We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great by Ethiopian standards. Outstanding views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Panoramic View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lalibela
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great by Ethiopian standards. Outstanding views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was the best hotel we stayed in during our 2 weeks in the country. The view is utterly outstanding, the best hotel view I've ever come across anywhere in the world!
Still, don't expect luxury but the rooms are clean, water is reliable and hot.
You'll be awake early as the curtains are thin and white but use teh opportunity to sit on teh balcony and reflect on the awesomeness of the view.
The rooms on the top floor don't have balconies, all the others appear to. You will certainly want one as the view and sunset are outstanding!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor don't have balconies, all the others appear to. You will certainly wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DisplayID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    123
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
39
61
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
223 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The view certainly makes this place, best appreciated from the restaurant's patio if you don't get a second floor room. Rooms are clean and bed was comfortable, if somewhat small (double and single in room- why couldn't they rather just put in 1 queen?). Rooms have WiFi too, though signal is a bit weak. Curtains are white so we were awake by 0630am. Phone at nearby reception played a part in early wake-ups too. No tv, fridge, or safe but I think that's fairly standard in Lalibela not to have those. Good, warm shower. Breakfast was quite average one day (juice made from powder) and some staff in the restaurant spoke very little English. However, we spoke to the manager and the next day we had lovely fresh juices! Laundry service was good. Staff at front desk generally very helpful, but after not using our free airport pickup they weren't willing to exchange this for a free airport drop-off. Taxi service is the Lalibela standard 25 birr per person into town. We had asked for a room with a great view but we were given a first floor room. Seems the tour groups get the second floor rooms with the better views? (saw a GETTS busload of people check-in after us).

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bamboozla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Clean rooms, with a simple but good standard. Very friendly atmosphere and excellent food. The management are very eager to make your stay worth while with camp fire, honey wine and coffee seremony. The hotel is in an area with other hotels with similar views and by the looks this hotel has probably one of the better standards in town.

Quite rooms with comfortable beds. Love the local bed covers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loekis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Spent 2 nights here. From all the hotels I stayed int Ethiopia, this one had the best mattress - it did wonders to my back after staying at 4-star hotels in other cities where the mattresses caved in! Stunning view, friendly staff. Wifi would come and go, but when it worked it was fast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SisKurbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

From the outside it might not look as impressive as mountain view hotel but this place has the best rooms and for approx 20 bucks less each room. Gorgeous views, brand new bathrooms and I love the traditional furniture and fabrics used in the rooms.

The staff is outstanding and we happened to be there at the one year anniversary of the hotel and were invited to celebrate with hotel family and staff. Great energy!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katerinoula2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here while visiting the famous churces of Lalibela. Great service and a fantastic view from the balcony! Free wifi is also a big plus!

The dinner served is one of the best on this trip.

All in all a great hotel to spend the night in famous Lalibela.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Ingar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in Lalibela with very nice rooms, hot water, great staff and food, and an absolutely panoramic(!) view of the valley and mountains beyond. Other hotels are springing up along each side of this bluff but this is a highly recommended spot to stay. Immensely enjoyed especiallt the restaurant staff and nice interactions with owner/manager. Warning: donkey ride up to monastery on Mount Asheton is a rip-off. The donkeys wer on their last legs and we made it only 1/2 way and had to struggle back on terrible rocky "path". Stick with the rock-hewn church visits....absolutely awesome!

Room Tip: Rooms have nice decks for viewing the stunning sights and a fire outside on the patio every two nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountain View Hotel
Mountain View Hotel
#4 of 11 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roha Hotel
Roha Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lalibela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Lal Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Lalibela
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 10 in Lalibela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliff Edge Hotel - Lalibela
0.8 mi away
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
#5 of 19 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panoramic View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panoramic View Hotel

Property: Panoramic View Hotel
Address: North, Lalibela, Lalibela 18, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lalibela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits panoramic view hotel lalibela, where you can relax in one of our 35 spacious and comfortable state-of-the-art rooms. Unconditionally comfortable... A room at panoramic view hotel begins with a bringing sense of space - your bedrooms are often among the destinations largest. Our guests enjoy a host of privileges including complimentary breakfast, free wi-fi in every room, restaurant, bar and terrace, multi channel satellite television in restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Panoramic View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing