were comfortable. However, our bathroom had a drain in the middle of the floor that was concealed by a small carpet. By the second day of our stay, the drain started overflowing and the carpet became sewage logged, which led to a foul odor in the bathroom. Our balcony faced the back, toward a few huts with children constantly yelling up and power lines partially obstructing our view, a far cry from a panoramic view.

While Lalibela hotels are known for price gouging during Christmas time, I would highly suggest choosing another hotel if you are booking yourself (I’m sure tour groups get the most benefit from arrangements with Panoramic View Hotel.) However, if you’re booking yourself, be prepared to deal with dishonest bait and switch tactics.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hipmofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

A new hotel that build on the top of a memorizing mountain view.
The view is breath taking.
The rooms were clean and customized with Ethiopian culture which just added a more authentic sense to the visit.
Although the hotel does not have TV or phone in the rooms who needs it when you have the majestic quietness and the fresh air around you.
Staff were fantastic and the breakfast was included.
Always remember to negotiate your price we gave them a price and ask them to work around it and they did and we end up with 3 bedrooms for 2 nights for the total of around $180 US!

Room Tip: A room that face the mountain view is a must!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamaraInAddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed here based on Tripadvisor reviews, and was not disappointed. The rooms are clean and simple. A drink at sunset on the balcony is a pretty memorable experience. The restaurant is average, but okay. Service is well-meaning though a bit hit and miss. I enjoyed my stay here and would return.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank wrightone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The view of this hotel is amazing. I stay here regularly with my groups and they love it. Free WiFi, beautiful terrace for drinks, lovely staff, efficient Manager who listens to what you need, lovely owner, for Ethiopia this is a wonderful hotel, always hot showers, everything works. Just a wonderful place to stay, personally I love it!

Room Tip: Be open minded - after all it is Ethiopia!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnonCalne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews