We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and a great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alef Paradise Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Lalibela B&B and Inns
USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and a great view”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We arrived without a reservation and requested a room in the new part of the hotel - all went swimmingly. The room was sparkling clean - quite an exceptional experience in our trip to Ethiopia - the floors even gleamed. It's still a modest place, but it's comfortable and reasonably priced for Lalibela in particular. We had a bathtub in our room and the plumbing was quite good all around. The bonus was the spectacular view from our balcony - we could see Bet Gyorgis as well as a sweeping vista of mountainous countryside. The staff were very nice and helpful. My only suggestions for improvement would be a better system for keeping the keys organized at the front desk, and a little more effort with the food for dinner. Breakfast was OK, but I'd suggest going elsewhere for an evening meal. Nevertheless, we were really happy we chose Alef Paradise and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We had room 202, from which we could see the top of Bet Gyorigis and a beautiful expanse of mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingmarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    29
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
23
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We paid a premium as it was Ethiopian Christmas and very busy. We were tucked away in one of the old rooms with no view and were awoken to 4WDs revving in the carpark at 5am each morning - take ear plugs. The service was ok, they didn't go out of their way to help us. They told us they would help us with a couple of things, but as soon as we paid they completely lost interest in us and ignored us to help another guest checking in. I guess once they had out money it didn't matter anymore? They told us they were fully booked on the 7th so we went somewhere else but we later found out from friends staying there that there were spare rooms, after all. The food is ok, nothing special and better to stick to the national dishes. There were some nice waitresses who especially went out and bought lemons after we requested boiling water with lemon - and then they didn't charge us for it, which was a nice touch. We had hot water most of the time.
It's a bit of a walk to get to the main part of town and there is no transport in Lalibela.

Room Tip: Get one of the new rooms (the old ones are a bit grim) and if possible get one that has a view. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aababa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed at the Alef Paradise at the end of October The room was big bright and clean and the beds comfy. The owner was extremely friendly and really helpful - he was particularly proactive in helping us to sort out some issues that we were having with a local tour company. We also had a great guide who we organised through them on arrival, he was a deacon of one the churches in Lalibela, really genuine, knowledgable and honest guy.

It's not particularly fancy but clean and comfortable which is all you need.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the upper floors - great balconies for a beer at sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I thought it was a good value for the price. Rooms were clean and large. The plumbing was a bit funky, but hey, its Ethiopia. Staff was friendly and helpful. I stayed twice.

Room Tip: Top floor had great views from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EddieInIthaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Stayed here twice before and after a trekking trip. Stayed in the new part of the hotel, a lot of investment has gone in to this hotel and it is quite new.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and could get hot water. My room had a balcony and a view of the St George church.

The food was ok, very simple. Breakfast fine, but evening meals adequate. On the Sunday night they weren't doing any food, so went to the Tukul Village for some food instead. Very good location and easy to walk round the village.

Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Vik_Fletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Nothing special but clean and adaquate. Water flow in the bathroom was an issue. Located next to the path to St George rock church. I believe it is a good value vis-a-vis other places in town

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porlock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Our $24 room had a double and a single bed, our own bathroom and a balcony with a great view across the valley. You could even see the area where the churches are, over to the right. The bathroon was clean and everything worked. The water pressure was not great but the water was always hot – we had our own hot water tank.

The hotel is situated away from the main town but closer than many hotels. It was an easy walk to the churches and a little further to the main town. There are restaurants nearby (Holy Land recommended) and tour companies (TESFLA is recommended for trekking).

The hotel has a nice ambience and friendly staff. Breakfast on the terrace is good and cheap.

No internet and no TV in rooms, but there is a TV in the lounge, usually showing BBC World. There is internet in the main town – shop around for decent connection speeds.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
0.0 mi away
Lal Hotel Lalibela
Lal Hotel Lalibela
#5 of 9 in Lalibela
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lalibela
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lalibela Guesthouse
Villa Lalibela Guesthouse
#7 of 20 in Lalibela
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
#5 of 20 in Lalibela
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 10 in Lalibela
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbe Hotel
Harbe Hotel
#3 of 20 in Lalibela
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alef Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alef Paradise Hotel

Property: Alef Paradise Hotel
Address: Main Road, Lalibela, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lalibela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Alef Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing