We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice and friendly too”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alef Paradise Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Lalibela B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I thought it was a good value for the price. Rooms were clean and large. The plumbing was a bit funky, but hey, its Ethiopia. Staff was friendly and helpful. I stayed twice.

Room Tip: Top floor had great views from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EddieInIthaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 66 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

Stayed here twice before and after a trekking trip. Stayed in the new part of the hotel, a lot of investment has gone in to this hotel and it is quite new.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and could get hot water. My room had a balcony and a view of the St George church.

The food was ok, very simple. Breakfast fine, but evening meals adequate. On the Sunday night they weren't doing any food, so went to the Tukul Village for some food instead. Very good location and easy to walk round the village.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
1  Thank Vik_Fletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Nothing special but clean and adaquate. Water flow in the bathroom was an issue. Located next to the path to St George rock church. I believe it is a good value vis-a-vis other places in town

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Our $24 room had a double and a single bed, our own bathroom and a balcony with a great view across the valley. You could even see the area where the churches are, over to the right. The bathroon was clean and everything worked. The water pressure was not great but the water was always hot – we had our own hot water tank.

The hotel is situated away from the main town but closer than many hotels. It was an easy walk to the churches and a little further to the main town. There are restaurants nearby (Holy Land recommended) and tour companies (TESFLA is recommended for trekking).

The hotel has a nice ambience and friendly staff. Breakfast on the terrace is good and cheap.

No internet and no TV in rooms, but there is a TV in the lounge, usually showing BBC World. There is internet in the main town – shop around for decent connection speeds.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Great budget option. New clean comfortable rooms with balcony. large windows to see sunset over hills. Hot showers. Short walk to centre. Internet next door. Simple good meals.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Overall a decent place but certainly nothing to write home about. Rooms were clear and the bathrooms were nice and had hot water. No tv though, and very bad lighting in the rooms. Great for a one night stay but I probably would not want to stay here much longer.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank africaforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Although the price (200 birr without breakfast) was pretty steep for a clean but very bare
room (no storage space, no clothes hangers etc.), the staff made up for this by their
friendliness and extreme helpfulness: I was even accompanied to the bus station at
four o'clock in the morning! The spacious bathroom had a bathtub, but unfortunately this
was of little use, because the tap was not on top of the tub and the trickle from the shower
was insufficient to fill the bath with hot water. Everything in Lalibela seems grossly
overpriced, from the entry fee to the churches (350 birr) to the transfer from the airport
(40 birr quoted, but 50 on reaching your destination), so this place was no exception.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karvam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
0 mi away
Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
#5 of 10 in Lalibela
185 reviews
0 mi away
Lalibela Hotel
Lalibela Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lalibela
68 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Lalibela Guesthouse
Villa Lalibela Guesthouse
#5 of 21 in Lalibela
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Top Twelve Hotel - Lalibela
0 mi away
Selam Guest House
Selam Guest House
#12 of 21 in Lalibela
14 reviews
0 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 15 in Lalibela
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alef Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alef Paradise Hotel

Address: Main Road, Lalibela, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lalibela
Price Range: $14 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Alef Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing