We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, far from the madding crowds”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lalibela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lalibela
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel, far from the madding crowds”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is a nice light, airy modern hotel (an interesting contrast to much of the nuclear bunker like hotel architecture of Ethiopia), built on a truly wonderful viewpoint on the outskirts of town. Rooms are large, light and immaculately clean with very nice balconies facing the valley, bathrooms are clean and well maintained. Food is perfectly acceptable with an ambitious menu if subject to charming rather than efficient service (doesn't matter). Staff are generally competent if not notably warm though this may be a language issue sometimes . It's a fifteen minute hilly walk from the sights, which is fine if you enjoy a walk, though altitude may leave you puffing a little. It's perfectly pleasant and it's nice to find a modern hotel, but its location really is the point.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windowseatview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    155
    71
    19
    7
See reviews for
47
121
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2012

A little further from the churches - but truly one of the most amazing views I have ever seen from a hotel. Well worth the extra few minutes walk!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minervois
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Lalibela has a real problem of shortage of decent hotels; the Mountain View is the best I've stayed in there, and very good value. Lalibela is one of the most unusual places in the world; the rock churches are astonishing, the people are warm and friendly, many living in dreadful poverty but coping.
The hotel is clean, and probably has the best plumbing of any hotel in Ethiopia outside the Hilton/Sheraton price range. The rooms are generously sized, and spotlessly clean; the cleaning staff work hard, and are always ready to help with luggage and any other problems. The views, from the rooms and especially from the rooftop terrace, are stunning.
The restaurant is excellent value - you can eat the meat, which you can't at many Lalibela food outlets, and both European and Ethiopian food is available; and when we took a local family into the restaurant for dinner, they were treated with respect, including for their religious food requirements.
There is TV in public rooms, including the BBC if you can get hold of the control; and free wifi - service in Ethiopia is always variable, but not the hotel's fault; the beer is fine, but the wine is overpriced and not that good. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monsieurkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I'd booked 2 nights but they made a mistake and I could only stay the first night, which they had informed me of 1 month ago. I asked them to do their best to book me the second night if there was a cancellation. Upon arrival, receptionist informed me that I had only booked one night and that was all I was getting. Quite hostile and not at all interested in helping me find accommodation for the second night. Room quite basic, bathroom as well - there was hot water; small terrace with an astounding view, which is all one comes for. Great sunsets from the bar terrace, although service was slow. Breakfast with more stunning views. However, it is not cheap and for the price, I would say expensive for what you get. There is another hotel quite close by, the Cliff Edge, with the same (better as it's higher?) views, and half the price. I could not get a room there unfortunately but I would definitely stay there the next time. Go to Ben Abeba for more stunning sunsets, on the right of Mountain View, recently opened and still in the "birthing" process (which is why you can see the "bizarre" construction from miles around!) but well worth it for the charming hospitality of Susan the Scottish owner - jointly with an Ethiopian man - and the really unbelievable 360 degree views. They are also talking of building tukul huts for accommodation. I was told that the food was very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaghdadSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This is the best option in town. Clean rooms with amazing views. The bathrooms could be better for the price and the restaurant servers average food. Still if I went to Lalibela I would stay here again. The rooms are nice and modern and the views unique. Be prepared for a 15 minute walk into town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Wonderful hotel with great rooms and lovely terrace. Friendly and attentive staff.
Make sure you go!
Restaurant was OK - there are not many options unless you walk back to town in the dark.
Large TV in foyer if you want to catch up on any news.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davofrombr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We spent 2 nights here. Staff very helpful and friendly. The glass doors leading out to the patio from our room provided the most stunning view. Sunsets were gorgeous. Food fine. We walked at night into the town for dinner at the 7 olives. Pitch black but we had a torch. Locals helped us find the way. Our ultimate experience was the trek up to Miriam church. Words fail. We took mules part way and hiked the rest. Unforgettable experience. There is a new restaurant built just beyond the hotel. You can't miss it at night as it is lit up like a flower! Really nice meal there. Just opened 2 weeks b4 we arrived.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lalibela
0.2 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lalibela
269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tukul Village
Tukul Village
#2 of 9 in Lalibela
411 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lal Hotel Lalibela
Lal Hotel Lalibela
#5 of 9 in Lalibela
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Residence Suite Hotel
The Residence Suite Hotel
#15 of 118 in Addis Ababa
79 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 11 in Lalibela
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliff Edge Hotel - Lalibela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Hotel

Property: Mountain View Hotel
Address: North Wollo, Lalibela, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lalibela
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain View Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing