We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Lalibela
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I happened to spend New Year´s Eve at this hotel. I found the room to be pretty basic but good enough to spend one night. I only had a soup and some cooked vegetables for dinner (I know, not a very fancy New Year´s dinner but I wasn´t hungry at all! :), the food was nice but the staff was really slow and forgetful at serving (many of them but too busy chatting to each other at the bar). Breakfast was a buffet and although I only had some porridge and coffee I had to pay for the full buffet fee which worked out very expensive in this case.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAL_HOTEL, General Manager at Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

We are honored that you chose our country and our accomodation to spend the joyous New year's eve. We are very remorseful for the tardy service you encountered but we have upgraded our management system to standard by employing both national and non-nationals to assist us in exploring the likings of our guests. As for the breakfast buffet, we are very appreciative of our staff for bringing our guests such an enriched buffet every morning however, anyone who doesn't want to part-take in the buffet can have an independent menu whereby one can have a meal of their choice.
Thank you
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 185 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

The big attraction in Lalibela is the churches hewn from the rock. All 11 are within easy walking distance of this hotel. Moreover, the hotel is clean and well appointed, and from conversations with the staff is Ethiopian-owned and seems to employ people from the surrounding villages, where job prospects are few and far between. Rooms are clean and have everything you need (no TV), bar and restaurant just fine. My guide Fisseha, who works for the hotel, was very knowledgeable and helpful too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kindziara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We only ate at the Lal Hotel, but vote it the best dinner choice in town. It hosts usually two or three large tour groups that stay at the hotel, who dine there. The two nights we ate there, the groups were French and German, and Spanish. We are not big on buffet dinners, but after a week in Ethiopia on the historic circuit, we had also seen much of the same, pretty ordinary food. Lal Hotel served, each night, at least one dish that was absolutely outstanding. The other dishes on offer were good, but one (different each night) made the dinner a special occasion for us.

For lodging, we stayed in Tukul Village, across the road. I think Tukul may still be better, but Lal Hotel seemed quite good if not so atmospheric (i.e., Tukul's location looking toward Lalibela's sites).

Room Tip: Drawings of coming improvements warrant keeping an eye on this property.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Reamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Friendly and efficient check in process after reliable shuttle pick up at the airport.
Had a newer Tukul room overlooking a busy street with lots of local life; clean, calm and spacious with fitments working reasonably well. Walls paper thin with no sound deadening qualities at all.
Fell ill on day two after eating in the restaurant. Could have been water used to keep butter cool but we'll never know. May be linked to the state of the public toilets next to the bar, which were unpleasant and plainly lacked TLC or a serious attempt at cleaning.
Staff pleasant, and shuttle back to the airport reliable again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looksee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this place, first of all the staff was nice, helpful and hospitable. They have a restaurant on site, which breakfast is served starting at 6 A.M. My tour guide, Fisseha met me at the hotel and was on time for our scheduled appointments thereafter. He was professional and very knowledgeable of Lalibela's history. Our communication was great because he spoke excellent english. If you are visiting Lalibela I suggest you use him. Contact number: 25112027017, using local number 0912027017.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eshiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

As other reviewers have noted, the place is reasonably clean and calm, and the staff were friendly enough. Anyway, perhaps this is all one can ask for when staying in such a location - although I've certainly been to similar locations and experienced better (as well as worse). One thing I will note that was a pleasant surprise was the wifi in the restaurant.

Things to consider:
1. The prices were constantly changing - this was perhaps the biggest annoyance. Advertised rates had included breakfast and we had been told airport transfer was also included. Additionally, we had negotiated for a guide for the equivalent of $20 through the hotel. When we arrived, the guide was expecting more than twice that fee and neither the breakfast nor airport transfer were included. We were able to renegotiate the guide to $30 but the hotel did nothing on the other issues. Having to renegotiate for prices established on a short break from work was not how I wanted to spend my little amount of free time, particularly when had taken such care to make arrangements in advance. Nor was spending more than expected a positive.
2. It does get quite chilly in the evenings – and there was no hot water in either the sink or shower. I was with two other colleagues – we all tried in the late afternoon, night, and morning.
3. I did not eat at the restaurant simply because when I tried to order, they didn’t have items listed on their menu which I requested.
4. A less important point to note for light sleepers – the beds squeak with every muscle you use – and the walls are paper thin.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_Do_Good-er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family and I stayed for 2 nights at the Lal Hotel. The room was spacious and clean. The restaurant was excellent every meal we ordered we loved. The staff was always very courteous and friendly. I must also mention the restaurant staff was always so enthusiastic about how our meal was the maid in morning always saying "good morning" just all the staff going the extra mile to make you feel welcome! The grounds of the whole compound we found to be quite nice with great picturesque views all the way around. The new renovations seem very bright and propitious. The rock hewn churches were close by just a quick walk up the road from the hotel. Our family would definitely stay here again loved every minute of our time at the Lal Hotel in Lalibela!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiffany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lalibela
1 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#2 of 10 in Lalibela
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tukul Village
Tukul Village
#3 of 10 in Lalibela
421 reviews
0 mi away
Sabean International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 15 in Lalibela
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Top Twelve Hotel - Lalibela
0.1 mi away
Lalibela Hotel
Lalibela Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lalibela
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela

Address: Geterge Street | Kebelle 02, Lalibela 62964, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Lalibela
Price Range: $45 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lal Hotel Lalibela is a supreme establishment where culture is embodied within its grand walls providing quality hotel services to nationals and non-nationals all over the world since 1995. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jovago.com so you can book your Lal Hotel & Spa Lalibela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing