We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Lal Hotel Lalibela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lal Hotel Lalibela
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Lalibela
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed in Lal for two nights. The room was clean and comfortable. Yes they have hot showers, solar powered no less. It was serene and had a spectacular view from the Tukul I stayed in. The staff was very friendly and hospitable. The food was good. They had free shuttle from the airport. I was met by an excellent tour guide Muugeta Wondie, who was knowledgeable, patient, helpful, and professional. Ato Moges the manager of Lal was great.He gave me a tour of the compound and their new additions. Very promising. I am certainly coming back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the Tukuls second floor for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    51
    51
    24
    10
See reviews for
21
54
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Lal Hotel in Lalibela. The room was really nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The whole place was quiet and the staff was so helpful and friendly. We did the church-tour with Haile, the guide from the Lal Hotel. We enjoyed it a lot! The restaurant prepares also good food for good value. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lal Hotel for 2 nights in June. The rooms were clean and comfortable with hot water. We enjoyed all of our meals in the hotel restaurant and recommmend the zal tibs! We met our guide, Mulugeta Wondie, at the hotel and spent two days with him exploring the churches and hiking up the mountain. He was fun, professional, and very knowledgeable; we really enjoyed his company. All of the staff at Lal Hotel were friendly and helpful. We were unable to pay by Visa/Mastercard, however there is an ATM and bank in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

It is a good hotel to be in Lalibela. Nice, clean and comfortable. Besides, you can hire there a very good guide for your visits to the churchs. The restaurant is very good, and you can have lunch also and very good juices at the terrace.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

When traveling in Ethiopia, hotels can be problematical. The Lal Hotel, Lalibela, was a pleasant experience... large, nicely furnished rooms and good food and service. We (3 women) were there May 8 and 9, 2013. On May 9, the management celebrated the Birthday of St. Mary with a feast for the staff. We were very fortunate to be invited to share the great food and drink! The staff, especially Hailu and Adane welcomed us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkiBikeHike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My friend and I have just returned home after having stayed at Lal Hotel for 5 nights. The main purpose of our stay was to visit the boy I have sponsored for 13 years through Plan International. The hotel was very good and the room very comfortable. The staff were excellent, especially our waiter Hailu and our maid Yeshi. The grounds are lovely and it was very pleasant sitting outside to enjoy a meal and/or a drink.

We plan to return to Ethiopia in 3 years time and will definitely stay at Lal Hotel, We look forward to enjoying the swimming pool, sauna etc that is currently being built. The hotel is in an excellent location, for the few shops, the Saturday market and the famous 12th century churches.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 156Sheenahird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have been to Lalibela, Ethiopia three times, and I always stay at the Lal Hotel. This place feels like home to me, especially because the staff are so friendly and kind. Adane works in reception, and he is very helpful. He is always concerned about the customers, making sure they are comfortable and happy. I regularly eat at the hotel's restaurant, and it's so nice to sit outside in the courtyard. During my stay in Lalibela, I have visited all the rock-hewn churches. Haile Mariam, one of the guides at the Lal Hotel has taken me to all of the amazing and historical sites. He is very knowledgeable and really fun to be around. Haile and Adane took me trekking in the beautiful Lasta mountains. It was such a memorable experience. Lal Hotel is building a new pool and gym area, and I look forward to visiting again in August.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisAustria_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
1.0 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lalibela
265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mountain View Hotel
Mountain View Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lalibela
344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roha Hotel
Roha Hotel
#6 of 9 in Lalibela
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 10 in Lalibela
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
#5 of 18 in Lalibela
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lalibela Hotel
Lalibela Hotel
#4 of 10 in Lalibela
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lal Hotel Lalibela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lal Hotel Lalibela

Property: Lal Hotel Lalibela
Address: Post 58, Lalibela 62964, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Lalibela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lal Hotel Lalibela 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lal Hotel Lalibela is a supreme establishment where culture is embodied within its grand walls providing quality hotel services to nationals and non-nationals all over the world since 1995. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Lal Hotel Lalibela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing