We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good deal, at least in the off season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alef Paradise Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Lalibela B&B and Inns
Kelowna, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very good deal, at least in the off season”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We booked in here for two nights and ended up extending for three more. As it was the off-season in Lalibela, we got a double room (room 204) for around $25 ($28.50 including an OK breakfast). The balcony offered a spectacular view over the Lalibelan countryside (see photo). The room was very clean, especially by Ethiopian standards, and attractive with local-textile bedspreads and excellent beds. We were in the new wing, which is where you want to be. Some other reviews have mentioned hot-water issues. There was a good water-heater in our room, but the challenge is getting the management to keep it turned on consistently enough to keep the water hot -- especially for bathing first thing in the morning. This speaks to a broader management deficit at the hotel -- things seem rather discombobulated, with no formal records kept of payments, so you're always explaining to the evening desk guy that you already paid the morning desk guy, etc. They were not particularly efficient, but neither were they particularly rude, as others have claimed. Wi-fi Internet access is kind of amusing -- they give you the password for the signal from a neighbouring hotel, which is erratic but manageable if you're sitting out on a valley-facing balcony! All in all, despite the eccentricities, I would put this in the top rank of hotels we stayed in during our five-week Ethiopian sojourn.

Room Tip: The second-floor rooms in the new wing are the ones to get -- well-appointed and with spectacular vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyager20099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    29
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
23
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently (end of April 2013)
The rooms are actually ok by Ethiopian standards.
However I never experienced such rudeness by management at a hotel before staying here.
They lied about services that they provided and continued to lie when trying to resolve the problems.
I would most definitely not stay here again nor would I recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank W1zard-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

the hotel itself is ok, although no hot showers (despite being promised, and for the price should have been). avoid the restaurant.
the manager was extremely rude and does his employers a dis-service and should be fired. when i had some questions to resolve regarding the lack of hot water, he lied to me, telling me i didn't know how to work it, (even going to the room and changing the switch from on, to off), and telling me "i don't care, that's your problem".
also the door handle was pretty much falling off, so not secure

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sumosui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a nice hotel, friendly staff and our room has a balcony overlooking the hills and the extraordinary market. It's not great to eat there mainly because it is lacking any atmosphere and we so enjoyed the incredible Ben Abeba. Other eateries in Lalibella are more fun to visit. Although I rate this very good due to the room, staff and view There were some not so good aspects. Firstly, no hot water, which I know is not really to be grumbled about although the room next to us did have hot water. Secondly, the reassuring VISA sign is of no use if there is no connection. It was handy that we still had some cash with us to pay the bill. Lastly, we understood that the taxi from the airport was free. After all, the hotels are keen to get your business immediately you arrive at the airport and whisk you off in their minibuses to be assured of your custom. There was no charge on the way to the hotel. We were charged two return fares when we arrived at the airport to leave Lalibella and, along with other guests, felt slightly cheated. I would still go back to this hotel but just make sure you have some extra cash - you might need it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethiopia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stay 2 times in this hotel in the last year and really it is very good.
Not a big hotel, local.
Clean , modern and not at all expensive in comparence with the others.
For food Seven Olives stays number One.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eenEthiopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed in this hotel together with my brother for one night.
The rooms are clean and big with a nice view over the hills. If you are lucky you can see a slice of one of the churches. The staff are friendly and helpfull. Walking distance to all churches.
Í recomend this place to all kind of travellers. The reception orgoniced a good guide (his name is Hope, translated to english) so we could do the tour in 2 days instead of all churces in one day, which can be a bit challenging.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarang A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We arrived without a reservation and requested a room in the new part of the hotel - all went swimmingly. The room was sparkling clean - quite an exceptional experience in our trip to Ethiopia - the floors even gleamed. It's still a modest place, but it's comfortable and reasonably priced for Lalibela in particular. We had a bathtub in our room and the plumbing was quite good all around. The bonus was the spectacular view from our balcony - we could see Bet Gyorgis as well as a sweeping vista of mountainous countryside. The staff were very nice and helpful. My only suggestions for improvement would be a better system for keeping the keys organized at the front desk, and a little more effort with the food for dinner. Breakfast was OK, but I'd suggest going elsewhere for an evening meal. Nevertheless, we were really happy we chose Alef Paradise and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We had room 202, from which we could see the top of Bet Gyorigis and a beautiful expanse of mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingmarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
0.0 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lalibela
265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lal Hotel Lalibela
Lal Hotel Lalibela
#5 of 9 in Lalibela
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lalibela Guesthouse
Villa Lalibela Guesthouse
#7 of 18 in Lalibela
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 10 in Lalibela
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
#5 of 18 in Lalibela
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbe Hotel
Harbe Hotel
#3 of 18 in Lalibela
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alef Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alef Paradise Hotel

Property: Alef Paradise Hotel
Address: Main Road, Lalibela, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Lalibela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing