We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean with beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cliff Edge Hotel - Lalibela
Ranked #4 of 20 Lalibela B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“clean with beautiful view”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed two nights here and had absolutely zero complaints about the quality of the hotel in general. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and the showers/bathroom were tidy and efficient with hot water. We did experience one power outage, but hey, that can happen anywhere in Ethiopia! Breakfast was included in they stay and make sure you stay on one of the top floors to witness all the amazing views of the sunsets and mountains. Overall tip for location of the hotel- it's about a 20 minute walk from the churches and main attractions, which makes for a more peaceful nights rest, but be warned, it's almost impossible to find a taxi after dark. Unfortunately, this can make for a long walk home, especially if you are out for drinks in town!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBiz369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    32
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
19
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Wow, the quiet hurt my ears. What a wonderful change from most of the Ethiopian hotels where discos, noisy staff, and/or external PA systems can keep you awake all night. These were also the cleanist rooms some of us have ever seen and although basic the patio views were fantastic. I couldn't figure out if the hotel sold drinks or food but we wandered over to the Ben Abebe instead. Now there's a special place! In addition to a fun design the views are absolutely magnificent. The food is simple but good and try the fresh made Scottish Oat Biscuits with the Tuna Pate. The very nice Scottish lady who runs the place is wonderful and have a drink with her by the fire pit. The stars and stories are memorable--look for the Southern Cross.

One recommendation to the hotel owners, post 24 hour security and access control. While we were there four young men hung out in front and harrassed tourists on foot. They kept asking for 'room numbers' and I'm not sure what that was all about.

Room Tip: Anything on the second floor or higher as they don't have any hotel security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tunis1addis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in ground floor room near road. Not recommended - ask for a high floor for security and view. This hotel is not fenced in any way so anyone can access the rooms. There are some dodgy out of towner types hanging around at night as there is much new construction. Walk in groups at night. Rooms and bathrooms and showers very new and clean. Breakfast room clean and sunny but no restaurant or wifi. Walk 5 minutes to MoutainView Hotel for dinner and free wifi. No hot water second night and no generator which meant no electricity one night when general power failure struck Lalibela. Room is very hot as no ventilation. Doors to veranda cant be opened at night on low floors. They also gave one of our rooms away. Rectified last minute. Overall very clean and quite comfortable.

Room Tip: Get high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikeyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed at Cliff-edge for one night since it was the only place the stay in town during the holidays.

I was first impressed by the kind staff, who attended to all, even brought me candles and matches when I requested them.

It wasn't staying at Cliff Edge that was the problem....it was the leaving.

My partner feel ill with food poisoning on the day of check out, so we were at the Health Clinic, unfortunately arriving to check out at 1 pm. The staff member wrote out our bill for the night, and fiddled with the visa/MC machines for nearly an hour, then apparently texted the owner, Solomon, that we were checking out a good 2 hours late.

Even though the official check out time wasn't posted anywhere (this is a new hotel, apparently trying to sort itself out), the owner announced then suddenly that check out time was 9 am, while the staff told us noon, then another told us 11 am. Solomon, livid, announced that we would be charged for a whole extra night (meaning the equivalent of 300 dollars for mediocre lodging for checking out 1 hour late).

The owner Solomon arrived in his convoy and began fiercely arguing with us, insisting we'd better pay, or he wouldn't let us off the property. We had a basic, yet functioning 4x4, so we questioned how precisely he could keep us on his property. He then said ominously, "I have my ways, you'll see".

We finally appealed to his soft side, and he was sympathetic upon hearing about my partner's illness (and then seeing the health center receipt), and he agreed to let us go. An hour and a half after being in his prison, we were finally released to head to a new hotel in Lalibela for the remainder of our wonderful stay.

Upon arriving at the Lalibela airport 2 days later, we finally understood the full gravity of his threats. None other than Solomon was the check-in official for Ethiopian Airlines. He greeted us graciously, as though nothing had happened, and issued our boarding passes with no delay. Much to our relief, our luggage arrived in tact to our next destination.

So to recap: cliff Edge works well if you don't mind a permanent residence in Lalibela.

Room Tip: check out at 6 am to avoid confusion..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AroundtheWorld1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

The hotel is newly built and very clean. Modern bathrooms with hot and cold water. Each room has a balcony with a wonderful view and the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is a great little hotel. It is modern, clean, friendly and everything works. Also has fantastic views and is within walking distance of the town and several other hotels and restaurants. Great breakfasts too.

Room Tip: They are almost all the same but marginally better views from higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Cliff edge was our final hotel in our tour of Ethiopia. We stayed for 4 nights and had three rooms..Set in beautiful Lalibela the hotel had the most amazing views. When we were there in October the hotel was almost new. We could only sleep there as the dining facilities had not been built but we were able to eat close by. The bedrooms were spotless , also the ensuites. Solomon ,the owner, was keen to listen to our ideas to add extra things like chairs & drinking glasses. These arrived before we left! The area around the hotel is very quiet so you will sleep well. In the morning it is marvelous to hear the noises of the countryside as it stirs into the day On Sat.market day we could watch from the balcony the people coming up from the valley with their donkeys and produce. As you can tell we loved it there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
0.1 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lalibela
267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tukul Village
Tukul Village
#3 of 9 in Lalibela
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Hotel
Mountain View Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lalibela
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lal Hotel Lalibela
Lal Hotel Lalibela
#5 of 9 in Lalibela
171 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 11 in Lalibela
172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbe Hotel
Harbe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Lalibela
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Edge Hotel - Lalibela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Edge Hotel - Lalibela

Property: Cliff Edge Hotel - Lalibela
Address: Lalibela, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lalibela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Edge Hotel - Lalibela 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Cliff Edge Hotel - Lalibela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing